Skip to main content

Finding Quotations: Home

Welcome to the quotations libguide. Here you will find print and online sources for quotes you can use in your writing.

If you need assistance, please use the Ask a Librarian chat box below. 

Books/eBooks

Online Resources

To log into the library databases, use your student ID number as the Borrower ID.  Password will be the last 4 digits of student ID number. 

Oxford Essential Quotations (library database)

  • Over 12,600 quotations. This collection is the ideal place to answer all your quotation questions. You can discover which of over 3,000 authors said that tantalising phrase, or you can search over 600 subjects to find an apt quotation for any occasion.

Writer's Reference Center (library database)

  • Click on 'Reference Shelf' and look for 'Proverbs'

Bartleby.com Quotations page

  • The 120,000 most authoritative quotations on the web, with 50,000 other short selections.

Oxford English Dictionary (library database)

  • Not only useful for pronunciation, etymology, and historical meanings, but also a rich source of quotations and first-known usages.

Quote Investigator

  • Who really said that? Find out if your quote is properly attributed. 

Google Books

  • Searches full text of scanned books, generally too old to be protected by copyright, or provides citation to locate in the library.

Quotes

“The man who views the world at 50 the same as he did at 20 has wasted 30 years of his life.” --- Muhammad Ali

"Studying, and striving for truth and beauty in general, is a sphere in which we are allowed to be children throughout life." ---Albert Einstein

"If a free society cannot help the many who are poor, it cannot save the few who are rich." --- John F. Kennedy

"You can't separate peace from freedom because no one can be at peace unless he has his freedom."--- Malcolm X

Ask-a-Librarian

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.