Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for sexual abuse research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Protecting Our Kids? How Sex Offender Laws Are Failing Us by
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
This thought-provoking work raises important questions about sex offender laws, drawing from personal stories, research, and data to prove the policies promote fear, destroy lives, and fail to protect children. * Provides research-based evidence that the mean-spirited and panic-driven sex offender laws, aimed at branding a group of offenders as inhuman and unworthy of civil liberties and human rights, increases fear, destroys the lives of offenders and their families, and fails to protect children * Shows that emphasizing sex offenders and stranger-danger as the primary threat to child well-being and safety prevents focus on and attention to policies that prevent far more pervasive forms of child abuse, such as physical abuse, neglect, and maltreatment * Analyzes the sociohistorical context surrounding the emergence of current draconian sex offender policies * Challenges the idea that sex offenders must be continually monitored and publicly identified * Tells the stories of convicted sex offenders and their families and how they survive in a society that views them as the "worst of the worst"
Treating Military Sexual Trauma by
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
The incidence of sexual assault and harassment experienced by members of the U.S. Armed forces has reached epidemic proportions. Its victims often suffer from devastating, life-long consequences to their careers, health, relationships, and psychological wellbeing. This authoritative resource is written for mental health clinicians about understanding and treating military sexual trauma (MST). Based on a solid foundation of research and clinical expertise, it addresses the complex circumstances of victims of sexual abuse in the military and how clinicians can meet the unique challenges of treating these clients. The book describes how MST differs from other forms of military trauma such as combat and discusses its prevalence, neurobiology, and social contexts as well as unique stressors of betrayal, injustice, struggles with issues of reporting and disclosure, and impact on relationships and sexuality. It reviews current evidence-based interventions and offers insights on treating specific symptoms within MST, such as PTSD, anxiety, substance abuse, sleep disorders, and sexual dysfunction.
Sex Offenders by
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
An authoritative and in-depth treatment of the latest research into the criminal careers of sex offenders, providing background and investigating the policies used to combat one of society's most intractable public issues. Features chapters based on original research from the most prominent scholars in the field of sex offender and criminal career research Deals with the entire criminal careers of sex offenders from youth to adulthood Illustrates the significance of the criminal career approach for theory, treatment, research, and policy regarding sex offenders Covers a wider breadth of topics than existing texts and uses data from various studies and countries, including the U.S., Canada, the U.K., and the Netherlands Features an introductory chapter charting the origins of the criminal career perspective as well as the history of sex offender research, pinpointing the most important research questions and current debates in both fields
Rape Loot Pillage: the political economy of sexual violence in armed conflict by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (JZ6405.W66 M44 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Rape and other forms of sexual violence have always been a feature of war. Yet it is only fairly recently that researchers have identified rape as a deliberate tool of war-making rather than simply an inevitable side effect of armed conflict. Much of the emerging literature has suggested that the underlying causes of rape stem from a single motivation-whether individual, symbolic, or strategic-leading to disagreement in the field about how we can understand and respond to the causes and consequences of sexual violence in war. In Rape Loot Pillage, Sara Meger argues that sexual violence is a form of gender-based political violence (perpetrated against both men and women) and a manifestation of unequal gender relations that are exacerbated by the social, political, and economic conditions of war. She looks at trends in the form and function of sexual violence in recent and ongoing conflicts to contend that, in different contexts, sexual violence takes different forms and is used in pursuit of different objectives. Sexual violence is a reflection of global political economic struggles, and can't be addressed only at the local level-it must be addressed through regional and international policy.
Unsportsmanlike Conduct: college football and the politics of rape by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (LB2345.3.R37 L88 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Football teams create playbooks, in which they draw up the plays they will use on the field. Playbooks are how teams work and why they win. This book is about a different kind of playbook: the one coaches, teams, universities, police, communities, the media, and fans seem to follow whenever a college football player is accused of sexual assault. It''s a deep dive into how different institutions--the NCAA, athletic departments, universities, the media--run the same plays over and over again when these stories break. If everyone runs his play well, scrutiny dies down quickly, no institution ever has to change how it operates, and the evaporation of these cases into nothingness looks natural. In short, this playbook is why nothing ever changes. Unsportsmanlike Conduct unpacks this societal playbook piece by piece, and not only advocates that we destroy the old plays, but also suggests we replace them with ones that will force us to finally do something about this issue.
The Trauma Myth: the truth about the sexual abuse of children--and its aftermath by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation -- HV6570 .C66 2009
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
Few would argue that the experience of sexual abuse is deeply traumatic for a child. But in this explosive new book, psychologist Susan Clancy reports on years of research and contends that it is not the abuse itself that causes trauma-but rather the narrative that is later imposed on the abuse experience. Clancy demonstrates that the most common feeling victims report is not fear or panic, but 'confusion'. Because children don't understand sexual encounters in the same ways that adults do, they normally accommodate their perpetrators- something they feel intensely ashamed about as adults. The professional assumptions about the nature of childhood trauma can harm victims by reinforcing these feelings. Survivors are thus victimized not only by their abusers but also by the industry dedicated to helping them. Path-breaking and controversial, 'The Trauma Myth' empowers survivors to tell their own stories, and radically reshapes our understanding of abuse and its aftermath.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.