Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for LGBTQIA related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide by
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
This set has an ambitious scope with the goal of offering the most up-to-date international overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. HIV/AIDS has been a major media focus, but this set fosters a broader understanding of the status of LGBT individuals in their society.
LGBT Youth Issues Today by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The increasing numbers of LGBT teenagers who choose to live their lives as out face unique issues within their schools, families, and communities. This book provides information that will help LGBT youth overcome their challenges and give non-LGBT youth a better understanding of sexual identities different from their own. * Addresses the major issues faced by LGBT youth, such as gaining acceptance of their sexual identity in the school environment or finding a means to survive after rejection by their family members * Examines historic societal attitudes toward same-sex relationships involving young people, allowing readers to grasp how the general population's thinking has evolved * Presents examples of ways in which LGBT youth have developed the skills that enable them to deal with their unique issues and concerns
Anything but Straight: Unmasking the Scandals and Lies Behind the Ex-Gay Myth by
Publication Date: 2012
The real story behind "ex-gay" ministries and reparative therapy. Nationally known activist Wayne Besen spent four years examining the phenomenon of "ex-gay" ministries and reparative therapies--interviewing leaders, attending conferences, and visiting ministries undercover as he accumulated hundreds of hours of research. The result is Anything but Straight: Unmasking the Scandals and Lies Behind the Ex-Gay Myth, a groundbreaking exposé of the controversial movement that's revered by independent religious groups and reviled by gay and lesbian organizations. An in-depth, well-researched, and historically significant account, Anything but Straight is full of startling facts and alarming surprises.
Being Transgender by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HQ77.9 .B48 2017)
Publication Date: 2016-11-14
Written for general audiences, this unprecedented book comprehensively answers many questions about being transgender with current experiential and scientific information, including the evidence for a biological transgender predisposition. * Offers information derived from the author's review of more than 3,000 source articles and books across 22 scientific disciplines across more than 11 years-a repository of information that is likely the most comprehensive on transgender science * Represents the first book written for general audiences from the perspective of a scientist, not a clinician or advocate * Identifies the forms of rejection of transgender people sanctioned by culture and provides suggestions for dealing with them * Discusses the future of transgender people as well as that of the binary gender system in Western culture
LGBT Families by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HQ75.28.U6 M49 2015)
Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Part of the SAGE Contemporary Family Perspective series, this book presents a comprehensive yet accessible understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender families today by drawing upon and making sense of the burgeoning scholarly literature about LGBT families from the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. It pays particular attention to how structures of race, class, gender, sexuality, and age shape LGBT families, and how members of such families negotiate the social landscapes within which they exist. The book will help readers better understand the formation, experiences, challenges, and strengths of LGBT families, and address two main questions: Why are new family forms so threatening to certain groups of people in society? and How are new family forms beneficial to the society in which they exist?
LGBTQ Youth and Education by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (LC192.6 .M39 2014)
Publication Date: 2013-11-29
Based on the diverse experiences of LGBTQ students and their allies, this essential volume brings together in one resource the major issues that schools must address to improve the educational outcomes for gender and sexual minority students, as well as all students. Many of these issues involve negative school-based experiences that teachers and administrators need to be aware of as they interact with students on a daily basis, including those that encourage dropping out, substance abuse, and disproportionate thoughts of suicide.
LGBT Rights by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (KF4754.5 .L49 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Great strides have been made in securing rights for the LGBT community in recent years. Although statistics prove that acceptance of LGBT individuals has grown substantially in the past decade, there are still many people who ignore the laws in favor of their own beliefs. This anthology brings together writings from diverse sources to construct a well-balanced examination of LGBT rights in the United States and around the world. Readers will be exposed to both sides of the same-sex marriage debate, the controversy over restroom access for transgender individuals, and the reasons why the LGBT community continues to fight for its rights.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Global Issues in Context Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.