A library guide to assist with research related to positive emotions.
You can find peer-reviewed articles by searching the library databases. Make sure to check the box that says Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals.
This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Positive Emotions by
This authoritative handbook reviews the breadth of current knowledge about positive emotions: their nature, functions, and consequences for individuals and society. Specific emotions are analyzed in depth, including happiness, pride, romantic love, compassion, gratitude, awe, challenge, and hope. Major theoretical perspectives are presented and cutting-edge research methods explained. The volume addresses neurobiological and physiological aspects of positive emotions as well as their social and intrapersonal contexts. Implications for physical health, coping, and psychopathology are explored, as are connections to organizational functioning and consumer behavior.
Learned Hopefulness: The Power of Positivity to Overcome Depression by
"The perfect recipe for fulfillment, joy, peace, and expansion of awareness." --Deepak Chopra, MD, author of Metahuman Cultivate hope with strengths-based practices grounded in positive psychology. If you suffer from depression, sub-clinical depression, or low mood, you may have days where you feel like you've lost hope--hope that you'll ever feel better, that the world will be a better place, or that you'll someday find the happiness that always seems to elude you. You aren't alone. Many people struggle with feelings of sadness and hopelessness--especially in our difficult, modern world. The good news is that you can change. Learned Hopefulness offers powerful exercises grounded in evidence-based positive psychology to help you identify your strengths; ditch the self-limiting beliefs that diminish your capacity for positivity; and increase feelings of motivation, resiliency, and wellness. You'll also learn to untangle yourself from rumination over past negative events, while shifting your perspective to the present moment and anticipating your future through a more positive lens. With this unique, compassionate, and life-affirming guide, you'll find the tools you need to break free from hopelessness and start living a life of happiness and vitality.
Mindfulness, Acceptance and Positive Psychology: The Seven Foundations of Well-Being by
Many have wondered if there is a key ingredient to living a full and happy life. For decades now, scientists and psychologists alike have been studying the strengths and virtues that enable individuals and communities to thrive. The positive psychology movement was founded on the belief that people want to lead meaningful and fulfilling lives, to cultivate what is best within themselves, and to enhance their experiences of love, work, and play. At the same time, acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT)--a mindfulness-based, values-oriented behavioral therapy that has many parallels to Buddhism, yet is not religious in any way--has been focused on helping people achieve their greatest human potential. Created only years apart, ACT and positive psychology both promote human flourishing, and they often share overlapping themes and applications, particularly when it comes to setting goals, psychological strengths, mindfulness, and the clarification of what matters most--our values and our search for meaning in life. Despite these similarities, however, the two different therapeutic models are rarely discussed in relation to one another. What if unifying these theories could lead to faster, more profound and enduring improvements to the human condition? Edited by leading researchers in the field of positive psychology, Mindfulness, Acceptance, and Positive Psychology is the first professional book to successfully integrate key elements of ACT and positive psychology to promote healthy functioning in clients. By gaining an understanding of "the seven foundations of well-being," professionals will walk away with concrete, modernized strategies to use when working with clients. Throughout the book, the editors focus on how ACT, mindfulness therapies, and positive psychology can best be utilized by professionals in various settings, from prisons and Fortune 500 business organizations to parents and schools. With contributions by Steven C. Hayes, the founder of ACT, as well as other well-known authorities on ACT and positive psychology such as Robyn Walser, Kristin Neff, Dennis Tirch, Ian Stewart, Louise McHugh, Lance M. McCracken, Acacia Parks, Robert Biswas-Diener, and more, this book provides state-of-the-art research, theory, and applications of relevance to mental health professionals, scientists, advanced students, and people in the general public interested in either ACT or positive psychology.
