Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for teen pregnancy research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
On Becoming a Teen Mom by
Publication Date: 2015-02-06
In this myth-shattering book, the authors tell the life stories of 108 brown, white, and black teen mothers, exposing the problems in their lives often overlooked in pregnancy prevention campaigns. Some stories are tragic and painful, marked by sexual abuse, partner violence, and school failure. Others depict "girl next door" characters whose unintended pregnancies lay bare insidious gender disparities. Offering a fresh perspective on the links between teen births and social inequalities, this book demonstrates how the intersecting hierarchies of gender, race, and class shape the biographies of young mothers.
Adolescent Pregnancy by
Publication Date: 2009
This new edition of Adolescent Pregnancy contains everything a social worker needs to know to address adolescent sexual health risks and the recent rise in teen pregnancy rates. The second edition presents a new focus on cultural competence, presenting up-to-the-minute research on ethnically diverse populations. This edition goes beyond just adolescent pregnancy, discussing STI and HIV risks, as well as drug and alcohol abuse.
Teenage Sex and Pregnancy: Modern Myths, Unsexy Realities by
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
This detailed, exhaustively documented account shows how and why just about everyone in today's teen pregnancy debate is wrong-often disastrously so. * Dozens of cases of original research findings from standard statistical sources that have not been presented in other works * A chronology documents the teenage sex and pregnancy controversy as it has occurred over the past century * Discusses in detail many popular images and fears, including internet predators, "hooking up," "sexting," and media-driven teen sexuality
Mixed Messages: norms and social control around teen sex and pregnancy by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HQ27 .M626 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Sex is bad. Unprotected sex is a problem. Having a baby would be a disaster. Abortion is a sin. Teenagers in the United States hear conflicting messages about sex from everyone around them. How do teens understand these messages? In Mixed Messages, Stefanie Mollborn examines how social norms and social control work through in-depth interviews with college students and teen mothers and fathers, revealing the tough conversations teeangers just can't have with adults. Delving into teenagers' complicated social worlds Mollbornargues that by creating informal social sanctions like gossip and exclusion and formal communication such as sex education, families, peers, schools, and communities strategize to gain control over teens' behaviors. However, while teens strategize to keep control, they resist the constraints of thenorms, revealing the variety of outcomes that occur beyond compliance or deviance. By proving that the norms existing today around teen sex are ineffective, failing to regulate sexual behavior, and instead punishing teens that violate them, Mollborn calls for a more thoughtful and consistent dialogue between teens and adults, emphasizing messages that will lead to more positivehealth outcomes.
Pregnancy Information for Teens by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HQ759.64 .P72 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
Comprehensive information on teen pregnancy, including the associated risks for mother and child. Includes information about prenatal care, nutrition, fetal development, labor and delivery, and issues that must be addressed after the child is born, as well as facts about abortion and adoption. Also includes directories of relevant resources.
Teen Pregnancy and Parenting: rethinking the myths and misperceptions by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RG556.5 .W44 2015)
Publication Date: 2014-09-11
Identifying core controversies surrounding teen pregnancy and parenting, this book resolves misperceptions using findings from large-scale, longitudinal, and qualitative research studies from the US and other Western countries. The authors explore ten prevalent myths about teenage parents, including: Teen pregnancy is associated with other behavior problems. Children of teen parents will experience cognitive delay, adjustment problems, and will themselves become teen parents. Better outcomes are achieved when teen mothers live with their own mothers. Teen pregnancy costs tax payers lots of money. Abstinence education is the best way to prevent teen pregnancy.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.