Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for terrorism research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Terrorism: the Essential Reference Guide by
Publication Date: 2018-05-03
As the rise of ISIS demonstrates, terrorist groups continue to destabilize vital regions around the world. Introductory essays address how terrorism has evolved, spanning centuries to focus ultimately on the advent of modern terrorism (1968 to the present). It discusses the emerging challenges presented by the proliferation of violent non-state actors, including Al Qaeda and ISIS. In addition, it explores exactly what has motivated terrorists and speculates as to how terrorism may continue to evolve. The core of Terrorism: The Essential Reference Guide comprises A-Z entries on terrorist organizations, major terrorist attacks, and prominent terrorist leaders. The work concludes with a carefully selected group of primary source documents and a detailed timeline to help readers place significant terrorism-related events in their proper context.
The Irrational Terrorist and Other Persistent Terrorism Myths by
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Opinion surveys show that what the public assumes it knows about terrorism is at best a badly distorted view. Recalling the "Flat Earth" phenomenon, early misconceptions have become solidified, despite new evidence refuting them. The authors of The Irrational Terrorist discredit these popular myths and misconceptions, providing an accessible overview of the key theoretical explanations of terrorism and liberally illustrating their analysis with case studies. Ranging from the religious and economic backgrounds of individual terrorists to the nature and outreach of terrorist organizations, they offer fact-based, cutting-edge explanations of the motivations and behavior of terrorist groups.
Understanding Suicide Terrorism by
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Understanding Suicide Terrorism aims to explore the different aspects involved in suicide terrorism for a better understanding of the tactic which has become a global phenomenon and threat today. The book aims to help inform holistic policy making by tracing the evolution of the use of suicide as a weapon in conflict and the emergence of modern-day suicide terrorism. This comes at a time when suicide terrorism has been one of the most potent and effective tools for individuals and entities to achieve what they perceive as goals and shall inevitably remain a challenge for policy makers and security establishments to deal with.
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Terrorism by
Publication Date: 2021-12-31
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Terrorism presents a revaluation of the major narratives in the history of terrorism, exploring the emergence and the use of terrorism in world history from antiquity up to the twenty-first century. Presents an overview of terrorism's antecedents in the pre-modern world, analyzes the emergence of terrorism in the West, and presents a series of case studies from non-Western parts of the world that together constitute terrorism's global reception history. Ultimately provides an account of the global history of terrorism and coverage of the most important cases from this history, always presented with an eye towards their entanglement with the forces and technologies of modernity.
Encyclopedia of Terrorism by
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
A valuable, up-to-date reference tool for understanding the latest developments in national and international terrorism—one of the most pressing security challenges facing the world today. * More than 500 entries on topics in modern-day terrorism * A chronology of major terrorist attacks since 1946 * A bibliography listing major literacy sources on terrorism * A list of acronyms related to major terrorist organizations
Terrorism : what everyone needs to know by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HV6431 .S2553 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-10
Todd Sandler, one of America's leading scholars on the topic, provides a broad and example-rich overview of this perennially important issue. After clearly defining terrorism, he then discusses terrorism's causes, the nature of terrorist groups, how governments seek to counter terrorism, its economic consequences, and the future of terrorism. He focuses, in particular, on the extent to which specific motivations (nationalism/separatism, left and right extremism, and religious fundamentalism) and general conditions (poverty, globalization, and regime type) affect the frequency and costs of terrorism. As he explains, researchers have never established a link between poverty and terrorism or between globalization and terrorism. He also identifies many other widely-held misconceptions.
Domestic Terrorism by
Call Number: Polk/LK & WH Circulation HV6432 .D664 2021
Publication Date: 2020-07-15
We think we know it when we see it, but what is domestic terrorism exactly? Part of the confusion may stem from the fact that there is hesitancy among top federal agencies to define it. Starting with the reasons why this is so, this volume explores whether serious concerns about domestic terrorism are justified, if there are situations when domestic terrorism is justified, how politicians and the media may be stoking domestic terrorism, and what efforts could lead to the prevention of domestic terrorism incidents.
Homegrown Hate by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HV6432 .K344 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
A groundbreaking and deeply researched work that directly compares White nationalists and militant Islamists in the United States. In this timely book, scholar and holistic justice activist Sara Kamali examines these Americans' self-described beliefs, grievances, and rationales for violence, and details their organizational structures within a transnational context. She presents compelling insight into the most pressing threat to homeland security not only in the United States, but in nations across the globe: citizens who are targeting their homeland according to their respective narratives of victimhood. She also explains the hate behind the headlines and provides the tools to counter this hate from within, cogently offering hope in uncertain and divisive times.
Debunking Seven Terrorism Myths Using Statistics by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HV6431 .P98 2020
Publication Date: 2020-07-10
Debunking Seven Terrorism Myths Using Statistics communicates evidence-based research work on terrorism to a general audience. It describes key statistics that provide an overview of the extent and magnitude of terrorist events perpetrated by actors independent of state governments across the world. Uses statistical reasoning to identify and address seven major misconceptions about terrorism. Discusses the implications of major issues about terrorism data on the interpretation of its statistical analysis. Gradually introduces the complexity of statistical methods to familiarize the non-statistician reader with important statistical concepts to analyze data. Includes chapters focusing on major aspects of terrorism: definitional issues, lethality, geography, temporal and spatial patterns, and the predictive ability of models.
Modern American Extremism and Domestic Terrorism by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation HN90.R3 B333 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
This book provides comprehensive, illuminating, and sometimes disturbing insights into the individuals, groups, and events that have illustrated "extremist" behavior in post-World War II America. Ranging from the anti-communist rhetoric and activities of the John Birch Society, to the radical socialist ideals of the Black Panthers, to the goals of a "pure" America articulated by white nationalists, this book documents the various extremist elements that shaped the second half of the 20th century as well as the first two decades of the 21st century. Written to be accessible to readers without specific knowledge of extremism, political science, or sociology. Acknowledges and documents the origins of the anger felt by many extremists that they are being "left behind" in modern America.
Non-Western Responses to Terrorism by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HV6433.D44 N66 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-11
This edited collection surveys how non-Western states have responded to the threats of domestic and international terrorism in ways consistent with and reflective of their broad historical, political, cultural and religious traditions. It presents a series of eighteen case studies written by country experts, which demonstrate the diversity of counter-terrorism theory and practice and illustrate how the world 'sees' and responds to terrorism is different from the way that the United States, the United Kingdom and many European governments do. This first ever comprehensive account of counter-terrorism in the non-Western world will be of interest to students, scholars, students and policymakers responsible for developing counter-terrorism policy.
Terrorism in American Memory by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Winter Haven Circulation HV6432.7 .S785 2022
Publication Date: 2022-01-18
Marita Sturken maintains that during the past two decades, when the country was subjected to terrorist attacks and promulgated ongoing wars of aggression, we have veered into increasingly polarized factions and been extraordinarily preoccupied with memorialization and the politics of memory. The post-9/11 era began with a hunger for memorialization and it ended with massive protests over police brutality that demanded the destruction of historical monuments honoring racist historical figures. Terrorism in American Memory sheds light on the struggles over who is memorialized, who is forgotten, and what that politics of memory reveals about the United States as an imaginary and a nation.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.