The Positive Habit : Six steps for transforming negative thoughts into positive emotions by
Love, calmness, confidence, gratitude, hope and happiness: the six emotions that tip the balance of our mindset in favour of a positive outlook rather than a negative one. Wouldn’t it be great to feel more of these positive emotions? Now you can with Fiona Brennan’s ultimate manual for the mind. With a chapter on each emotion, and practical steps on how to cultivate them, the plan utilises mindfulness, habit loops, positive psychology and neuroscience to help soothe anxiety and stress. It will show you how to train your brain to embrace negative thoughts with courage and love before transforming them into positive ones. Accompanied by audio-hypnotherapy meditations that take just a few minutes a day, split between morning and evening, it will transform your mental health as you doze off peacefully to the sleep-time audio and start the day happy with the seven-minute morning ritual. Take control of your emotional health and build your ladder to happiness so that you flourish as you develop The Positive Habit.
Positive Psychology on the College Campus by
The field of positive psychology has blossomed over the past several years. A positive psychology course has become the most popular elective at Harvard, and leaders in many fields regularly draw upon concepts and strategies from the field's growing body of research. Because positivepsychology provides a framework for enhancing individual, group, and institutional well-being, it is particularly relevant for college campuses, which are ripe for such strength-based interventions.Positive Psychology on the College Campus provides innovative strategies that can be employed with students to enhance both their personal development and educational experiences. The book also provides an overview of the state of college students' mental health and relevant developmental issues.Individual chapters, all written by experts in their fields, describe practical strategies for readers to use with students. Additionally, the authors explain how positive psychology can be applied in general to the college experience. With its wide-ranging topics and distinguished contributors,Positive Psychology on the College Campus is a must-have resource for all those who work with college students, including faculty, academic advisors, administrators, residence-life staff, counselors, and student-activities staff.
Virtues and Vices in Positive Psychology: A Philosophical Critique by
Positive psychology is one of the biggest growth industries in the discipline of psychology. At the present time, the subfield of 'positive education' seems poised to take the world of education and teacher training by storm. In this first book-length philosophical study of positive psychology, Professor Kristján Kristjánsson subjects positive psychology's recent inroads into virtue theory and virtue education to sustained conceptual and moral scrutiny. Professor Kristjánsson's interdisciplinary perspective constructively integrates insights, evidence and considerations from social science and philosophy in a way that is easily accessible to the general reader. He offers an extended critique of positive psychology generally and 'positive education' in particular, exploring the philosophical assumptions, underpinnings and implications of these academic trends in detail. This provocative book will excite anyone interested in cutting-edge research on positive psychology and on the virtues that lie at the intersection of psychology, philosophy of mind, moral philosophy, education, and daily life.
The Wiley Handbook of Positive Clinical Psychology by
Edited by the founder of the field, this is the first handbook on positive clinical psychology--a revolutionary approach that places equal importance on both the positive and negative aspects of mental health and well-being. The first handbook on positive clinical psychology, a revolutionary approach that places equal importance on the positive and negative aspects of mental health and well-being Brings together new work from authorities in positive psychology and clinical psychology to offer an integrated examination of well-being as it relates to personality, psychopathology, psychological treatments, and more Discusses theory, research, and practice across a broad range of topics such as optimism, positive affect, well-being therapy, childhood well-being, evolutionary perspectives, and clinical implementation Contains essential information for researchers, instructors and practitioners in clinical psychology, positive psychology, mental health, and well-being in general
Positive Psychology for Healthcare Professionals by
There has been an abundance of research carried out relating to the use of positive psychology, but a focus on staff working in care settings has been lacking. Positive Psychology for Healthcare Professionals presents applied positive psychology specifically for health and care staff, showcasing eleven different interventions that have proven to be effective in improving wellbeing. Positive Psychology Interventions are validated techniques, developed to include wellbeing enhancing activities, building effective user-friendly, cost-effective self-help strategies. This toolkit for improving wellbeing provides a more holistic roadmap to increase self-awareness of staff abilities, potential talents, and positive characteristics, through a strengths-based approach.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.
If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.
