Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for violence in the media related research topics. Below you will find suggested ebooks/books and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Mind abuse : media violence and its threat to democracy by
Publication Date: 2020
Access to this title COMING SOON. Dyson shows that recent trends toward increased violence in popular culture are symptomatic of deeper social, economic, and ecological problems that require an urgent shift away from the status quo toward a more sustainable model for peaceful co-existence. For over 30 years, Dyson has contributed to the debate over media violence. Here, she urges us to resist the corporate giants of the entertainment industries and reclaim the right to shape our own value systems and dreams. Blind consumption of media violence as entertainment, she argues, is not inconsistent with vital policies for a greener, healthier future.
Violence in Popular Culture: American and Global Perspectives by
Publication Date: 2018-11-09
Despite decades of attention and various attempts to enact legislation that limits violence in American popular culture, it remains ubiquitous across films, television, radio, music, music videos, video games, and popular fiction. Studies have shown that programs marketed to children are often remarkably violent and that viewing or otherwise consuming such violence has numerous negative effects on children's psychological health. This book sheds light on the scholarship related to violence in popular culture and compares historical and current examples, analyzing popular shows such as Game of Thrones, video games such as Mortal Kombat, young adult fiction including the trilogy The Hunger Games, and more.
Mass Shootings: Media, Myths, and Realities by
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
This book provides readers and researchers with a critical examination of mass shootings as told by the media, offering research-based, factual answers to oft-asked questions and investigating common myths about these tragic events. Tackles common misconceptions about mass shootings perpetrated by and through the media and provides information that grounds the realities of such events in empirical evidence. Helps readers understand the realities of these events, including their international reach, the potential warning signs, and how evidence associated with the events can provide clues into why they occurred.
Violence in American Society: an Encyclopedia of Trends, Problems, and Perspectives [2 Volumes] by
Publication Date: 2020-08-11
In addition to detailed and evenhanded summaries of the key events and issues relating to violence in America, contributors highlight important events, political debates, legal perspectives, modern dimensions, and critical approaches. This encyclopedia also features excerpts from such important primary source documents as legal rulings, presidential speeches, and congressional testimony from scholars and activists on aspects of violence in America. Together, these documents provide important insights into past and present patterns of violent crime in the United States, as well as proposed solutions to those problems.
Custodians of the Internet by
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
A revealing and gripping investigation into how social media platforms police what we post online and the large societal impact of these decisions. Most users want their Twitter feed, Facebook page, and YouTube comments to be free of harassment and porn. Whether faced with "fake news" or livestreamed violence, "content moderators" who censor or promote user posted content have never been more important. This is especially true when the tools that social media platforms use to curb trolling, ban hate speech, and censor pornography can also silence the speech you need to hear. A must read for anyone who's ever clicked "like" or "retweet."
Plugged In: How Media Attract and Affect Youth by
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
An illuminating study of the complex relationship between children and media in the digital age. Now, as never before, young people are surrounded by media-thanks to the sophistication and portability of the technology that puts it literally in the palms of their hands. Drawing on data and empirical research that cross many fields and continents, authors Valkenburg and Piotrowski examine the role of media in the lives of children from birth through adolescence, addressing the complex issues of how media affect the young and what adults can do to encourage responsible use in an age of selfies, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.
Mass Shootings by
Call Number: Polk LK & WH Circulation HM866 .M197 2021
Publication Date: 2020-07-15
Since 2016, the United States has experienced an average of nearly one mass shooting per day. Is this the new normal, or can something be done to prevent these slaughters? America seems divided about how to stop mass shootings. While some point to stricter gun control as a solution, others urge a focus on mental health and improvement of social factors that contribute to disenfranchisement. Meanwhile, the shootings continue while the country's leaders are at a standstill. The diverse viewpoints in this volume will help your readers explore the topic of mass shootings, their causes and effects, and potential solutions for eliminating them.
Violence in the Media by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (P96.V5 V54 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
Explores issues related to Violence in the Media, including violence in music and videos, exposure to violence in television and movies, violent video games, and how society should respond to violence in the media.
Media Violence by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (P96.V5 M425 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-07-27
This title explores many aspects of media violence, including the seriousness of the media violence problem, the regulation of media violence, the effect of violence in the news, and the relationship between sex and violence in the media.
Violent Video Games and Society by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Lakeland Circulation GV1469.34 .V56 2018
Publication Date: 2017-07-30
The video game industry is big business, and with the improvement of Virtual Reality technology, video games will only become more realistic and immersive. Fears abound that they drive their players to commit violent acts. While many people believe the games desensitize kids to violence, others argue that there has been no scientific connection between aggressive behavior and video games. Is immersion in violent video games a bridge to committing real-life acts of violence, demeaning women, and bullying? Or can video games actually help troubled kids, by providing them with a safe outlet for their aggression and a way to work out their frustrations?
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new windowResources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.