Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for unemployment research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
American Unemployment by
Publication Date: 2020-06-08
The history of unemployment and concepts surrounding it remain a mystery to many Americans. Frank Stricker believes we need to understand this essential thread in our shared past. Workers do not normally choose to be unemployed. Labor surpluses propped up by flawed unemployment numbers have helped to keep real wages stagnant for more than forty years. Prior to the New Deal and the era of big government, laissez-faire policies repeatedly led to depressions with heavy, even catastrophic, job losses. Undercounting the unemployed sabotages the creation of government job programs that can lead to more high-paying jobs and full employment. Written for non-economists, American Unemployment is a history and primer on vital economic topics that also provides a roadmap to better jobs and economic security.
The Tolls of Uncertainty by
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
An indispensable investigation into the American unemployment system and the ways gender and class affect the lives of those looking for work Through the intimate stories of those seeking work, The Tolls of Uncertainty offers a startling look at the nation's unemployment system--who it helps, who it hurts, and what, if anything, we can do to make it fair. Drawing on interviews with one hundred men and women who have lost jobs across Pennsylvania, Sarah Damaske examines the ways unemployment shapes families, finances, health, and the job hunt. Damaske demonstrates that commonly held views of unemployment are either incomplete or just plain wrong.
Not Working by
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
A candid assessment of why the job market is not as healthy as we think. Don't trust low unemployment numbers as proof that the labor market is doing fine, it isn't. Not Working is about those who can't find full-time work at a decent wage, the underemployed, and how their plight is contributing to widespread despair, a worsening drug epidemic, and the unchecked rise of right-wing populism. David Blanchflower draws on his acclaimed work in the economics of labor and well-being to explain why today's postrecession economy is vastly different from what came before. He calls out our leaders and policymakers for failing to see the Great Recession coming, and for their continued failure to address one of the most unacknowledged social catastrophes of our time. Blanchflower shows how many workers are underemployed or have simply given up trying to find a well-paying job, how wage growth has not returned to prerecession levels despite rosy employment indicators, and how general prosperity has not returned since the crash of 2008.
What the Hell Is Unemployment? by
Publication Date: 2021
During his 41 months of unemployment, Kenneth Hitchner helped start the nation's first unemployment community. As a volunteer executive director at the Professional Service Group of Central New Jersey (PSGCNJ), he would have new members come up to him and say, "I've got a problem."They would add, "I just lost my income and health care."And he'd say with a straight face, "That's not a problem."They would look at him dumbfounded.This book covers his response to that burning feeling you endure when you realize the cavalry isn't coming to save you, which he learned from his journey with long-term unemployment.Kenneth Hitchner knows how to make people, and their brands, look appealing by solving their problems with communication tactics. His own bout of unemployment motivated him to leverage his own teachings, which are delivered to you in "What The Hell Is Unemployment?"His PR formula is quite simple: revenue, relationships and revenue.
The Youth Unemployment Crisis by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation HD6273 .V55 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Surveys the history of youth unemployment and identifies key issues underlying the current crisis. The Youth Unemployment Crisis: A Reference Handbook examines the recent phenomenon in the United States wherein young workers ages 16 to 24 are unemployed or disconnected from the labor force at disproportionate rates. It describes in detail what led to the crisis, who it affects, and what can be and is being done about it. Explains the nature, scope, and consequences of the youth unemployment crisis in a way that is accessible for general readers. Gives general readers a better of understanding of who is involved in combating the youth unemployment crisis and provides a foundation for further research in profile and references chapters, respectively. Explores the role that politics played in causing the crisis and how policy could better address it.
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HD5708 .U574 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-03-12
This title examines the topic around the issues of the global problem of unemployment, the victims of unemployment, the causes of unemployment, and the solutions to unemployment. By illuminating the complexities and interrelations of the global community, this excellent resource helps students and other researchers enhance their global awareness.
End Unemployment Now by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HD5724 .B3458 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
The year 2010 marked when the National Bureau of Economic Research declared an end to the Great Recession. The economy had shed over six million jobs in 2008 and 2009, but few had been recalled to work by 2010. Today, government policies have yet to make a significant dent in unemployment. In End Unemployment Now, Ravi Batra explores why this is the case. The President and the Federal Reserve have the legal authority to generate free-market conditions that will quickly end the specter of unemployment, all without involving Congress. Some examples of how to end unemployment without congressional intrusion: Creating a bank by the FDIC to compete with banking giants and then charging only 5% interest rates on credit card balances, instead of the standard 10-35% seen today; Banning mergers among large and profitable firms, as such mergers directly cause layoffs and reinforce monopoly capitalism; Aid to small businesses in the form of cheap loans and government contracts, because small firms have been real job creators since 1980.
A World of Three Zeros by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HD60 .Y863 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
A winner of the Nobel Peace Prize and bestselling author of Banker to the Poor offers his vision of an emerging new economic system that can save humankind and the planet Muhammad Yunus, who created microcredit, invented social business, and earned a Nobel Peace Prize for his work in alleviating poverty, is one of today's most trenchant social critics. Now he declares it's time to admit that the capitalist engine is broken -- that in its current form it inevitably leads to rampant inequality, massive unemployment, and environmental destruction.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.