Skip to main content

HUM2020: Intro to Humanities, Prof. Morgan-Music: Guide Main Page

Styles of Music & Their Musicians

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library.

2) Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk.

3) Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.

There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:

  • Print via email – email files to print@printme.com and receive a printing code and barcode to use at any print station.
  • Print via cloud-based server – access OneDrive or Google Drive from any print station.
  • Print via USB – access files off a USB from any print station.
  • Print via PrintMe app – download the PrintMe app from Google Play or the App Store and send prints from your mobile device.
  • Print via Polk State computers – send prints from most Polk State computers.

Login: PSC eBooks

1) Click on eBook link.

2) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

3) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

4) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot login, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library, or contact us through Ask-A-Librarian.)

Login: PSC Online Videos

Click on video link. Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College. Borrower ID is your Student ID number. PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number. (NOTE: If you cannot get in, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library, or contact us through Ask-A-Librarian.)

Login: PSC Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top center of the screen & click the Library/TLCC link.

3) In the center, click Articles/Databases.

4) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot get in, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library, or contact us through Ask-A-Librarian.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical by database, and click on the name of your database.

PSC Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.

Reference Books

The Harvard Dictionary of Music. REF ML 100 .H37 2003 (Look up "Baroque")

eBooks: Baroque

eBooks: Classical

eBooks: Romantic

eBooks: Modern

PSC Online Videos: Baroque

PSC Online Videos: Classical

PSC Online Videos: Romantic

PSC Online Videos: Modern

Databases

NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition

‚ÄčBIOGRAPHY IN CONTEXT (GALE): Complete biographies of famous people throughout human history, living & deceased, from academic journals, primary sources, periodicals, reference books, & websites.

On the top right-hand corner, type in the person's full name, including middle name if known (Johann Sebastian Bach). The results will be divided into different categories, the best of which is Reference; click on either the link on the left or the link above the center listing to pull up all the entries in that category. 

SPECIAL CITATION NOTE: Each result has an entry at the bottom, but it is NOT in Chicago-Style. Click on the CITATION TOOLS button on the top right-hand corner of the article, then on the pop-up's CHOOSE CITATION FORMAT menu, choose CHICAGO 16TH EDITION to convert it.

ENCYCLOPAEDIA BRITTANNICA: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica, plus related magazine/journal articles & websites.

On the top middle-part of the screen, type in the style of music ("Baroque music") or the musician (George Handel) as your search, then click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the results screen. Within each article, on the left-hand side, you may also access articles, ebooks, and websites about your topic.

CHICAGO-STYLE CITATION: On the bottom of each page, click on Chicago Manual of Style above the MLA citation to change it to Chicago; you must do this in every article you access in this database.

HUMANITIES SOURCE (EBSCO): Full-text journal & magazine articles.

First, click the Full Text box below the Clear and Start buttons on the right-hand side, then type in your specific topic, such as "Baroque music" or "Antonio Vivaldi." (Make sure to include a middle name, if the person has one.) When choosing articles, stick to HTML Full Text whenever possible.

CHICAGO-STYLE CITATION IN HTML FULL TEXT: After going to the right-hand side of the article & choosing among Print/E-Mail/Save, click on the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago-Turabian: Author-Date. The citation will appear on top of the article, but the URL needed at the end of the citation will be just below it; when adding the citation to your paper, please move the URL up to form the end part of the citation. 

CHICAGO-STYLE CITATION IN PDF FULL TEXT: On the top left-hand corner of the article, click on the Detailed Format link. On the next screen, go to the right-hand side & click on Print, then click on the Citation Format menu & choose Chicago-Turabian: Author-Date. It will appear on the next screen without the article attached. The URL needed at the end of the citation will be just below it; when adding the citation to your paper, please move the URL up to form the end part of the citation. (SPECIAL NOTE: If you choose E-Mail/Save instead of Print, click on the Citation Format menu & choose Chicago-Turabian: Author-Date; the job should automatically include the article as an attachment, along with the citation.)

OXFORD MUSIC ONLINE: Complete entries from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Using the Basic Search field on the top right-hand corner, type in either the form of music ("Baroque") or the musician, with last name given with a comma, followed by the first name & middle name ("Bach, Johann Sebastian"), then read the results taken from different reference books.

CHICAGO-STYLE CITATION: On the top right-hand corner of each article, click on the orange Cite button, then find the Chicago citation on the results list.

VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY (GALE): Complete entries from reference books put online.

Search by typing in either the form of music (Baroque music) or the musician's name (Johann Sebastian Bach).

SPECIAL CITATION NOTE: Each result has an entry at the bottom, but it is NOT in Chicago-Style. Click on the CITATION TOOLS button on the top right-hand corner of the article, then on the pop-up's CHOOSE CITATION FORMAT menu, choose  CHICAGO 16TH EDITION to convert it. 

WORLD HISTORY IN CONTEXT (GALE): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, primary sources, websites, images, and video & audio online clips.

Search by typing in either the form of music (Baroque music) or the musician's name (Johann Sebastian Bach). The results will be divided into different categories, the best of which is Reference; click on either the link on the left or the link above the center listing to pull up all the entries in that category. 

SPECIAL CITATION NOTE: Each result has an entry at the bottom, but it is NOT in Chicago-Style. Click on the CITATION TOOLS button on the top right-hand corner of the article, then on the pop-up's CITATION FORMAT menu, choose CHICAGO 16TH EDITION to convert it. 

Websites: Baroque

Websites: Classical

Websites: Romantic

Websites: Modern

Subject Guide

Ask-a-Librarian

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.