Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for LGBTQIA related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement by
Publication Date: 2020-07-08
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction is a chronological survey of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book beautifully reveals the heroic people and key events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement. The book includes personal narratives to capture the lived experience from each era, as well as details of essential organizations, texts, and court cases that defined LGBTQ activism and advocacy.
Beyond the Politics of the Closet by
Publication Date: 2020-02-21
Examining the crucial relationship between sexuality, race, and class, Beyond the Politics of the Closet highlights the impact gay rights politics and activism have had on the wider American political landscape since the rights revolutions of the 1960s.
LGBTQ Discrimination in America by
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
LGBTQ Discrimination in America highlights the laws, opinions, and social norms that lead to discrimination of people in the LGBTQ community. It examines common elements of discrimination in the community, from bullying in schools to employment discrimination. Features include a glossary, further readings, websites, source notes, and an index.
LGBTQ Rights and the Law by
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
LGBTQ Rights and the Law explores the history of legislation affecting the LGBTQ community, including the proposed ban on transgender soldiers. It also explores the lives of the people who have challenged anti-LGBTQ legislation and made a difference for LGBTQ people in America. Features include a glossary, further readings, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
The Children of Harvey Milk by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HQ76.5 .R49 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The gay rights movement has achieved social transformation at a dizzying pace, upending conventional views on sex, love, marriage, the family, and equality itself. While most scholars understand the movement as a broad-based social movement, Andrew Reynolds argues that the most important catalyst of gay rights is often overlooked: individuals. Specifically, openly gay politicians had a critical role in bringing about a more positive attitude towards homosexuality, both among other politicians and the general public. The Children of Harvey Milk tells the epic stories of more than fifty elected officials and high profile political candidates. Reynolds traces major breakthroughs for the gay rights movement through the lives of LGBTQIA politicians who advanced the cause.
Coming Out to the Streets by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation HQ76.27.Y68 R635 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-17
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) youth are disproportionately represented in the U.S. youth homelessness population. Based on interviews and ethnographic fieldwork in central Texas, Coming Out to the Streets looks into the lives of the LGBTQ youth before they experience homelessness--within their families, schools, and other institutions--and how they later live on the streets, deal with police, and navigate shelters and other services. To address LGBTQ youth homelessness, Robinson contends that solutions need to move beyond blaming families for rejecting their child.
LGBTQ Social Movements by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation HQ76.8.U5 S78 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
In recent years, there has been substantial progress on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) civil rights in the United States. LGBTQ Social Movements provides an accessible introduction to mainstream LGBTQ movements in the US, illustrating the many forms that LGBTQ activism has taken since the mid-twentieth century. Covering a range of topics, including the Stonewall uprising and gay liberation, AIDS politics, queer activism, marriage equality fights, youth action, and bisexual and transgender justice, Lisa M. Stulberg explores how marginalized people and communities have used a wide range of political and cultural tools to demand and create change through five key themes.
Queers, Bis, and Straight Lies by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HQ76.4 .W67 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-25
Though there have been great advances for LGBTQ people in recent years, however, stigma, intolerance, and prejudice remain. Queers, Bis, and Straight Lies: An Intersectional Examination of LGBTQ Stigma offers an in-depth exploration of LGBTQ negativity through its ground-breaking use of Norm-Centered Stigma Theory (NCST), the first ever theory about stigma that is both testable and well-positioned in existing stigma scholarship. Based on research with more than 3,000 respondents, hetero-cis-normativity and intersectionality are highlighted as fundamental in understanding separate but interconnected discussions about LGBTQ individuals' experiences with discrimination, harassment, and violence.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.