Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
War Trauma and Its Wake: Expanding the Circle of Healing by
Publication Date: 2012-08-30
Decades after Charles Figley's landmark Trauma and Its Wake was published, our understanding of trauma has grown and deepened, but we still face considerable challenges when treating trauma survivors. This is especially the case for professionals who work with veterans and active-duty military personnel. War Trauma and Its Wake, then, is a vital book. The editors--one a Vietnam veteran who wrote the overview chapter on treatment for Trauma and Its Wake,the other an Army Reserve psychologist with four deployments--have produced a book that addresses both the specific needs of particular warrior communities as well as wider issues such as battle mind, guilt, suicide, and much, much more. The editors' and contributors' deep understanding of the issues that warriors face makes War Trauma and Its Wake a crucial book for understanding the military experience, and the lessons contained in its pages are essential for anyone committed to healing war trauma.
When the War Never Ends: The Voices of Military Members with PTSD and Their Families by
Publication Date: 2011-10-16
The chances of service members developing PTSD after military-related traumas is, according to a U.S. study, at least 30 percent. The effects of PTSD can be devastating, ranging, for example, from distressing flashbacks, nightmares, sleep disorders, physical symptoms, irritability, aggressions, memory and concentration problems. These symptoms often cause severe impairment in all areas of life and may lead to despair and hopelessness. PTSD is neither a localized nor a temporary problem. Here, Leah Wizelman relates the true stories of service members from different service branches and ranks from the United States, Canada, Australia, and Germany, who were participants in various wars (Vietnam, Gulf war, Iraq, Afghanistan, Grenada) and peace missions (Kosovo, Bosnia, Croatia, Cambodia, Somalia, Cyprus, Haiti).
Military Stress Reactions by
Publication Date: 2020-05-07
Many people--including some mental health professionals and service members themselves--have the misconception that military deployment is highly likely to cause posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). This book gives practitioners a more nuanced understanding of military stress reactions and related mental health concerns, from transient adjustment problems to clinical disorders. Drawing on expert knowledge of military environments and culture, Carrie H. Kennedy provides vital guidance for evidence-based assessment, intervention, and prevention. Kennedy emphasizes that overdependence on the diagnosis of PTSD can lead to suboptimal care, and shows how to tailor treatment to each service member's or veteran's needs. A crucial addition to any practitioner's library, the book is illustrated with numerous case vignettes.
Beyond PTSD by
Publication Date: 2018-10-17
Impulsivity, poor judgment, moodiness, risky behavior. "You don't understand." "I don't care." "Whatever, bro." Engaging and working with teenagers is tough. Typically, we attribute this to the storms of adolescence. But what if some of the particularly problematic behaviors we see in teens - self-destructive behaviors, academic issues, substance abuse, reluctance to engage in therapy or treatment - point to unspoken trauma? Teens nationwide struggle with traumatic stress related to poverty, abuse, neglect, bullying, traumatic loss, and interpersonal or community violence. But youth are also generally reluctant to disclose or discuss experiences of traumatic stress, and adults working with these youth may not immediately perceive the connection between prior trauma and the teen's current risky or concerning behavior. Beyond PTSD: Helping and Healing Teens Exposed to Trauma helps adults recognize and understand traumatized youth, and provides concrete strategies for talking to and engaging the teen, overcoming resistance, and finding the most appropriate evidence-based treatment approach for them. Nearly twenty contributors pull from their extensive and varied experience working in schools and hospitals to child welfare programs, juvenile justice facilities, pediatric offices, and with families to provide concrete tips to manage the challenges and opportunities of working with trauma-exposed adolescents. Chapters present trauma-informed approaches to youth with aggression, suicide and self-injury, psychosis, and school refusal; youth with physical or developmental disabilities or medical comorbidities, those in juvenile justice or child welfare; teen parents; and LGBTQ youth, among others. Throughout the text, tables compare different types of trauma therapies and provide information about how treatments might be adapted to fit a specific teen or setting. Readers will also find "real life" case vignettes and concrete, specific clinical pearls--even examples of language to use--to demonstrate how to work effectively with difficult-to-engage teens with complex symptoms and behaviors. Written to be practical and accessible for clinicians, social workers, pediatricians, school counselors, and even parents, with the information, context, and strategies they need to help the teen in front of them.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Anxiety, Trauma, and OCD-Related Disorders by
