Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for plastic surgery research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery by
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Plastic and reconstructive surgery continues to evolve as new techniques open up new possibilities for the surgeon. In this groundbreaking textbook, contemporary approaches are explained and demonstrated to allow trainee and experienced surgeons alike to understand and assimilate best practice. Containing over 300 outstanding color figures demonstrating surgical practice, an international cast of leading surgeons show the paths to effective plastic surgery technique and outcomes.
Outsmarting Mother Nature by
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
In Outsmarting Mother Nature: A Woman's Complete Guide to Plastic Surgery in the 21st Century, a female plastic surgeon explains all the major procedures in cosmetic surgery, offering frank insights into both physical and psychological issues and expectations. Dr. Iliana Sweis, who not only performs but has undergone cosmetic procedures, details the stages most women will go through from the time they begin to contemplate plastic surgery.
Psychological Aspects of Reconstructive and Cosmetic Plastic Surgery by
Publication Date: 2005-09-21
Written by leading psychologists, psychiatrists, and plastic surgeons, this volume provides a thorough understanding of the psychological issues involved in reconstructive and cosmetic surgery. The book examines the relationships among physical appearance, body image, and psychosocial functioning, reviews the literature on the psychological functioning of plastic surgical patients, and offers clinically effective recommendations on psychological assessment and care of specific patient groups. Major sections detail the psychological issues surrounding specific disfigurements and reconstructive procedures and cosmetic surgery of the face and body. These chapters include brief questionnaires for psychological assessment of patients. Concluding chapters discuss bioethical, professional, and legal issues.
Cosmetic Surgery by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RD119 .C6813 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-03-05
Introducing Issues with Opposing Viewpoints: Cosmetic Surgery examines the safety of cosmetic surgery, including breast implants, having cosmetic surgery performed abroad, and the training of plastic surgeons. It explores whether cosmetic surgery is bene;Inspired by the acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series, this series helps readers gain an awareness of current issues and develop critical thinking skills by presenting a wealth of information on contemporary issues in a colorful, easy-to-read format.; In addition to pro/con articles, each Introducing Issues with Opposing Viewpoints volume includes appealing features designed to help students understand the complexities of current issues: Full-color photographs, charts, graphs, and cartoons supplement the text.
Plastic Surgery by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation -- RD118 .T46 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-13
This book provides a complete history of plastic surgery, a description of the modern techniques and choices available, and an overview of the controversies surrounding the choice to voluntarily change your physical appearance. * Presents essays by Thomas Mutter--namesake of the Mutter Museum in Philadelphia--on his techniques for burn victims * Provides illustrations depicting examples of plastic surgery ranging from the Renaissance to the 21st century * Includes a useful bibliography of primary sources * Contains a glossary explaining medical and body orientation terms
Skintight: an anatomy of cosmetic surgery by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation -- RD520 .J58 2008
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Cosmetic surgery is everywhere: we are surrounded by altered, enhanced, skinny and stretched celebrities, in a hyped media culture that focuses increasingly on the body beautiful. Once only associated with the rich and famous, cosmetic surgery is now widely available, advertised in magazines, doctors' surgeries, and even on television. In some parts of the world it has become an aesthetic and cultural norm, yet remains deeply troubling for many. Skintight argues that cosmetic surgery is the most provocative and controversial aspect of a new 'makeover culture'. Shows such as Ten Years Younger and Extreme Makeover demonstrate that 'fixing' the body is a way to improve lifestyle and uncover true identity. Meanwhile, celebrities such as Michael Jackson and Jocelyn Wildenstein demonstrate the horrors of extreme surgical alteration. Presenting a multidisciplinary approach, and examining a wide range of popular culture case studies from women's magazines, television, architecture and the Internet amongst others, Skintight dissects the realities of cosmetic surgery and culture.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.