Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for marijuana research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Cannabis Capital by
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
Welcome to Cannabis Capital Raising capital, like any other core business function, requires strategy, a managed process, strong execution, and the ability to handle a lot of rejection--and the added challenges and popularity of the cannabis economy mean that you need to create a pitch that really sets you apart from your competitors. Cannabis venture capitalist Ross O'Brien shares his insights from a career spent in private equity investing as he defines what the cannabis economy landscape is, teaches you how cannabis capital works and shares insider knowledge.
In the Weeds by
Publication Date: 2019-02-20
More and more states are legalizing marijuana in some form. Sociologists Clayton Mosher and Scott Akins take a deep dive into marijuana policy reform, looking at the incremental developments and the historical, legal, social, and political implications of these changes. They investigate the effects, medicinal applications, and possible harms of marijuana. They also consider arguments that youth will be heavy users of legalized cannabis, and shows how "weed" is demonized by exaggerations of the drug's risks and claims of its lack of medicinal value. Mosher and Akins end their timely and insightful book by tracing the distinct paths to the legalization of recreational marijuana in the United States and other countries as well as discussing what the future of marijuana law holds.
Legal Marijuana by
Publication Date: 2018-12-30
The legalization of marijuana has spread rapidly throughout the US, from just a handful of states ten years ago to now more than half, as well as the nation's capital. Legalization seems to be a win-win - people who use cannabis for health and recreation are served, business is brisk, and many governments welcome the much-needed boost in tax revenue. But not everyone thinks so. The rapid pace of legalization has spurred debate among citizens, cities, states and the federal government. This collection of essays explains the benefits and concerns, the policies and actions, and the future of this controversial issue.
The Medical Marijuana Guide by
Publication Date: 2018-11-08
After decades of misinformation about cannabis largely due to the well-funded propaganda campaign in the 1930s, public attitudes toward the drug have finally begun to evolve. Now countless patients are reaping the benefits of this amazing resource which has been used to effectively treat everything from chronic pain to debilitating illnesses. In The Medical Marijuana Guide, Dr. Patricia Frye helps to de-stigmatize this misunderstood drug and educate readers on the history of cannabis and how it is used by the medical community today.
Cannabis and CBD for Health and Wellness by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RM666.C266 S52 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
A safe, comprehensive, and easy-to-use guide to using cannabis--including CBD and THC--to ease chronic and acute health issues. With legalization of recreational cannabis in 9 states and medical marijuana in 29 states, interest is growing in cannabis-related health products, especially those made with CBD--a cannabinoid that has healing properties without the psychoactive effects of THC. The Essential Guide to Cannabis and CBD demystifies cannabis and its history, and explains in simple and straightforward language how to use it to treat myriad health and lifestyle issues.
Marijuana 360 by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation KF3891.M2 M35 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-08
Marijuana 360: Differing Perspectives on Legalization examines marijuana legalization from the perspective of those directly involved in some aspect of the controversy, Nancy E. Marion and Joshua B. Hill interview representatives from a variety of integral groups affected by marijuana legalization in order to increase our understanding of their differing opinions. Their study examines states that have legalized (or are considering legalizing) marijuana to get impressions of the impact the reform has made (or will make) in their area. Public support for reform is more widespread than ever before, but much debate remains over the issues.
More on Legalizing Marijuana by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation KF3891.M2 M669 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
More states continue to legalize marijuana for both medical and recreational use. This trend toward legalized marijuana poses new problems and concerns for individuals and governments alike. More on Legalizing Marijuana presents research by ten experts that examines issues surrounding marijuana legalization and use.
The Science of Marijuana by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation QP801.C27 I94 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-22
The Science of Marijuana is directed to readers interested in knowing more about cannabis, how it works, and what the hazards associated with its use may be. In terms of cannabis as a medicine, it is now sanctioned by a majority of US States, with approved medical indications that often go beyond what is really known scientifically about the effectiveness of cannabis treatment. Some countries and US States have approved full legalization of cannabis for adults; the regulations needed to control such legal use are still being worked out. The pros and cons of cannabis legalization are reviewed.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale: eBooks This link opens in a new windowVirtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.