Publication Date: 2020-04-02
Designed for clinicians at every level, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Anxiety, Trauma, and OCD-Related Disorders addresses the origin, assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of these disorders in a comprehensive, up-to-date, and compelling manner. Fresh voices are everywhere in this authoritative revision of the classic text, as more than 60% of the contributors are new. They join stalwarts from the previous edition--experts who bring stellar credentials and a discerning eye to the task of revising the text to reflect cutting-edge scholarship and evidence-based clinical knowledge. Following a comprehensive overview of core principles, the book provides detailed coverage of specific DSM-5 diagnoses: generalized anxiety disorder, obsessive-compulsive and related disorders, panic disorder and agoraphobia, social anxiety disorder, specific phobia, and trauma- and stressor-related disorders. Each section presents the latest thinking on phenomenology and pathogenesis, then provides evidence-based clinical recommendations for pharmacotherapy and psychotherapy. New and noteworthy material includes the following: * Two new chapters focus on the features, phenomenology, and course of acute and integrated grief, as well as the epidemiology, clinical features, evaluation, and pathophysiology of complicated grief (CG), which affects a significant minority. Proper treatment of CG is critical, because once it persists beyond 6 months, impairment may last for years, if not a lifetime. Accordingly, a separate chapter is devoted to treatment options, including a hybrid of cognitive-behavioral, interpersonal, motivational interviewing, and psychodynamic methods.* The Unified Protocol (UP) for Transdiagnostic Treatment of Emotional Disorders is examined in a fascinating new chapter. The UP is a promising treatment with empirical support for reduction of both symptoms and higher-order temperamental changes, such as changes in neuroticism, an underlying mechanism associated with onset and maintenance of emotional disorders.* The chapter on anxiety disorders in late life is completely new and emphasizes the prevalence of anxiety in this population and its likelihood of remaining undetected and untreated. The epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of these disorders are examined in detail so that the reader will recognize the clinical features, be able to differentiate them from depression, and can identify appropriate treatment, whether pharmacological or psychotherapeutic.* Each chapter features a concise list of key clinical points to help the reader focus on the most important material for study, as well as a list of recommended reading for those who wish to learn more. Grounded in the latest research, clinically rich, and pedagogically strong, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Anxiety, Trauma, and OCD-Related Disorders is the go-to text for mental health clinicians looking for evidence-based knowledge and support.
The Body Keeps the Score: brain, mind, and body in the healing of trauma by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC552.P67 V355 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-09-25
An expert on traumatic stress outlines an approach to healing, explaining how traumatic stress affects brain processes and how to use innovative treatments to reactivate the mind's abilities to trust, engage others, and experience pleasure.
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC552.P67 K75 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
Three distinguished experts share cutting-edge insights on Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), showing why it occurs, how it affects the development and existence of those it impacts, and how it can be treated. * A chronology of the history and origination of PTSD related to war and combat exposure * Case studies and examples that provide a view of PTSD from the inside out, rather than the outside in
Handbook of PTSD : science and practice, Second Edition by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC552.P67 H353 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-06-18
Widely regarded as the definitive reference, this handbook brings together foremost authorities on posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Diagnostic and conceptual issues are reviewed in depth. The volume examines the causes and mechanisms of PTSD on multiple levels, from psychological processes to genes and neurobiology. Risk and resilience processes are addressed across development and in specific populations. Contributors describe evidence-based assessment and treatment approaches as well as promising emerging interventions. The integrative concluding chapter identifies key unanswered questions with important implications for science and practice. New to This Edition *Reflects major research advances and the new diagnostic criteria in DSM-5. *Chapters on the dissociative subtype of PTSD, child assessment, couple and family therapies, and group treatments. *Chapters on research methods, Internet-based interventions, telemental health, and implementation of best practices. *Many new authors and extensively revised chapters.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.