Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for nanotechnology research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
In Nanoweapons Louis A. Del Monte describes the most deadly generation of military weapons the world has ever encountered. With dimensions one-thousandth the diameter of a single strand of human hair, this technology threatens to eradicate humanity as it incites world governments to compete in the deadliest arms race ever. Del Monte predicts that nanoweapons will dominate the battlefield of the future and will help determine the superpowers of the twenty-first century. He traces the emergence of nanotechnology, discusses the current development of nanoweapons--such as the "mini-nuke," which weighs five pounds and carries the power of one hundred tons of TNT--and offers concrete recommendations for controlling their proliferation and avoiding human annihilation.
History of Nanotechnology by
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
The scientific knowledge of nanoscience and nanotechnology is regarded to be a modern sciencethat evolved after Feynman's concept was formulated in the 1950s. However, Faraday and other scientists in the 19th century showed the science behind the small and its relation to optical properties. And it is now accepted that knowledge of using nanoparticles prevailed during the medieval period as well. This book takes the readers on a fascinating journey writing the history of nanotechnology based on the evidence of existence from the prehistoric period right up to the contemporary times. Nature utilized nanotechnology during the origin and expansion of the universe and especially in the evolution of living beings on our planet. Early civilizations in different parts of globe fabricated and used materials without having perception of their actual size. This unique historical view systematically evaluates the development of various applications of nanotechnology through the ages and the science behind it. Some of the issues covered include: * How old is nanotechnology? * Pre-historic evidence of knowledge of nanotechnology * Nanotechnology in ancient India * Ayurvedic Bhasma as nanomedicine * Mayan's knowledge of nanotechnology * Nanotechnology during the Roman empire and medieval period * European knowledge in the 19th century * Modern and contemporary history of nanotechnology This book is compilation of existence of scientific knowledge even of the people who existed before there were schools, universities and organized teaching. The author has scoured literature dating back to Mayan ... as well as historical observations A systematic evaluation of development of various applications of nanotechnology and the science behind it is presented in this book under following headings -How old is Nanotechnology -Pre-historic Evidence of Knowledge of Nanotechnology -Nanotechnology in Ancient India -Ayurvedic Bhasma as Nanomedicine, its use prevails even today -Mayan's Knowledge of Nanotechnology -Nanotechnologists Flourished During Roman Empire and medieval period -European Nano knowledge That Led to Faraday Understands of Gold Nanoparticles -Contemporary History of Nanotechnology
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Should you adopt nanotechnology? If you have already adopted it, what do you need to know? What are the risks? Nanomaterials and nanotechnologies are revolutionizing the ways we treat disease, produce energy, manufacture products, and attend to our daily wants and needs. To continue to capture the promise of these transformative products, however, we need to ask critical questions about the broader impacts of nanotechnology on society and the environment. Exploring these questions, the second edition of Nanotechnology: Health and Environmental Risks gives you the latest tools to understand the risks of nanotechnology and make better decisions about using it. Examining the state of the science, the book discusses what is known, and what still needs to be understood, about nanotechnology risk. It looks at the uses of nanotechnology for energy, industry, medicine, technology, and consumer applications and explains how to determine whether there is risk--even when there is little reliable evidence--and how to manage it. Contributors cover a wide range of topics, including: Current concerns, among them perceived risks and the challenges of evaluating emerging technology A historical perspective on product safety and chemicals policy The importance of being proactive about identifying and managing health and environmental risks during product development How the concepts of sustainability and life cycle assessment can guide nanotechnology product development Methods for evaluating nanotechnology risks, including screening approaches and research How to manage risk when working with nanoscale materials at the research stage and in occupational environments What international organizations are doing to address risk issues How risk assessment can inform environmental decision making Written in easy-to-understand language, without sacrificing complexity or scientific accuracy, this book offers a wide-angle view of nanotechnology and risk. Supplying cutting-edge approaches and insight, it explains what types of risks could exist and what you can do to address them. What's New in This Edition Updates throughout, reflecting advances in the field, new literature, and policy developments A new chapter on nanotechnology risk communication, including insights into risk perceptions and the mental models people use to evaluate technological risks An emphasis on developing nanotechnology products that are sustainable in the long term Advances in the understanding of nanomaterials toxicity Cutting-edge research on occupational exposure to nanoparticles Changes in the international landscape of organizations working on the environmental, health, and safety aspects of nanotechnologies
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (T174.7 .N345525 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
This title addresses various issues related to nanotechnology, including what the relationship between public perception and nanotechnology is, how nanotechnology will affect health, and how nanotechnology will affect the environment.
Nanosciences and Nanotechnology by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (T174.7.N3586513 2016)
Publication Date: 2015-10-16
This book provides information to the state of art of research in nanotechnology and nano medicine and risks of nano technology. It covers an interdisciplinary and very wide scope of the latest fundamental research status and industrial applications of nano technologies ranging from nano physics, nano chemistry to biotechnology and toxicology. It provides information to last legislation of nano usage and potential social impact too. The book contains also a reference list of major European research centers and associated universities offering licences and master of nano matter. For clarity and attractivity, the book has many illustrations and specific inserts to complete the understanding of the scientific texts.
Basic Principles of Nanotechnology by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation T174.7 .S267 2019
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
The book allows the reader to have a basic understanding of the structure and properties of nanoscale materials routinely used in nanotechnology-based research and industries. To add, the book describes the operation of nanoscale transistors and the processes used to fabricate the devices. Additionally, it presents research involving the use of carbon nanotubes, graphene, and molecules to create non-silicon based electronic devices. It aims to provide an understanding of the operation of the most frequently used fabrication and characterization procedures, such as scanning electron microscopy, atomic force microscopy, etch, e-beam lithography, and photolithography. Provides explanations of the common techniques used in nanofabrication. Focuses on nanomaterials that are almost exclusively used in academic research and incorporated in consumer materials, such as carbon nanotubes, graphene, metal nanoparticles, quantum dots, and conductive polymers. Each chapter begins with a list of key objectives describing major content covered. Includes end-of-chapter questions to reinforce chapter content.
Nano Comes to Life by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation QH324.25 .C66 2019
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
The nanotechnology revolution that will transform human health and longevity Nano Comes to Life opens a window onto the nanoscale--the infinitesimal realm of proteins and DNA where physics and cellular and molecular biology meet--and introduces readers to the rapidly evolving nanotechnologies that are allowing us to manipulate the very building blocks of life. Sonia Contera gives an insider's perspective on this new frontier, revealing how nanotechnology enables a new kind of multidisciplinary science that is poised to give us control over our own biology, our health, and our lives. Drawing on her perspective as one of today's leading researchers in the field, Contera describes the exciting ways in which nanotechnology makes it possible to understand, interact with, and manipulate biology--such as by designing and building artificial structures and even machines at the nanoscale using DNA, proteins, and other biological molecules as materials. In turn, nanotechnology is revolutionizing medicine in ways that will have profound effects on our health and longevity, from nanoscale machines that can target individual cancer cells and deliver drugs more effectively, to nanoantibiotics that can fight resistant bacteria, to the engineering of tissues and organs for research, drug discovery, and transplantation. The future will bring about the continued fusion of nanotechnology with biology, physics, medicine, and cutting-edge fields like robotics and artificial intelligence, ushering us into a new "transmaterial era." As we contemplate the power, advantages, and risks of accessing and manipulating our own biology, Contera offers insight and hope that we may all share in the benefits of this revolutionary research.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.