Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for marine pollution research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
High Seas Governance by
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
High Seas Governance: Gaps and Challenges identifies gaps in and challenges to the existing legal regime in the protection and preservation of the marine environment of the high seas, including sensitive marine areas. The gaps identified in the book include the failure of liability and compensation schemes to cover pollution of the high seas and the fact that no state has the responsibility to clean up pollution of the high seas. One common theme of the book is that it is necessary to identify a state other than flag states, port states or coastal states, which should have an obligation to exercise jurisdiction and control over certain activities on the high seas.
Marine Algal Bloom: Characteristics, Causes and Climate Change Impacts by
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
This book discusses the occurrence of harmful algal blooms (HABs) which have large and varied impacts on marine ecosystems depending on the species involved, the environment where they are found, and the mechanism by which they exert negative effects. HABs represent a major environmental problem in all regions of the U.S., and have severe impacts on human health, aquatic ecosystems, and the economy. As such, the book offers an in-depth account of the complex biological, chemical and physical interactions of the algal blooms. It also discusses the highly topical issue of the impact of global climate change on the frequency and severity of HABs.
Marine Pollution: Current Status, Impacts and Remedies by
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Marine pollution has been a topic of concern for a long time. Marine pollution poses a threat to coastal communities by affecting the fauna and flora in the environment as well as nearby populations' health and economy. This book emphasizes the limitations of marine resources that relevant environments provide. Methods to assess, measure, and remediate various known pollutants are provided. Other issues covered in the book include problems caused by invasive species, and the ecological problems caused by pollutants which affect local fauna and flora.
Ocean Outbreak by
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
There is a growing crisis in our oceans: mysterious outbreaks of infectious disease are on the rise. Marine epidemics can cause mass die-offs of wildlife from the bottom to the top of food chains, impacting the health of ocean ecosystems as well as lives on land. Portending global environmental disaster, ocean outbreaks are fueled by warming seas, sewage dumping, unregulated aquaculture, and drifting plastic. Ocean Outbreak follows renowned scientist Drew Harvell and her colleagues into the field as they investigate how four iconic marine animals--corals, abalone, salmon, and starfish--have been devastated by disease.
Coastal and Deep Ocean Pollution by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation GC1085 .C58 2021
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
The ocean, sea and coastal areas show varying degrees of impact from the multiple human activities carried out in the terrestrial as well as in the aquatic environment. For centuries it has been the final reservoir of human garbage; later it became an oil farm with a concomitant increase of coastal population growth and unplanned growth of the fishing industry and the increasing use of sea routes for cargo transport and recreational uses (cruises). All this led to rising contamination with negative effects on biota and even human health. This book documents the latest research in the field of ocean pollution.
Dead Zones by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation QH545.W3 K57 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-02
Human activity has caused an increase in uninhabitable, oxygen-poor zones--also known as "dead zones"--in our waters. In this book, David L. Kirchman explains the impacts of dead zones and provides an in-depth history of oxygen loss in water. He details the role the different industries --such as industrial wastewater and agriculture -- plays in water pollution, and outlines what dead zones mean for humanity. The resulting book allows readers interested in the environment to dive into these deadly zones and discover how they can help mitigate the harmful effects of oxygen-poor waters today.
Oceans in Decline by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation GC1085 .R6713 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
What is happening in our oceans? By describing their main elements, this book shows how and why the oceans are being transformed, and suggests possible future scenarios to address this complex, yet often-asked, question. The ocean is being dramatically transformed, but the magnitude of this transformation remains unclear since the ocean is largely inaccessible and still unknown. The author offers a holistic view of our oceans. Focusing on fishing, pollution and the effects of climate change, he identifies and describes the changes occurring in all marine ecosystems, and discusses the long-passed state of equilibrium.
Plastic Soup by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation TD427.P62 R6713 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-04
Plastics have transformed every aspect of our lives. Yet the very properties that make them attractive--they are cheap to make, light, and durable--spell disaster when trash makes its way into the environment. Plastic Soup: An Atlas of Ocean Pollution is a beautifully-illustrated survey of the plastics clogging our seas, their impacts on wildlife and people around the world, and inspirational initiatives designed to tackle the problem. With striking photography and graphics, Plastic Soup brings this challenge to brilliant life for readers. Yet it also sends a message of hope; although the scale of the problem is massive, so is the dedication of activists working to check it. Created to inform and inspire readers, Plastic Soup is a critical tool in the fight to reverse this trend.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.