Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for suicide research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Suicide Prevention by
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
This book offers essential information about assessing, managing, and providing mental health treatment for suicidal adult outpatients. Author Sam Knapp guides readers through the full process of treating suicidal patients, from screening to relapse prevention, using effective, research-informed interventions. He explains suicidal behavior through ideation-to-action theories of suicide, and argues for the application of principle-based ethics when making treatment decisions. He emphasizes the importance of a strong therapeutic relationship, and respecting patient autonomy as much as possible in such circumstances. Throughout, he makes current research on suicide accessible and useful to practicing mental health providers, connecting it with practical approaches and case examples informed by the author's extensive clinical experience.
Rethinking Suicide by
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
Over the last two decades, the US suicide rate has steadily grown despite extensive awareness campaigns, wide implementation of suicide prevention programs and initiatives, and increased mental health advocacy. Why do suicide rates continue to climb despite our best efforts? Why aren't we better at this? What are we doing wrong? Rethinking Suicide is a critical examination of what we think we know about suicide, with particular focus on the assumed role of mental illness. Craig J. Bryan, a leading expert on suicide prevention, argues that most prevention efforts have failed because they disproportionately emphasize mental health-focused solutions such as access to treatment and crisis services. Instead of classifying suicide as a mental health issue, careful analysis of research findings suggest it should instead be seen as a highly complex problem with many risk factors - from personal decision-making styles, to the availability of lethal means, to financial uncertainty.
Suicide in Intersex, Trans and Other Sex and/or Gender Diverse Groups: A Health Professional's Guide by
Publication Date: 2021
This book contains a review of the incidence of suicidal thoughts, attempts and successful suicides in people from sex and/or gender diverse (SGD) groups. These are people who are intersex, androgynous, trans, non-binary and more. It offers information into the experiences of people from SGD groups, the discrimination and abuse they have encountered and the many reasons why they might contemplate, attempt, or succeed in ending their own lives. It provides important information to health professionals on how best to help people from these communities.
Understanding Suicide Terrorism by
Publication Date: 2019-10-23
Understanding Suicide Terrorism aims to explore the different aspects involved in suicide terrorism for a better understanding of the tactic which has become a global phenomenon and threat today. The book aims to help inform holistic policy making by tracing the evolution of the use of suicide as a weapon in conflict and the emergence of modern-day suicide terrorism. The book uses case studies of prominent terror outfits to have used the tactic rather confidently and consistently and suggests that suicide terrorism must be understood as the interplay of three vital components--the individual committing the act, the organization employing the tactic and, the state environment contributing to the culture of suicide terrorism.
Helping People Overcome Suicidal Thoughts, Urges and Behaviour by
Publication Date: 2021-03-31
Draws together practical and effective approaches to help individuals at risk of suicide. The book provides a framework and outlines skills for anyone working with adults who present with suicidal thoughts or intent. Part 1 introduces a basic understanding of our knowledge about suicide and UK policy; Part 2 outlines the research into the treatment of suicidality and the general principles for working in the safest possible way. Part 3 outlines ten key psychological skills in the context of evidence-based best practice. The book also discusses the role of health and social care professionals in the prevention of suicide in the context of Covid-19. The book will be a valuable addition to the resources of professionals including psychotherapists, nurses, social workers, occupational therapists, prison and probation officers, drug and alcohol workers, general practitioners and support staff in any health or social care context.
Teens and Suicide by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HV6546 .C38 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Each year in the United States, thousands of youths take their own lives--and the teen suicide rate is climbing. Teens and Suicide examines the nature of teen suicide, what causes it, what it is like to live with it, and how or whether it can be treated or cured. Examines the nature of suicide, including what causes it, what it is like to live with suicidal feelings, and how suicide can be prevented.
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV6545 .B43 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Dr Pat Devitt and Derek Beattie explore suicide in different cultures and historical periods, survey various public-policy approaches to the subject (looking at what works and what doesn't), investigate links between economic performance and suicide, and provide an in-depth examination of suicide prevention. They also look at the impact of media portrayals of suicide. Finally, they offer practical advice to those dealing with suicide and its aftermath.
Teen Suicide by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV6546 .T422 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-01-30
Explores the causes of suicide, which teens are most at risk of suicide, and ways to prevent suicide. Teen suicide is a major health problem / Michiko Otsuki, Tia Kim, Paul Peterson -- Suicide myths hamper preventive efforts / Tennessee Suicide Prevention Network -- Bullying increases the risk of teen suicide / Michael Ollove -- Bullying and suicide: the dangerous mistake we make / Katherine Bindley -- Native American youth face an increased risk of suicide / Dolores Subia BigFoot -- Cultural programs will combat suicide among Native American youth / Mary Annette Pember -- Volatile mix: kids at risk for suicide can get guns / Maggie Fox -- Gay teens face an increased risk of suicide / Randy Dotinga -- Teens with Asperger's syndrome may attempt suicide / Tony Attwood -- Monitored antidepressant use can help prevent teen suicide / National Institute of Mental Health -- Suicide clusters and contagion / Frank J. Zenere -- Internet use affects teen suicide risk in positive and negative ways / Tony Durkee et al.
Understanding Suicide: exposing the world of pain within the suicide box by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV6548.I73 C67 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Suicide kills more Americans every year than car crashes. It continues to be deeply misunderstood by many people, not least those directly bereaved. Tony Walsh and Lucy Costigan present a new approach to understanding suicide, which looks beyond t
Farewell to the World by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV6545 .B24513 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-10-05
What drives a person to take his or her own life? Why would an individual be willing to strap a bomb to himself and walk into a crowded marketplace, blowing himself up at the same time as he kills and maims the people around him? Does suicide or 'voluntary death' have the same meaning today as it had in earlier centuries, and does it have the same significance in China, India and the Middle East as it has in the West? How should we understand this distressing, often puzzling phenomenon and how can we explain its patterns and variations over time? In this wide-ranging comparative study, Barbagli examines suicide as a socio-cultural, religious and political phenomenon, exploring the reasons that underlie it and the meanings it has acquired in different cultures throughout the world.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.