LibGuides: JSTOR and ARTSTOR: Using Databases

Accessing Databases

Recommended Databases

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive full-text history reference database. This database features thousands of primary source documents, informational texts, images, and historical video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Experience an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people. Includes full-text journals, as well as thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.
World Religions Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window World Religions Online explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today.

Database Search Tips

	Go to the Polk State homepage, https://www.polk.edu/, and select Library/TLCC at the top of the screen.
	Next, select Articles/Databases on the left side of the screen.
	Databases are listed alphabetically. You can view databases by subject area. You can also click the "i" bubbles to view information about what is contained in each database. Need help choosing a database? Ask a librarian to assist you!
	*In this library guide, we'll do a sample search in two different databases, Art & Architecture Source* and ARTstor. You are not limited to these databases. Try practicing these search techniques in other databases too!**

Let's try searching for articles about the Italian Renaissance in Art & Architecture Source.

Be sure to select "Full Text" under "Limit Your Results" on the left side of the screen.

Refine your results on the left side of the screen if you would like to. You can limit by Publication Date and Source Type, for example.

Let's look at an article entry. I clicked on the first article, Reasons to Be Cheerful: The Future of Italian Renaissance History.

The record contains bibliographic information as well as an abstract. On the left side of the screen, you'll see format options for the article. PDF Full Text will open in a new window. HTML Full Text appears on the same screen, below the bibliographic entry.

Tools are on the right side of the screen. You can save a copy of this article to your Google Drive or OneDrive. You can also email it to yourself. You can also view citation information.

Important: Database generated citations are not 100% correct 100% of the time. They are compiled by an algorithm. You must proofread them before submitting them in your paper.

Database Tip: To access articles later, be sure to either email them to yourself or find the permalink button. The URL at the top of the screen will time out once your session is over.

	JSTOR allows you to search both JSTOR and ARTstor by searching All Content. You can register for a separate, free, account if you'd like to organized your research. This is not required when searching JSTOR, but it is required if you search non-public collections through ARTstor directly.
	Let's try searching for the Italian Renaissance. My results contain both images (at the top) and journal articles.
	Note that you can refine your search on the left side of the page. Be sure to select "content I can access" so that you can view your results. Narrow by content type or publication date if you would like to.
	*Let's look at an article. I selected the second article, The Italian Renaissance in America. On the left side of the screen, you will find citation information.* To the top right of the screen, you will find tools to assist you. Download the article, click Share to email it to yourself, and click Cite to see citations in MLA, Chicago, and APA formats. *Important: Database generated citations are not 100% correct 100% of the time. They are compiled by an algorithm. You must* proofread them before submitting them in your paper.**

Database Tip: To access articles later, be sure to either email them to yourself or find the permalink button. The URL at the top of the screen will time out once your session is over.