Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for juvenile offender research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Age of Culpability by
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
In order to reflect on the grounds for leniency towards children who commit crimes, one needs to consider the theory of the nature of criminal responsibility and desert of punishment for crime. The book argues that child criminals are owed lesser punishments than adults because they are denied the vote. Yaffe theorizes this is due to the nature of criminal culpability and it implications for criminal justice policy. Children are owed leniency, then, because of the political meaning of age rather than because of its psychological meaning.
Children and Crime by
Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Children and Crime offers a multidisciplinary and research-based approach to the study of child maltreatment and juvenile delinquency. Connie M. Tang examines children as victims of maltreatment, exploring how developmental trauma and societal factors influence children's behavior and psyche. Tang also addresses how children come into conflict with the law and discuss gang membership and substance abuse. Case studies included illustrate the intersectionality of race, gender, and crime, as well as the role of Child Protective Services and juvenile courts.
Children in Prison by
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Almost 330,000 children in America are in prison, in a detention center, on probation or parole, or otherwise under the control of the criminal justice system. This book chronicles the experiences of six young people in Ash Meadow in Washington State. Written from the perspective of a prison rehabilitation counselor, this book provides a firsthand account of these children's lives during and after their stay. These accounts show how domestic violence, inequality and poor adult-modeling influence the decisions that children make later in life.
Working with Children and Young People Who Have Displayed Harmful Sexual Behaviour by
Publication Date: 2018-07-01
Approximately one third of child sexual abuse is carried out by children and young people themselves. Allardyce and Yates focus on the importance of recognizing that young people who have displayed harmful sexual behavior are children first and foremost. They outline an individualized, trauma informed and systemic approach to working with these children and their families. In particular they suggest an approach that moves away from an exclusive focus on the psychology of the individual child towards a wider contextual understanding of the child and the meanings of their behavior within their family and environment.
Communities That Care by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation HV9104 .F334 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-17
Scholars and policymakers increasingly call for evidence-based, prevention-oriented, and community-driven approaches to improve public health and reduce youth crime, substance use, and related problems. Communities That Care (CTC) is a coalition-based prevention system implemented successfully in dozens of communities across the world that promotes healthy development and reduces youth crime rates. Four leading experts on prevention share invaluable lessons about the implementation and evaluation of community-level interventions and establishes a set of best practices for anyone seeking to engage in and/or evaluate effective prevention efforts.
Dilemma of Duties by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation KF9646 .C665 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-30
The role of a juvenile defender is riddled with conflict, and clients are uniquely challenging because of their lack of life experience and their underdeveloped decision-making abilities. In Dilemma of Duties, Anne M. Corbin outlines patterns of role conflict that defenders experience, details its impact on counselors and clients in the juvenile justice system, and addresses the powerful influence of the juvenile court culture and the lack of resources for defenders. Understanding how juvenile defenders define their role and experience role conflict provides valuable insights into our juvenile justice system, especially its role in upholding due process rights.
Incarceration of Minors by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HV9104 .I49 2020
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Approximately ten thousand children are imprisoned in adult correctional facilities in the United States on any given day. Children as young as thirteen have received life sentences in prisons, vulnerable to abuse and neglect. These are often the same conditions that led them there in the first place. What is the most effective method of dealing with youth offenders? Should they be tried as adults and incarcerated with adult prisoners? Is money better spent on education and rehabilitation? This resource tackles these difficult questions through diverse perspectives written by authorities on the subject.
The War on Kids by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation HV9069 .D66 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
In the United States, adolescents are routinely transferred out of juvenile court and into adult criminal court without any judicial oversight. In The War on Kids, Cara Drinan chronicles the shortcomings of juvenile justice by drawing upon social science, legal decisions, and first-hand correspondence with individuals whose adolescent errors have cost them their lives. Drinan also maps out concrete steps that states can take to correct the course of American juvenile justice.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.