Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for obesity research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Fast Facts: Obesity by
Publication Date: May 2014
Written from an international perspective, this book examines the three cornerstones of obesity management - diet, physical activity, and behavioral change - alongside pharmacological and surgical options, and considers how best to support patients to improve their nutrition and levels of physical activity.
Childhood Obesity in America by
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Obesity among American children has reached epidemic proportions. Laura Dawes traces changes in diagnosis, treatment, and popular conceptions of the most serious health problem facing American children today, and makes the case that understanding the cultural history of a disease is critical to developing effective public health policy.
Obesity Interventions in Underserved Communities by
Publication Date: 2014-12-04
The obesity epidemic has a disproportionate impact on communities that are hard-hit by social and economic disadvantages. In this book, a diverse group of researchers explores effective models for treating and preventing obesity in such communities. The volume provides overviews of the literature at specific junctures of society and health (e.g., the effectiveness of preschool obesity prevention programs), as well as commentaries that shape our understanding of particular parts of the obesity epidemic and field reports on innovative approaches to combating obesity in racial/ethnic minority and other medically underserved populations in the United States.
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC628 .O222 2015)
Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Is there an obesity epidemic? The obesity epidemic is America's greatest ongoing crisis / Dan Carroll -- The myth of an "obesity tsunami" / Patrick Basham and John Luik -- The prevalence of obesity has been underestimated / Nirav R. Shah and Eric R. Braverman -- The obesity epidemic was manufactured by the weight loss industry / Linda Bacon -- The public's acceptance of higher weight is a serious problem / Neil Snyder -- The public's obsession with weight loss and thinness is harmful / Rick Kausman -- Is obesity a disease? Declaring that obesity is a disease will help patients / Mark J. Holland -- Obesity is not a disease /
A Big Fat Crisis : the hidden forces behind the obesity epidemic - and how we can end it by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RA645.O23 C64 2014)
Publication Date: 2013-12-24
Obesity is the public health crisis of the twenty-first century. Over 150 million Americans are overweight or obese, and across the globe an estimated 1.5 billion are affected. In A Big Fat Crisis, Dr. Deborah A. Cohen has created a major new work that will transform the conversation surrounding the modern weight crisis. Based on her own extensive research, as well as the latest insights from behavioral economics and cognitive science, Cohen reveals what drives the obesity epidemic and how we, as a nation, can overcome it. Cohen argues that the massive increase in obesity is the product of two forces. One is the immutable aspect of human nature, namely the fundamental limits of self-control and the unconscious ways we are hard-wired to eat. And second is the completely transformed modern food environment, including lower prices, larger portion sizes, and the outsized influence of food advertising. A Big Fat Crisis offers concrete recommendations and sweeping policy changes--including implementing smart and effective regulations and constructing a more balanced food environment--that represent nothing less than a blueprint for defeating the obesity epidemic once and for all.
The Dorito Effect: the surprising new truth about food and flavor by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (TX370 .S33 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
In The Dorito Effect, Mark Schatzker shows us how our approach to the nation’s number one public health crisis has gotten it wrong. The epidemics of obesity, heart disease, and diabetes are not tied to the overabundance of fat or carbs or any other specific nutrient. Instead, we have been led astray by the growing divide between flavor—the tastes we crave—and the underlying nutrition. Since the late 1940s, we have been slowly leeching flavor out of the food we grow. Those perfectly round, red tomatoes that grace our supermarket aisles today are mostly water, and the big breasted chickens on our dinner plates grow three times faster than they used to, leaving them dry and tasteless. Simultaneously, we have taken great leaps forward in technology, allowing us to produce in the lab the very flavors that are being lost on the farm. Thanks to this largely invisible epidemic, seemingly healthy food is becoming more like junk food: highly craveable but nutritionally empty. With in-depth historical and scientific research, The Dorito Effect casts the food crisis in a fascinating new light, weaving an enthralling tale of how we got to this point and where we are headed.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.