Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for minimum wage research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Minimum Wage by
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
This unbiased look at the minimum wage debate in America traces the history of minimum wage policy at both the federal and state levels, discusses the controversies swirling around the issue, and examines the veracity of claims made by people on both sides of the debate. Presents data not typically found in many of the standard works. Reviews the impact of previous increases in the minimum wage at both the federal and state levels. Surveys the impact of compensation laws around the world. Pays attention to impact of minimum wage policy on the middle class as well as the poor and working class.
Living Wages Around the World by
Publication Date: 2017-01-27
Wages are the main determinant of living standards for the vast majority of workers and families around the world. This manual describes a new methodology to measure what constitutes a decent but basic standard of living and how much workers need to earn to afford this, making it possible for researchers to estimate comparable living wages around the world and determine gaps between living wages and prevailing wages.
One Fair Wage by
Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Six million workers in America are tipped workers, relying on a subminimum wage and the whims of customers to feed themselves and their families. Over a million of them are immigrants, and the unpredictability of tips combined with the unpredictability of life as an immigrant creates an unstable, uncertain future. Tipped points to a new future in which immigrants are welcome and the service sector can prosper with, not off of, its immigrant workforce.
Beyond $15: immigrant workers, faith activists, and the revival of the labor movement by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HD8085.S413 R67 2017 )
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
The inside story of the first successful $15 minimum wage campaign that renewed a national labor movement. Just outside Seattle, an unlikely alliance of Sea-Tac Airport workers, union and community activists, and clergy staged face-to-face confrontations with corporate leaders to unite a diverse, largely immigrant workforce in a struggle over power between airport workers and business and political elites. Digging deep into the root causes of poverty wages, Rosenblum gives a blunt assessment of the daunting problems facing unions today. Beyond $15 provides an inspirational blueprint for a powerful, all-inclusive labor movement and is a call for workers to reclaim their power in the new economy.
The Right to a Living Wage by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland and Winter Haven Circulation -- HD4918 .R54 2018
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
With the disappearance of well-paying jobs and the increasing cost of living, it's becoming more and more difficult to stay afloat in the United States. Workers who earn the minimum wage often can't afford the most basic needs. In response, more than 100 U.S. cities have issued living wage ordinances, requiring payments that allow workers to afford food, clothing, shelter, utilities, and healthcare. It may seem obvious that everyone wins with a living wage, but does paying out a living wage help or harm the economy? Should corporations be forced to pay them? What is society's responsibility to its workers?
Restoring the Middle Class Through Wage Policy by
Call Number: Polk/ Lakeland Circulation HD4918 .L48 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
This book delivers a fresh and fascinating perspective on the issue of the minimum wage. While most discussions of the minimum wage place it at the center of a debate between those who oppose such a policy and argue it leads to greater unemployment, and those who favor it and argue it improves the economic well-being of low-income workers, Levin-Waldman makes the case for the minimum wage as a way to improve the well-being of middle-income workers, strengthen the US economy, reduce income inequality, and enhance democracy. Making a timely and original contribution to the defining issues of our time--the state of the middle class, the problem of inequality, and the crisis of democratic governance--Restoring the Middle Class through Wage Policy will be of interest to students and researchers considering the impact of such approaches across the fields of public policy, economics, and political science.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.