Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessing Videos and DVDs: Home

How to locate videos and DVDs through the Polk State College Library catalog, databases, or other online resources.

Audio/Visual collection search

Search the Library Catalog online:

  1. Visit the Library home page
  2. Click on Books/Catalogs
  3. In the Advanced Search screen, Enter topic or title in first search box.
  4. Limit your search to the "Videos" material type.
  5. Click on Search and scroll down to view results.

Faculty or Staff:  Call the Winter Haven or Lakeland library to request a video or DVD and it will be ready for you to pick up at your convenience.

American History in Video

American History in Video provides more than 5,000 video titles.  It allows students to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access American History in Video!

Nursing Video Resources

  1. Visit Nursing & Allied Health Source
  2.  Click on Browse.
  3.  Click on Video Training Programs to see list of videos.
    (Click on + sign to expand individual clips under each title.

Ask-a-Librarian

How to log in to Library Resources

To log in to the library's online resources (databases, ebooks, articles, videos...), simply visit the Polk State Library Homepage and Articles/Databases and log in using the credentials listed below.

Student login - Passport Credentials Faculty/Staff Login

Student ID:

Passport Password:

passport login

Institutional e-mail address & password

 

Having trouble logging in?

Students: Try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652 or extension 5111.

Faculty/Staff: Try resetting your Polk institutional email account passwords or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652 or extension 5111.

 

Films on Demand

FOD

 

 

Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

  1. Visit the Library home page
  2. Click on Articles/Databases
  3. Scroll down the list to Films on Demand and click on it.
  4. Search by subject area, or put in a topic or keyword to search either in titles or segments of videos.

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Visit Academic Video Online!

Other Video Resources

Business Source Complete
55 videos from Harvard Faculty Seminar.  Click on More (top of screen) then Business Videos/Images.  Type the word “business” and all 55 titles will appear.  Click on Seminar Series Video next to title you want to view.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Search for topic – after opening article, VIDEOS tab on left.  Click on Browse at top of screen.  Click on Media Collection on left.  Click on Video.

Health Reference Center
Click on Multimedia tab after searching for topic.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Click on Video tab after searching for topic.

Annenberg/CPB Project

Annenberg

 


The Annenberg/CPB Project is a searchable online multimedia resource for teachers.  It is easily searchable, available anytime, and free of charge.  Search by discipline, grade level or topic.

Click on the VoD icon to play the free video.
A new pop-up window will come up (you must have your pop-up blocker turned off).
Right click on the video image to change to full screen.

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.