Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for sexual harassment research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Career Defense 101: How to Stop Sexual Harassment Without Quitting Your Job by
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Career Defense 101 offers women seven proven, actionable strategies that help end sexual harassment in their careers for good so that they can focus on work they love. Women are often told, "Things are really sexist, and all we can do is ignore it." Career Defense 101 does not accept that answer but compiles research and tools that have actually been proven to work in ending harassment and helping women advance in their careers. Women often work twice as hard as everyone else to get to the top of their field, yet sexual harassment can still make them feel trapped, afraid, and vulnerable. This may leave them wondering if they have a responsibility to other women in their field (or to other women in their family) to change a sexist environment. As a trial lawyer and coach, Meredith Holley uses what she has learned from her own experiences of overcoming harassment, stalking, and discrimination, as well as her legal experience, to help her clients. Even women who do not want to bring a legal claim for their harassment are able to use the strategies she teaches in Career Defense 101 to overcome sexual harassment and reach a new level in their careers.
Sexual Harassment by
Publication Date: 2020-03-19
Providing an indispensable resource for students investigating sexual harassment in the United States, Sexual Harassment: A Reference Handbook is a comprehensive summary of history, current events, possible solutions, and resources. Sexual Harassment: A Reference Handbook provides readers with a comprehensive overview of the topic and connected issues. In addition to discussing the background and history of sexual harassment, it analyzes related problems and controversies and gives possible solutions. It also provides additional perspectives on sexual harassment by contributors and sketches of people and organizations, as well as documents, resources, and a timeline. This volume covers workplace harassment; street harassment; harassment in schools, the military, and prisons; and cyber harassment. The format gives readers a well-balanced perspective on this timely topic with multiple viewpoints showcased in essays by contributors who have experienced sexual harassment, adding depth and relevance. The volume discusses the history of sexual harassment and brings the topic to the present day, and additionally covers recent events and people who have been in the news while putting them in context. Readers can see how laws and awareness of sexual harassment have changed. Additional resources are provided to guide those who wish to further investigate the topic. Provides readers with an understanding of what sexual harassment is, enabling a deeper understanding of the issue and how prevalent it is within American society, workplaces, and institutions. Suggests possible solutions to reduce sexual harassment, including educating people and giving women more opportunities in leadership positions, which can benefit the U.S. society and economy. Provides additional perspectives in personal essays on how sexual harassment affects people and how people handle their experiences, giving an additional relevance to the topic. Provides resources so readers can find additional information on the topic or seek help for themselves or others.
The Drama-Free Workplace by
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Eliminate sexual harassment, unconscious bias, ethical lapses and other HR nightmares! Companies spend millions on legal compliance training and initiatives to eliminate workplace drama and the resulting low morale and lawsuits, but don't always get the results they want. Most organizations understand that simply checking legal compliance boxes around sexual harassment, bias, etc. isn't enough, but are at a loss on how to implement solutions, especially in today's post-#MeToo world. Patti Perez is an attorney, HR expert, trainer, and former state regulator, who has conducted over 1,200 workplace investigations. In this unique book, she explains the secret to avoiding all forms of drama, legal exposure, and low morale: A healthy workplace culture. Patti combines the lessons learned from 25 years of professional experience with robust data from behavioral science research to debunk common myths, including the belief that a focus on legal compliance leads to a healthy workplace culture. (In fact, it increases the likelihood of getting sued). The Drama-Free Workplace includes a section with easy-to-understand causes, effects and solutions to problems related to: Sexual harassment Bias and diversity Ethics lapses The book also includes helpful information on: Becoming an organization that values and practices fearlessness, fairness and freedom Anticipating situations that give rise to drama, with detailed advice on how to prevent it from happening Using emotional intelligence to communicate more precisely and persuasively about sensitive, controversial topics in the workplace Finally, the book's DIY section guides companies on how to: draft and enforce helpful policies (that employees will actually read and *want* to follow) design and deliver powerful and effective training programs investigate and resolve claims of sexual harassment and other types of misconduct. Together, these practical tools will help all your employees feel valued and motivated, and keep drama, disengagement, and lawsuits, away.
