United States Department Of The Treasury, Funder/Sponsor. Remember! The flag of liberty - support it! Buy U.S. government bonds 3rd. Liberty Loan. [New York: Heywood Strasser & Voigt Litho. Co] Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/2002722573/.
Beneker, Gerrit A. , Artist, Funder/Sponsor United States Department Of Labor, and Printer A. Hoen & Co. The past is behind us, the future is ahead. Let us all strive to make the future better and brighter than the past ever was / Gerrit A. Beneker. U.S. Department of Labor, Baltimore: A. Hoen & Co., lith. Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/91480056/.
American National Red Cross. Our Boys Need Sox, Knit Your Bit. [New York: American Lithographic Co., ?] Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/89710295/.
Flagg, James Montgomery, Artist. Wake up America! Civilization calls every man, woman and child! / James Montgomery Flagg. N.Y.: The Hegeman Print. Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/91726511/.
Baker, Ernest Hamlin, Artist. For every fighter a woman worker Y.W.C.A.: Back our second line of defense / / Ernest Hamlin Baker. [N.Y.: The United States Printing & Lith. Co] Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/98507935/.
Help him win by saving and serving--Buy War Savings Stamps. Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/2002707405/.
Cooper, Frederic G., Artist. Food--don't waste it / fgc ; The W. F. Powers Co. Litho., N.Y. Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/2002708936/.
Falls, C. B. , Artist, and Funder/Sponsor American Library Association. The camp library is yours - Read to win the war / F. Photograph. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/2002709066/.
What is a primary source in the humanities?
Examples of primary source material:
These examples are provided by the Digital Collection of the Library of Congress and are available for anyone to explore.
Library of Congress Collection: California as I Saw It: First-Person Narratives of California's Early Years, 1849 to 1900
First-person narrative accounts by new Anglo-American settlers to California between the time of the Gold Rush to the start of the twentieth century.
Library of Congress Collection: Women's Suffrage in Sheet Music
The sheet music in this collection, ranging between years 1838 to 1923, documents songs of the women's suffrage movement.
Library of Congress Collection: Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories
Recorded between 1932 and 1975, these recordings are interviews with former African American slaves.
Library of Congress Collection: World War History: Newspaper Clippings, 1914 to 1926
This collection contains clippings from American and foreign newspapers from June 28, 2014, when Austrian Archduke Franz Ferdinand was assassinated, up to and past November 11, 2018, armistice and the end of World War I.
Library of Congress Collection: World War I Sheet Music
This collection of sheet music, spanning from 1914 to 1920, depicts America's involvement in World War I, in both commercially published and layman's unpublished sheet music.
Library of Congress Collection: After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor
Following the attack on Pearl Harbor, ordinary Americans were interviewed to get their thoughts on the bombing and the U.S now being at war.
Library of Congress Collection: Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar
Photographer Ansel Adams documents the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California. During World War II Japanese-Americans were interned at this camp
Library of Congress: Veterans History Project Collection
A collection of interviews from U.S. veterans, ranging from veterans of World War I up to more current missions. Other material in this collection includes memoirs, original photographs, diary entries, and letters.