Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for sleep related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreams by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
A little known fact is that dreams change across a lifetime ... just one of the many curiosities concerning the state of sleep. Humankind has been fascinated with the mystery behind dreams since the beginning of time. Recent breakthroughs in sleep research and the study of dreams now reveal the scientific rationale for this previously unexplained phenomena.
Clinical Sleep Disorders by
Publication Date: 2011-12-16
This clinically focused, practical reference is a complete guide to diagnosing and treating sleep disorders. It is written by and for the wide variety of clinicians who encounter sleep disorders, including neurologists, pediatric neurologists, pulmonologists, pediatric pulmonologists, neuropsychologists, psychiatrists, and sleep laboratory technicians.
Sleep Disorders in Neurology by
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
This book delves into the uncovered world of sleep in patients affected by neurological disorders and further explores those night hours that may be precious restoring sources of healing or else confirm, or exacerbate, daytime neurological symptoms. Within the gamut of abnormal movements during sleep, disorders such as epilepsy or Parkinson's, dementia or Guillain Barr#65533; Syndrome (GBS) will contribute to a spectrum of described nocturnal behavioural patterns or seizures, which may represent important clues in the quest for understanding and treating these syndromes. Addressing night symptoms and sleep disturbance must be recognised as an important part of treatment since sleep alterations highly impact subjective feelings of well-being and quality of life in patients with chronic neurological disorders.
Sleep Soundly Every Night, Feel Fantastic Every Day: A Doctor's Guide to Solving Your Sleep Problems by
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
For those who have trouble falling asleep, awake exhausted, or are awakened throughout the night by a restless or snoring partner, help is here. Do you take a long time to get up and get going in the morning? Do you wake up feeling like you barely slept at all? Do you wake up in the early morning hours and find it difficult to go back to sleep? Do you have uncomfortable feeling in your extremities that keep you from falling or staying asleep? Do recurrent nightmares disturb your sleep? If you or someone you love has trouble sleeping, Dr. Robert S. Rosenberg will help you identify the problem and provide targeted solutions so you can start awakening refreshed and renewed immediately. Based on the most recent research and including real patient stories from Dr. Rosenberg's practice, his new book discusses the most common causes and symptoms of each disorder, answers the most frequently asked questions about each and provides the latest solutions to help you finally get a good night's sleep. A sleep specialist and researcher, Rosenberg also shares the latest research on the connections between sleep disorders and PTSD and ADHD. And his ten-point plan for getting your best sleep will help you improve the quality of your sleep and your health and mood right away. Dr. Rosenberg will help you: Prevent and manage sleep disorders, including insomnia, restless leg syndrome, snoring, sleepwalking, and sleep eating, among others; Improve your sleep habits; Find relief from your symptoms; Ask your doctor the right questions; Enhance the quality of sleep; Manage stress and anxiety; Find the right doctor to diagnose and treat your sleep disorder
Sleep: a very short introduction by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (QP425 .L63 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-03-24
Why do we need sleep? How much sleep is enough? What is sleep? What happens when we don't get enough? We spend about a third of our lives asleep - it plays a crucial role in our health and wellbeing. This Very Short Introduction addresses the biological and psychological aspects of sleep, providing a basic understanding of what sleep is and how it is measured, looking at sleep through the human lifespan and the causes and consequences of major sleep disorders. Russell G. Foster and Steven W.Lockley go on to consider the impact of modern society, examining the relationship between sleep and work hours, and the impact of our 24/7 society.
Dreamland : adventures in the strange science of sleep by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (QP425 .R29 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-08-13
In Dreamland, Randall explores the research that is investigating those dark hours that make up nearly a third of our lives. Taking readers from military battlefields to children’s bedrooms, Dreamland shows that sleep isn't as simple as it seems. Why did the results of one sleep study change the bookmakers’ odds for certain Monday Night Football games? Do women sleep differently than men? And if you happen to kill someone while you are sleepwalking, does that count as murder? This book is a tour of the often odd, sometimes disturbing, and always fascinating things that go on in the peculiar world of sleep. You’ll never look at your pillow the same way again.
Why We Sleep: unlocking the power of sleep and dreams by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation -- QP425 .W44 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-03
The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert--Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab--reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better. Sleep is one of the most important but least understood aspects of our life, wellness, and longevity. Until very recently, science had no answer to the question of why we sleep, or what good it served, or why we suffer such devastating health consequences when we don't sleep. Compared to the other basic drives in life--eating, drinking, and reproducing--the purpose of sleep remained elusive. An explosion of scientific discoveries in the last twenty years has shed new light on this fundamental aspect of our lives. Now, preeminent neuroscientist and sleep expert Matthew Walker gives us a new understanding of the vital importance of sleep and dreaming. Within the brain, sleep enriches our ability to learn, memorize, and make logical decisions. It recalibrates our emotions, restocks our immune system, fine-tunes our metabolism, and regulates our appetite. Dreaming mollifies painful memories and creates a virtual reality space in which the brain melds past and present knowledge to inspire creativity. Walker answers important questions about sleep: how do caffeine and alcohol affect sleep? What really happens during REM sleep? Why do our sleep patterns change across a lifetime? How do common sleep aids affect us and can they do long-term damage? Charting cutting-edge scientific breakthroughs, and synthesizing decades of research and clinical practice, Walker explains how we can harness sleep to improve learning, mood, and energy levels; regulate hormones; prevent cancer, Alzheimer's, and diabetes; slow the effects of aging; increase longevity; enhance the education and lifespan of our children, and boost the efficiency, success, and productivity of our businesses.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.