Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for marriage and divorce research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Commuter Spouses by
Publication Date: 2019-03-15
What can we learn from looking at married partners who live apart? In Commuter Spouses, Danielle Lindemann explores how couples cope when they live apart to meet the demands of their dual professional careers. Based on the personal stories of almost one-hundred commuter spouses, Lindemann shows how these atypical relationships embody (and sometimes disrupt!) gendered constructions of marriage in the United States.
Publication Date: 2016-12-14
This book offers a broad survey of psychodynamic observations on the antecedents and consequences of divorce. In this volume, distinguished clinical psychologists and psychoanalysts explore the emotional divorce that invariably precedes the one granted by a court and focus as well upon the emotional impact of the actual divorce upon the spouses, children, friends, and family. This book is a valuable resource to demonstrate how therapists and patients can work through a divorce to yield deeper insights into the self, greater tolerance of one's own limitations, and lay the groundwork for contentment with a future partner.
The Good Divorce by
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Divorce is a complicated process and not a single event. It has major life implications and must be done right. In this regard, the good divorce is an ethical divorce. The Good Divorce is designed to be helpful by providing an in-depth exploration of the separation process, post-divorce adjustment, telling the children, caring for children from infants to teens, decision-making models, pathologies of divorce and, finally, hope and recovery through creating an important space for discovery.
The Marital Knot by
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
What binds people together in marriage? Dr. Shabnamzehra Bhojani examines the differences between arranged marriages and love marriages through one of her patients patients, Sarah, who enters into an arranged marriage after arriving in the US. Dr. Bhojani presents a study of commitment, hate, anger, revenge, empathy, forgiveness, and mourning, including clinical examples every step of the way. The Marital Knot concludes with a discussion of empathy, forgiveness, and mourning: the necessary elements for maintaining commitment and repairing betrayals.
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HQ1031 .C383 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
The landmark story of how interracial love and marriage changed American history--and continues to alter the landscape of American politics. When Mildred and Richard Loving wed in 1958, they were charged with miscegenation. The resulting landmark decision of Loving v. Virginia ended bans on interracial marriage. Loving challenges the notion that trickle-down progressive politics is our only hope for a more inclusive society. Accessible and sharp, Sheryll Cashin reanimates the possibility of a future where interracial understanding serves as a catalyst of a social revolution ending not in artificial color blindness but in a culture where acceptance and difference are celebrated.
Call Number: Lakeland & Winter Haven Circulation HQ734 .M357 2022
Publication Date: 2021-07-30
Marriage is an age-old institution whose purpose has changed in recent times. No longer do families arrange unions for economic and social reasons; today, most Westerners marry for love. Still, the median age for first marriage has risen steadily over the years, and 32 percent of adults have never been married. The viewpoints in this volume explore how marriage fits into our changing society, including issues of same-sex marriage, domestic violence, women's equality, and children and divorce. Readers will analyze the wedding industry, and the Unmarried Equality Movement, which is the movement for single people to attain equal rights to married people.
Marriage Equality by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation KF539 .E75 2020
Publication Date: 2020-08-18
As a legal scholar who first argued in the early 1990s for a right to gay marriage, William N. Eskridge Jr. has been on the front lines of the debate over same-sex marriage for decades. In this book, Eskridge and his coauthor, Christopher R. Riano, offer a panoramic and definitive history of America's marriage equality debate. The authors explore the deeply religious, rabidly political, frequently administrative, and pervasively constitutional features of the debate and consider all angles of its dramatic history. While giving a full account of the legal and political issues, the authors never lose sight of the personal stories of the people involved, or of the central place the right to marry holds in a person's ability to enjoy the dignity of full citizenship.
The Marriage Paradox by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HQ734 .W7569 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-05
Marriage has been declared dead by many scholars and the media. Marriage rates are dropping, divorce rates remain high, and marriage no longer enjoys the prominence it once held particularly among young adults. However, young adults continue to report that marriage is important to them. Utilizing national trends, statistical findings, and quotations from emerging adults, The Marriage Paradox explores a sample of emerging adults to find out how they really view marriage today.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.