Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for mandatory minimum sentencing research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Advancing Criminology and Criminal Justice Policy by
Publication Date: 2016-03-21
Bridging the gap between research and policy, this book provides the best-available research evidence, identifies strategies for informing policy and offers direct policy recommendations for a number of pressing contemporary issues in criminal justice, including: Delinquency, intervention programs and community crime prevention, Problem-oriented policing and the science of hot-spot policing, Sentencing and drug courts, Community corrections, incarceration and rehabilitation, Mental illness, gender, aging and indigenous communities.
The Failed Promise of Sentencing Reform by
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Despite 15 years of reform efforts, the incarceration rate in the United States remains at an unprecedented high level. This book provides the first comprehensive survey of these reforms and explains why they have proven to be ineffective. * Clearly identifies the real reasons that the wave of post-2000 sentencing reform has had minimal impact on reducing national imprisonment rates * Explains why reforms must target the excessive sentences imposed on violent and sexual offenders, even though the members of these offender groups are considered "justifiably punished" by long prison terms in the public eye * Enables readers to understand why increased consideration for the well-being of offenders and their families is likely a prerequisite to the acceptance of more fundamental changes to the U.S. sentencing system
Mandatory Sentencing from: Courts, Law, and Justice by
Publication Date: 2011-05-03
Mandatory sentencing policies are legislative efforts that enhance the sentencing provisions for convicted criminal defendants. Sentencing enhancement is achieved by either requiring a sentence of imprisonment, denying the possibility of probation or other community sanction, or by lengthening the actual time served in prison for particular types of criminal offenses.
Mandatory Minimum Sentences by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation -- KF9685 .M33 2019
Publication Date: 2018-07-15
Is it fair to remove judicial discretion when sentencing criminals for certain crimes? This volume presents a wide diversity of opinions from an array of experts on the impact of mandatory minimum sentencing on crime, including the three strikes law. Readers are asked to examine the inherent fairness of mandatory sentences. Are they discriminatory? Do they usurp judicial power and result in overcrowded prisons? Or do they protect children and deter repeat offenders? Experts also weigh in on alternatives to mandatory sentences.
Mandatory Minimum Sentencing by
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
This book explores s a wide diversity of opinions on the impact of mandatory minimum sentencing on crime, including the three strikes law. It discusses the inherent fairness of mandatory sentences: Are they discriminatory? Do they usurp judicial power and result in overcrowd prisons? Or do they protect children and deter repeat offenders? Readers will also look at alternatives to mandatory minimums, such as drug court supervision or extended treatment options.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.