Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for plagiarism research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism by
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Why is accurate referencing important? How do I reference sources correctly? What must I do to avoid plagiarism in my written work? How can I use referencing to assert my own ideas? This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism continues to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources.
Plagiarism, Intellectual Property and the Teaching of L2 Writing by
Publication Date: 2012-03-23
Plagiarism and intellectual property law are two issues that affect every student and every teacher throughout the world. Both concepts are concerned with how we use texts - print, digital, visual, and aural - in the creation of new texts. And both have been viewed in strongly moral terms, often as acts of 'theft'. However, they also reflect the contradictory views behind norms and values and therefore are essential to understand when using all forms of texts both inside and outside the classroom. This book discusses the current and historical relationship between these concepts and how they can be explicitly taught in an academic writing classroom.
Teaching Plagiarism Prevention to College Students by
Publication Date: 2016-08-31
Teaching Plagiarism Prevention to College Students: An Ethics-Based Approach provides an innovative approach to plagiarism instruction by grounding it in ethics theory. By providing an ethics foundation to plagiarism instruction, this book helps the plagiarism instructor to address both unintentional and intentional plagiarism behaviors among students. This book provides tools to address why plagiarism is an important ethical issue in an academic environment. This book introduces general principles of ethics adaptable to library instruction of plagiarism in a variety of learning settings. It guides an instructor through curriculum pedagogical design drawing on library and ethics training literatures. It provides examples of materials to support the implementation of an ethical approach to plagiarism instruction. Finally, it outlines a detailed approach to assessment in order to measure changes in student reactions, learning, and behaviors as a result of this instruction. It further provides guidance in how to communicate institutional outcomes to key decision-makers.
Originality, Imitation, and Plagiarism by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (PN167 .O75 2008 )
Publication Date: 2008-03-10
The essays in this volume explore the complex issues of originality, imitation, and plagiarism, especially as they concern students and scholars, while also addressing related issues, ranging from copyright conventions and the ownership of original work to the authority and role of the writer.
My Word! by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (PN167 .B48 2009)
Publication Date: 2009-01-29
Professors are reminded almost daily that many of today's college students operate under an entirely new set of assumptions about originality and ethics. Practices that even a decade ago would have been regarded almost universally as academically dishonest are now commonplace. Is this development an indication of dramatic shifts in education and the larger culture? In a book that dismisses hand-wringing in favor of a rich account of how students actually think and act, Susan D. Blum discovers two cultures that exist, often uneasily, side by side in the classroom. Relying extensively on interviews conducted by students with students, My Word presents the voices of today's young adults as they muse about their daily activities, their challenges, and the meanings of their college lives. Outcomes-based secondary education, the steeply rising cost of college tuition, and an economic climate in which higher education is valued for its effect on future earnings above all else. These factors each have a role to play in explaining why students might pursue good grades by any means necessary.
Combating Plagiarism by
Call Number: Polk\Lakeland Circulation PN167 .D36 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Offers an instructional plan for plagiarism education for middle school and high school students, allowing librarians to become a resource for students, teachers, and school administrators. The proliferation of resources now available through libraries and the internet requires a new set of information management skills in order for students to avoid plagiarism. While educators legitimately expect students to approach academic work with honesty and integrity, students need to be able to understand the context of their academic resources--both print and digital--well enough to use them appropriately and ethically. Combating Plagiarism helps middle and high school teachers and librarians understand and teach the authorship and publication process so students learn to use relevant information in an ethically and academically sound fashion. Terry Darr's long-term collaboration with a high school history teacher taught her the challenges faced by students conducting research--and by librarians and teachers tasked with teaching plagiarism prevention. Her book is full of tested concepts for teaching these complex topics, emphasizing our modern reliance on digital sources. An extensive student reference section covers common knowledge, fact, and opinion. A wealth of practical resources includes real-life examples from research papers as well as plenty of instructional materials, exercises, and lesson plans. Helps librarians to feel confident in their professional positions as plagiarism experts on campus Teaches librarians how to help students who have already plagiarized Provides opportunities for librarians to collaborate with teachers and writing centers through plagiarism education Acts as a reference guide with all types of questions to ask students about plagiarism during the research process Creates an important framework for the ethical and appropriate use of information in schools
Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The resource also includes information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.