Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for stem cell related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Stem Cells - from Hype to Real Hope by
Publication Date: 2018-12-17
This book is a compilation of the bench experience of leading experts from various research labs involved in the cutting edge area of research. The authors describe the use of stem cells both as part of the combinatorial therapeutic intervention approach and as tools (disease model) during drug development, highlighting the shift from a conventional symptomatic treatment strategy to addressing the root cause of the disease process. The book is a continuum of the previously published book entitled "Stem Cells: from Drug to Drug Discovery" which was published in 2017.
Experiments in Democracy by
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
Experiments in Democracy presents a history of American debates over human embryo research from the late 1960s to the present, exploring their crucial role in shaping norms, practices, and institutions of deliberation governing the ethical challenges of modern bioscience. J. Benjamin Hurlbut details how scientists, bioethicists, policymakers, and other public figures have attempted to answer a question of great consequence: how should the public reason about aspects of science and technology that effect fundamental dimensions of human life? Through a study of one of the most significant science policy controversies in the history of the United States, Experiments in Democracy paints a portrait of the complex relationship between science and democracy, and of U.S. society's evolving approaches to evaluating and governing science's most challenging breakthroughs.
Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Aging--not cancer, not heart disease--is the underlying cause of most human death and suffering. The same cascade of biological changes that renders us wrinkled and gray also opens the door to dementia and disease. We work furiously to conquer each individual disease, but we never think to ask: Is aging itself necessary? Nature tells us it is not: there are tortoises and salamanders who are spry into old age and whose risk of dying is the same no matter how old they are, a phenomenon known as "biological immortality." In Ageless, Andrew Steele, a computational biologist and science writer, takes us on a journey through the laboratories where scientists are studying every bodily system that declines with age--DNA, mitochondria, stem cells, our immune systems--and developing therapies to reverse the trend. Exploring how to help us become old without getting frail, and to live longer without ill health or disease.
Wound Healing by
Publication Date: 2018-02-21
This authoritative resource covers a wealth of topics such as: an overview of stem cell regeneration and repair, wound healing and cutaneous wound healing, the role of bone marrow derived stems cells, inflammation in wound repair, role and function of inflammation in wound repair, and much more. Provides a comprehensive overview of stem cell use in wound healing, including both the basic and translational aspects of the field. Covers recent developments and emerging subtopics within the field. Offers an invaluable resource to clinical and basic researchers who are interested in wound healing, stem cells, and regenerative medicine. Contains contributions from leading experts in the field of wound healing and care.
Stem Cells in Birth Defects Research and Developmental Toxicology by
Publication Date: 2018-05-08
This book contains material contributed by forward-looking scientists who work at the interface of stem cell research and applied science with the aim to improve human fetal safety and the understanding of human developmental and degenerative disorders. Provides important platforms and contemporary accounts of the state of stem cell research in the fields of toxicology and teratology Considers both in vitro uses of stem cells as platforms for teratology and also stem cellopathies, which are in vivo developmental and degenerative disorders Helps the pharmaceutical industry and safety and environmental authorities validate the status quo of in vitro toxicity test systems based on human pluripotent stem cells and their derivatives
Stem Cells, 2nd Edition by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation QH588.S83 K45 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-10
This accessibly written book explores the different types of stem cells, their current and potential future medical applications, and the many controversies that surround their creation and use. Whether from adults or embryos, stem cells have the potential to develop into many other types of cells--an ability that makes them potentially invaluable for curing a wide variety of diseases and disorders. And while some stem cell treatments are already in use today and have achieved remarkable results, the use of such cells continues to be clouded in controversy. Coverage of research breakthroughs in the past decade has been added, including descriptions of recently discovered types of stem cells and stem cell therapies. In addition to addressing ethical and scientific controversies, the book also addresses issues such as the discrepancy between the public's expectations for regenerative medicine and current medical realities. Provides readers with a helpful Directory of Resources to guide their search for additional information
The End of Sex and the Future of Human Reproduction by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RG628.3.P74 G74 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-05-30
Within twenty, maybe forty, years most people in developed countries will stop having sex for the purpose of reproduction. Instead, prospective parents will be told as much as they wish to know about the genetic makeup of dozens of embryos, and they will pick one or two for implantation, gestation, and birth. And it will be safe, lawful, and free. In this work of prophetic scholarship, Henry T. Greely explains the revolutionary biological technologies that make this future a seeming inevitability and sets out the deep ethical and legal challenges humanity faces as a result. Developments in genetics and stem cell research are giving rise to new techniques that will vastly improve preimplantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) and in vitro fertilization (IVF), making sexless reproduction not just possible but cheap and easy-what Greely coins "easy PGD." The first child born using PGD is now 25 years old, and thousands more are born each year. Advanced by economic, social, legal, and political forces, the emerging science has made the concerns that were once the stuff of science fiction into real problems that our children and grandchildren will face routinely. Deeply informed by Greely's command of both science and law, The End of Sex and the Future of Human Reproduction is a book for parents, citizens, and all those, born and unborn, who will face the consequences of a new era of human reproduction.
Stem Cells: scientific facts and fiction by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (QH588.S83 S7497 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
The second edition of Stem Cells: Scientific Facts and Fiction provides the non-stem cell expert with an understandable review of the history, current state of affairs, and facts and fiction of the promises of stem cells. Building on success of its award-winning preceding edition, the second edition features new chapters on embryonic and iPS cells and stem cells in veterinary science and medicine. It contains major revisions on cancer stem cells to include new culture models, additional interviews with leaders in progenitor cells, engineered eye tissue, and xeno organs from stem cells, as well as new information on "organs on chips" and adult progenitor cells. In the past decades our understanding of stem cell biology has increased tremendously. Many types of stem cells have been discovered in tissues that everyone presumed were unable to regenerate in adults, the heart and the brain in particular. There is vast interest in stem cells from biologists and clinicians who see the potential for regenerative medicine and future treatments for chronic diseases like Parkinson's, diabetes, and spinal cord lesions, based on the use of stem cells; and from entrepreneurs in biotechnology who expect new commercial applications ranging from drug discovery to transplantation therapies. Explains in straightforward, non-specialist language the basic biology of stem cells and their applications in modern medicine and future therapy Includes extensive coverage of adult and embryonic stem cells both historically and in contemporary practice Richly illustrated to assist in understanding how research is done and the current hurdles to clinical practice
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.