You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
Choose Joy: Relieve Burnout, Focus On Your Happiness, and Infuse More by 
Do Good, Feel Better: Discover Your Social Impact Personality Type to Thrive in Your Life, Work, and Community by 
Exploring Positive Psychology: The Science of Happiness and Well-Being by
Looking for an introduction to positive psychology that offers real-life examples? This overview of the science of happiness supplies case studies from some of the world's most successful organizations and describes ways to experience the personal impact of this exciting scientific field. Rather than focusing on treating what is "wrong" with a person, positive psychology seeks to understand and foster the things that drive happiness, creativity, and emotional fulfillment. This is a relatively new area of psychological study, and this reference book presents the research and practice of positive psychology in an informative and accessible format. Readers are given a history of the field, its current applications, and the future implications of this psychological discipline. Case studies from companies such as The Body Shop, Volvo, Zappos, and Google highlight the impact of positive psychology when it's applied in a modern business setting. These case studies, along with biographies of leaders in the field, highlight each chapter and connect the dots between the empirical theory of positive psychology and its practice. Readers also receive tools to apply the practices to their own lives. Grounded in academics but accessible to a wide range of readers Challenges the reader to engage in the material and examine the application of positive psychology across multiple domains Provides an extensive bibliography with references to books, journal articles, popular press articles, and websites Includes examples of how media and technology can promote happiness and well-being Provides practical and applied knowledge in the field that can be used in one's daily life
One Simple Idea: How Positive Thinking Reshaped Modern Life by 
Positive Psychology 101 by
Does happiness matter? What are happy people like? Can people enhance their sense of well-being? One of the most important movements in psychology during the past two decades, positive psychology is a discipline that seeks to understand the factors that contribute the most to a well lived and fulfilling life. Written by a highly respected scholar and educator of positive psychology, this is a concise, accessible introduction to this popular field of study. Appropriate for anyone seeking an introduction to positive psychology and an ideal brief text for relevant college courses, this book surveys the origins and current state of what is known about this evolving field. It places a particular emphasis on well-being as the leading edge of positive psychology research and practice. The text encompasses the key theories and current research supporting positive psychology, and discusses its three "pillars": subjective well-being and positive emotions, psychological traits, and positive institutions. It introduces the foundational concepts underlying positive psychology and describes the specific strengths and virtues upon which it focuses. Woven throughout is the premise that gratitude matters to one's happiness. The heart of the book explores such major questions as: What is happiness? How do one's circumstances impact happiness? What are the traits of well-being? Are relationships important to happiness? With a nod to the expanding parameters of human interactions today, the text examines the impact of electronic relationships on well-being. It also discusses and responds to the most significant criticisms of the positive psychology movement and helps readers to understand how the science of positive psychology can enhance their own well-being. Insights into the past and future of positive psychology conclude this thoughtful text. Key Features: Addresses the origins and major tenets of positive psychology Provides a concise and accessible introduction ideal for college courses and seminars Emphasizes well-being as the leading edge of positive psychology research and practice Helps readers understand how positive psychology can help them enhance their own well-being Written by a noted scholar and educator of positive psychology
Positive Psychology: The Science of Well-Being by
Positive Psychology brings together a range of research and a comprehensive review of the more recent work and lessons learned since the founder's original vision of this field. Organised into five sections: An Introduction, Positive Experiences, Personality Processes, External Influences, and Applications, this text provides a thorough introduction to an interesting and challenging area in Psychology. With a final look at the future of Positive Psychology, and its potential to inform social change and how useful this knowledge can be when considering the well-being of entire societies, this text is an enlightening read and invaluable resources for students. Strongly guided by empirical work this text encourages the reader to think critically and go beyond the facts. Key features: Provides a framework for teaching and understanding global trends in Positive Psychology. Inclusion and a review of up-to-date research. Using storytelling and happiness's intrinsic appeal to foster interest in the methods we use to answer important questions in Positive Psychology. Online resources including student self-tests, and links to additional web content.