Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for online retail research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Store Wars: The Worldwide Battle for Mindspace and Shelfspace, Online and In-store by
Publication Date: 2012-09-24
Includes a comprehensive and complex approach to the consumer & retail market and the interaction between retailers and manufacturers. Includes a section on A section on leading companies and brands (such as Coke, P&G, Unilever, Nestle, L'Oreal etc.), their marketing and branding strategies. A section on leading retailers (Wal-Mart, Tesco, Carrefour etc.), their developments and expansion over the last 10 years.
Free Marketing: 101 Low and No-Cost Ways to Grow Your Business, Online and Off by
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
Simple, powerful marketing strategies every business can afford to implement . Thanks to the Internet, a new world of free and inexpensive tactics can help get the word out to the prospects of any business with a limited marketing budget. Free Marketing delivers more than 100 ideas to help any small business owner or marketer generate new revenue with little or no marketing budget. With both Internet-based and creative offline ideas, you'll discover ways to turn your top customers into your unpaid sales force, get your competitors to help you promote your new products, and other innovative ways to get the word out. Grow a successful business without letting your marketing budget tell you "No."
The Digital Marketer: Ten New Skills You Must Learn to Stay Relevant and Customer-Centric by
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
In The Digital Marketer: Ten New Skills You Must Learn to Stay Relevant and Customer-Centric, digital marketing guru Larry Weber and business writer and consultant Lisa Leslie Henderson explain the latest digital tools and trends used in today's marketing initiatives. The book is an essential read for businesses of all sizes wanting to learn how to engage with customers in meaningful, profitable, and mutually beneficial ways.
The Retail Revival by
Publication Date: 2013-02-11
Traditional retail is becoming increasingly volatile and challenged as a business model. Brick-and-mortar has shifted to online, while online is shifting into pop-up storefronts. Virtual stores in subway platforms and airports are offering new levels of convenience for harried commuters. High Street and Main Street are becoming the stuff of nostalgia. The Big Box is losing ground to new models that attract consumers through their most-trusted assistant--the smartphone. What''s next? What''s the future for you--a retailer--who is witnessing a tsunami of change and not knowing if this means grasping ahold of new opportunity or being swept away? The Retail Revival answers these questions by looking into the not-so-distant retail past and by looking forward into a future that will continue to redefine retail and its enormous effect on society and our economies. Massive demographic and economic shifts, as well as historic levels of technological and media disruption, are turning this once predictable industry--where "average" was king--into a sea of turbulent change, leaving consumer behavior permanently altered. Doug Stephens, internationally renowned consumer futurist, examines the key seismic shifts in the market that have even companies like Walmart and Procter & Gamble scrambling to cope, and explores the current and future trends that will completely change the way we shop. The Retail Revival provides no-nonsense clarity on the realities of a completely new retail marketplace-- realities that are driving many industry executives to despair. But the future need not be dark. Stephens offers hope and guidance for any businesses eager to capitalize on these historic shifts and thrive. Entertaining and thought-provoking, The Retail Revival makes sense of a brave new era of consumer behavior in which everything we thought we knew about retail is being completely reimagined. Praise for The Retail Revival "It doesn''t matter what type of retail you do--if you sell something, somewhere, you need to read Doug Stephens'' The Retail Revival. Packed with powerful insights on the changing retail environment and what good retailers should be thinking about now, The Retail Revival is easy to read, well-organized and provides essential food for thought." -- Gregg Saretsky, President and CEO, WestJet "This book captures in sharp detail the deep and unprecedented changes driving new consumer behaviors and values. More importantly, it offers clear guidance to brands and retailers seeking to adapt and evolve to meet entirely new market imperatives for success." --John Gerzema, Author of Spend Shift and The Athena Doctrine "The Retail Revival is a critical read for all marketing professionals who are trying to figure out what''s next in retail... Doug Stephens does a great job of explaining why retail has evolved the way it has, and the book serves as an important, trusted guide to where it''s headed next. " --Joe Lampertius SVP, Shopper Marketing, Momentum Worldwide and Owner, La Spezia Flavor Market "Doug Stephens has proven his right to the moniker ''Retail Prophet.'' With careful analysis and ample examples, the author makes a compelling case for retailers to adapt, change and consequently revive their connection with consumers. Stephens presents actionable recommendations with optimism and enthusiasm--just the spoonful of sugar we need to face the necessary changes ahead." --Kit Yarrow, Ph.D., Consumer Psychologist; Professor, Golden Gate University; Co-Author, Gen BuY: How Tweens, Teens and Twenty-Somethings are Revolutionizing Retail "Doug Stephens doesn''t just tell you why retail is in the doldrums, he tells you why retail is a major signpost for the larger troubles of our culture and provides a compelling, inspiring vision for a future of retail--and business, and society." --Eric Garland, author of Future Inc.: How Businesses Can Anticipate and Profit from What''s Next
The Impulse Economy: understanding mobile shoppers and what makes them buy by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HF5415.1265 .S385 2011)
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
What can a business do to maximize the mobile buying power of the new impulse consumer? Gary Schwartz has written a groundbreaking book that outlines the history of the mobile industry and shows just how businesses can build up their mobile platforms to maximize online sales. He’ll explain: • How to minimize barriers between the shopper and a sale. • How marketers can connect and, more important, reconnect with loyal shoppers. • The technology available now—and what’s coming soon—and how to pick a solution that will deliver results. Anyone interested in the ways our behavior as shoppers is changing—and what we can do to better harness this opportunity—will find this book to be essential reading.
Mobile Influence : the new power of the consumer by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HF5548.32 .M3736 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-06-11
The explosion of mobile access across the globe has shaken the foundations of the traditional sales funnel, and businesses are scrambling to adapt and find new ways to tap into the market. For all their effort, many have failed to realize that the issue is not how to reach the customer where they are, but where they are going and their mindset at the moment. With the staggering growth in the use of mobile technology as both product research and purchase point, businesses have yet to fully understand the important role mobile devices play in the basic structure of the traditional shopping model and the new importance on linking behavior with location.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Business Insights: Essentials Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Hoovers Premium Hoover's Pro offers in-depth financial comparisons and analysis as well as the ability to input specific search criteria to generate a customized, highly-targeted list of companies or people. Deepen existing customer relationships, not to mention target and forge new ones.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Regional Business News Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.