Sexual Harassment by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HQ1237.5.U6 S475 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
This title explores issues related to sexual harassment, including: sexual harassment and staring; sexual harassment and power; the problem in shools; online sexual harassment; street harassment and legal regulation; confronting sexual harasssers; sexual; Students must often make informed decisions about serious issues that will affect the course of their lives. Focusing on topics of special concern to students, the Issues That Concern You series helps make these complex issues less intimidating.
#Metoo : women speak out against sexual assault by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Young Adult -- YA HV6250.4.W65 M486 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
#MeToo was born in the wake of a ... New York Times investigative report on producer Harvey Weinstein's habitual sexual harassment of young women. The hashtag empowered women around the world to share their stories of sexual assault and abuse. Corporations responded by firing dozens of accused CEOs, media moguls, and movie stars, and politicians responded by sponsoring legislation against sexual harassment. This collection of articles tracks the movement from its start, [looking] at the international response and inevitable criticism, as well as the future of the movement
The #MeToo Movement by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation (HV6556 .M48 2020)
Publication Date: 2019-12-15
#MeToo gained much-needed traction when celebrities began sharing their horrifying experiences in an effort to bring down a powerful studio mogul. Revelations of sexual harassment are often met with smearing and victim blaming, but many believe the Hollywood spotlight has a real chance of effecting change. Still, many feel threatened by this movement. Has #MeToo gone too far? Is its mission clear? Has it failed to include more marginalized groups? Will it be abandoned when Hollywood moves on to its next cause? This volume presents diverse viewpoints that unpack the goals, triumphs, and shortcomings of this relatively young movement.
She Said by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation (HD6060.3 .K36 2019)
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
The instant New York Times bestseller. "An instant classic of investigative journalism...'All the President's Men' for the Me Too era." -- Carlos Lozada, The Washington Post From the Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters who broke the news of Harvey Weinstein's sexual harassment and abuse for the New York Times, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, the thrilling untold story of their investigation and its consequences for the #MeToo movement For many years, reporters had tried to get to the truth about Harvey Weinstein's treatment of women. Rumors of wrongdoing had long circulated. But in 2017, when Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey began their investigation into the prominent Hollywood producer for the New York Times, his name was still synonymous with power. During months of confidential interviews with top actresses, former Weinstein employees, and other sources, many disturbing and long-buried allegations were unearthed, and a web of onerous secret payouts and nondisclosure agreements was revealed. These shadowy settlements had long been used to hide sexual harassment and abuse, but with a breakthrough reporting technique Kantor and Twohey helped to expose it. But Weinstein had evaded scrutiny in the past, and he was not going down without a fight; he employed a team of high-profile lawyers, private investigators, and other allies to thwart the investigation. When Kantor and Twohey were finally able to convince some sources to go on the record, a dramatic final showdown between Weinstein and the New York Times was set in motion. Nothing could have prepared Kantor and Twohey for what followed the publication of their initial Weinstein story on October 5, 2017. Within days, a veritable Pandora's box of sexual harassment and abuse was opened. Women all over the world came forward with their own traumatic stories. Over the next twelve months, hundreds of men from every walk of life and industry were outed following allegations of wrongdoing. But did too much change--or not enough? Those questions hung in the air months later as Brett Kavanaugh was nominated to the Supreme Court, and Christine Blasey Ford came forward to testify that he had assaulted her decades earlier. Kantor and Twohey, who had unique access to Ford and her team, bring to light the odyssey that led her to come forward, the overwhelming forces that came to bear on her, and what happened after she shared her allegation with the world. In the tradition of great investigative journalism, She Said tells a thrilling story about the power of truth, with shocking new information from hidden sources. Kantor and Twohey describe not only the consequences of their reporting for the #MeToo movement, but the inspiring and affecting journeys of the women who spoke up--for the sake of other women, for future generations, and for themselves.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.