Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for tuition-free college research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Beyond Free College: Making Higher Education Work for 21st Century Students by
Publication Date: 2021-01-15
Beyond Free College outlines an audacious national agenda-consistent with, but far more comprehensive than, the current "free college" movement-that builds on the best of US higher education's populist history such as the G.I. Bill and the community college transfer function. The authors align a wide constellation of higher education trends-online learning, prior learning assessment, competency-based learning, high school college-credit- with a rapidly shifting student transfer environment that privileges college credit as the pivotal educational catalyst to boost access and completion. The book's agenda seeks greater productive investment in postsecondary education by privileging a single metric-lower-cost-per-degree-granted-as the animating driver of a transfer pathway that will fulfill the potential of its historical, progressive innovators. Beyond Free College's goal is as simple as it is urgent: To galvanize higher education advocates in an effort to reorganize, reorient, and reignite the transfer function to serve the needs of a neotraditional student population that now constitutes the majority of college-goers in America; and in ways that advance completion, not just access to higher education.
Building Democracy Through Education on Diversity by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
In our globalized world, the many facets of diversity are ever more in evidence. Issues of race, class, ethnicity, religion, language, gender, sexual orientation and physical disability are manifestations of diversity that have often evoked negative or even violent reactions in society. And yet, any society that deems itself democratic needs to come to terms with diversity in open, informed and accepting ways. Education has an important role to play in developing socially aware, democratic citizens. The ten chapters in this volume contributed by authors from around the world address some of the tensions inherent in a diverse society and provide examples and recommendations for addressing the challenges of diversity in an equitable and democratic way. Three major themes are considered: developing a pedagogy for diversity; issues of gender and race in democratic education; and the transformative role of the arts in democratic education on diversity. The chapters in the collection present case studies, reports and pedagogical approaches supporting education for diversity. While acknowledging problems posed by local customs, neo-colonialism, and neo-liberalism among others to the development of equitable, accessible and democratic education, the authors provide concrete suggestions for an education that will promote intercultural understanding and democratic citizenship.
The Complete Guide to Paying for College: Save Money, Cut Costs, and Get More for Your Education Dollar by
Publication Date: 2017-09-18
College costs are straining every family except the richest. Most financial aid goes to the neediest families. The middle class typically doesn't qualify for need-based financial aid, even though most can't afford to pay cash for college and their salaries haven't allowed them to save enough to cover all costs. If these families are trying to put more than one child through college, the challenges are exponential. If you've been asking how your child can receive a quality education even though you can't pay today's college tuition out of pocket, The Complete Guide to Paying for College is the answer. This step-by-step guide includes actionable tips to save on education costs and the many living expenses--room, board, books, activities--that apply to the first year and beyond. Leah Ingram--a money-saving expert and parent of two college students--reveals the "insider tricks" to pay for college, including: How to find bona fide scholarships, not spam and scams. Where parents can work to receive tuition benefits. The pros and cons of earning college credits before graduating high school. Which schools give out the most merit aid, even if you're not a rocket scientist. Paying for college just got a lot easier for millions of families!
The Path to Free College by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation; LB2338 .M555 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-30
In The Path to Free College, Michelle Miller-Adams argues that tuition-free college, if pursued strategically and in alignment with other sectors, can be a powerful agent of change. She makes the case that broadly accessible and affordable higher education is in the public interest, yielding dividends not just for individuals but also for the communities, states, and nation in which they reside. Miller-Adams offers a comprehensive analysis of the College Promise movement-its history, impacts, and unintended consequences-and its relationship to access, affordability, and workforce readiness. These factors are explored through data, analysis, and case studies of existing place-based scholarship programs. She also examines historical precursors of the free-college movement and evaluates the possibility of national action. The Path to Free College outlines how the design of free-college programs should relate to programmatic goals and explores the suitability of different approaches. In addition, the book describes both the need for and the challenges of implementing a nationwide free-college program, as well as the variety of models and research-based evidence. Given the raging national debate about tuition-free college, the moment is right for a book that assesses state and local efforts and offers policy leaders and practitioners guidance going forward. The Path to Free College asserts that the promise of private and public gains warrants public investment in tuition-free college.
Student Loans and the Cost of College by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; LB2340.2 .S78 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-30
Getting into college is one giant hurdle to clear, and paying for it is quite another. This book breaks down the expenses associated with higher education, the various payment options available for students, including student loans, need-based scholarships, and merit-based scholarships, and what other avenues may exist for families to ensure that costs associated with tuition, room, and board stay reasonable. Concerns about "paying off" student loans, interest rates, and timelines are also addressed in this informative collection.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Education Source This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education
from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such
as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The resource also includes
information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
ERIC This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new windowResources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.