Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for research topics on renewable energy. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Advances in Renewable Energies and Power Quality by
Publication Date: 2020
Catalog description: "This volume brings together contributions dealing with renewable energies and power quality, presented over five years of the International Conference on Renewable Energy and Power Quality (ICREPQ). It contains a selection of the best papers and original contributions presenting state-of-the-art research in the field of renewable energy sources. Including some of the leading authorities in their areas of expertise, the contributors to the volume are drawn from across the globe, with about 300 authors from 60 different countries."
Harnessing the Sun: A Conversation with Jenny Nelson by
Publication Date: 2021
Catalog description: "This book is based on an in-depth conversation with Jenny Nelson, Professor of Physics and Head of the Climate Change Mitigation Team at the Grantham Institute at Imperial College London. After inspiring insights about Jenny Nelson's academic journey, the conversation examines different solar energy processes, solar energy conversion technology, novel varieties of material for use in solar cells, and the materials used to build and improve photovoltaic, and other renewable technologies, which convert energy from the sun into electricity. This carefully-edited book includes a detailed introduction, questions for discussion at the end of each chapter and connections with other books in the Ideas Roadshow Conversations series."
Megatrends for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy by
Publication Date: 2010-09-03
The use of energy is being shaped by environmental issues including the fear of global warming. This has resulted in the development of renewable energy sources and more efficient building technology. Examining trends in energy efficiency, this book explores energy technologies and fuels, their prospects in a world with greenhouse gas restrictions. It looks at the technical and economic tradeoffs of traditional renewables such as wind and solar, as well as large scale PV and concentrated thermal power. It also considers biomass technologies. For each of these technologies, it discusses planning, siting, installation, operation and maintenance, health and safety, power conditioning, and efficiency innovations.
Renewable Energy by
Publication Date: 2020
Catalog description: "The demand for secure, affordable and clean energy is a priority call to humanity. Challenges associated with conventional energy resources, such as depletion of fossil fuels, high costs and associated greenhouse gas emissions, have stimulated interests in renewable energy resources. For instance, there have been clear gaps and rushed thoughts about replacing fossil-fuel driven engines with electric vehicles without long-term plans for energy security and recycling approaches. This book aims to provide a clear vision to scientists, industrialists and policy makers on renewable energy resources, predicted challenges and emerging applications. It can be used to help produce new technologies for sustainable, connected and harvested energy. A clear response to economic growth and clean environment demands is also illustrated."
Unsustainable: The History and Politics of Green Energy by
Publication Date: 2021-08-21
This book examines the history, politics, and economics of alternative energy. Since the energy crisis of the 1970s, governments around the world have subsidized and otherwise incentivized alternative forms of energy to reduce dependence on fossil fuels. This search has taken on added urgency in the twenty-first century, as the specter of climate change has engendered ambitious state-level renewable portfolio standards, enhanced federal incentives, and inspired "100% renewable" electrical generation targets in such states as Vermont and Hawaii. To save the planet from destruction, wind, solar, and other renewable energy alternatives must replace fossil fuels. But how did we get here and what is the cost? After an in-depth study of the Carter administration's synthetic fuels program, the focus shifts to the two most prominent, perhaps most promising, and certainly most promoted--and government subsidized--"green" and "renewable" energies today: wind and solar. Because wind has made the most headway and drawn the most controversy, it receives the most attention. Although the primary focus is on the American experience with renewable energy, the policies and politics of renewables in Scotland, Wales, Denmark, Spain, and other European nations are also discussed. Issues considered in the book include the nature and efficacy of renewable subsidies; the employment of federal and state tax codes to encourage renewables; the lobbies and interest groups that campaign for government support of renewables; and the fierce battles over the siting of renewable facilities. Unlike other works on this subject, the book probes in depth the nature of the opposition to wind and solar, both in the matter of siting and in their worthiness as recipients of substantial government assistance.
Alternative Energy: Political, Economic, and Social Feasibility by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation; HD9502.U52 S56 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-22
The second edition of Alternative Energy: Political, Economic, and Social Feasibility builds on first edition material, but with significant updates on dramatic changes within the renewable energy sector over the last decade. The book discusses the basic technical aspects of major renewable energy systems and technological developments; the impact of politics on energy policy using contemporary theories of public policy (such as, Advocacy Coalition Framework (ACF), Punctuated Equilibrium (PE), Narrative Policy Framework, and Policy Diffusion), as well as discussing the evolution of the social feasibility of renewable energy. Alternative energy solutions, such as nuclear power, are expanded to discuss nuclear power developments and feasibility in the post-Fukushima policy environment. International commitment to renewable energy is also addressed.
Fossil Fuel Industries and the Green Economy by
Call Number: Winter Haven and Lakeland Circulation; TP318.3 .F66 2022
Publication Date: 2021-07-30
As of 2018, 85 percent of global energy consumption was made up by fossil fuels, including petroleum, coal, and natural gas. However, the burning of fossil fuels is a major contributor of greenhouse gas emissions, which has drawn negative attention as the effects of climate change wreak havoc. Consequently, governments, citizens, scientists, and companies are now in search of more environmentally friendly sources of energy. The shift to the green economy is intended to reduce negative environmental impacts, but how this would affect consumers, communities, and the economy and whether it is economically and political feasible are up for debate, and for your readers to decide.
Good Energy: Renewable Power and the Design of Everyday Life by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; NA2542.3 .G724 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
"There's nothing 'alternative' anymore about clean energy and green design. As this book makes beautifully clear, the future is here"-- Bill McKibben, author of Falter: Has the Human Game Begun to Play Itself Out? Smart design can make solar, wind, and geothermal energy beautiful, affordable, and accessible to all. Thirty-five projects from around the world demonstrate that clean, healthy energy is within reach in every sector and field. Projects include homes at all scales and for all climates, schools, parks, and offices, and even power plants. Harmonizing nature, technology, and space, each project in Good Energy shows how design can improve planetary well-being while producing cost savings and creating green jobs. A visual and informative guide to renewable energy:Good Energy includes over 200 color photographs showing each project in stunning detail, accompanied by fascinating and informative essays. The book includes a foreword by artist and landscape designer Walter Hood, founder of Hood Design Studio, and an interview with Mark Z. Jacobson, Stanford University professor of civil and environmental engineering and a cofounder of the Solutions Project. Projects include: * Solar Strand, a solar power plant that is also a community mecca, in Buffalo, New York * Zero Carbon House, one of the world's most sustainable homes, in Birmingham, England * Avasara Academy, a school that inspires pride among its young women students, in Lavale, India Readers who are passionate about the environmental and economic health of their homes and communities will find fresh and practical ideas for an inclusive, equitable transition to renewable power in Good Energy.
Renewable Energy: Can it Deliver? by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation; TJ808 .E453 2020
Publication Date: 2020-08-24
The use of renewables is spreading rapidly. Over a quarter of global electricity is already generated from solar, wind, hydro and biomass energy. With costs falling significantly, renewables are booming, helping to avoid the major climate change risks associated with fossil fuel use in power stations, homes and vehicles. But can we get rid of all of these dirty energy sources - and nuclear power, as well - and deliver 100% of our energy from renewables? Or are renewable energy systems inherently unreliable and expensive, given the need to deal with their variability? In this timely analysis, leading energy expert David Elliott tackles these issues head on and asks to what extent renewables can deliver a technologically and economically viable energy future. Exploring both the progress and problems of renewables against a backdrop of rising energy demand, he argues that, on balance, they do seem to be living up to their promises. With renewables rapidly expanding across the globe, and China now leading the pack, a renewable future could really be on the horizon.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.