Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for virtual reality research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Proteus Paradox: How Online Games and Virtual Worlds Change Us-And How They Don't by
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Proteus, the mythical sea god who could alter his appearance at will, embodies one of the promises of online games: the ability to reinvent oneself. Yet inhabitants of virtual worlds rarely achieve this liberty, game researcher Nick Yee contends. Though online games evoke freedom and escapism, Yee shows that virtual spaces perpetuate social norms and stereotypes from the offline world, transform play into labor, and inspire racial scapegoating and superstitious thinking. And the change that does occur is often out of our control and effected by unparalleled—but rarely recognized—tools for controlling what players think and how they behave.
Virtual Reality by
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, technology writer Samuel Greengard offers an accessible overview of developments in extended reality, explaining the technology, considering the social and psychological ramifications, and discussing possible future directions. Greengard describes the history and technological development of augmented and virtual realities, including the latest research in the field, and surveys the various shapes and forms of VR, AR, and MR, including head-mounted displays, mobile systems, and goggles. He examines the way these technologies are shaping and reshaping some professions and industries, and explores how extended reality affects psychology, morality, law, and social constructs. It's not a question of whether extended reality will become a standard part of our world, he argues, but how, when, and where these technologies will take hold. Will extended reality help create a better world? Will it benefit society as a whole? Or will it merely provide financial windfalls for a select few?
Virtual Reality by
Publication Date: 2019-12-31
Although the emergence of virtual reality (VR) goes back to the 1960s, with the recent availability of low-cost and high-accuracy systems it has become increasingly prevalent in a wide variety of areas; with uses ranging from training and education to rehabilitation and entertainment. Nowadays, there are many companies that have their own VR systems with various types of headsets and controllers. This has shaped how VR is being used today and how we interact with the latest generation VR systems. With the rapidly evolving dynamics gained through technological advancements, VR is projected to grow and transform the way humans do everyday tasks both in the workplace and in personal lives. In addition to the VR headsets, there are now augmented reality (AR) headsets that allow the user to see their real-world surroundings while also viewing computer generated imagery. This leads to an enhanced user experience. This book aims to provide a comprehensive update of the latest scientific research, mainly in VR and partly in AR, from the last five years. The content is themed around the application areas of training, education, robotics, health and well-being, and user experience.
Unreal Engine 4 Virtual Reality Projects by
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Unreal Engine 4 (UE4) is a powerful tool for developing VR games and applications. With its visual scripting language, Blueprint, and built-in support for all major VR headsets, it's a perfect tool for designers, artists, and engineers to realize their visions in VR. This book will guide you step-by-step through a series of projects that teach essential concepts and techniques for VR development in UE4. Learn about effective VR design and develop virtual reality games and applications for every VR platform Build essential features for VR such as player locomotion and interaction, 3D user interfaces, and 360 media players Learn about multiplayer networking and how to extend the engine using plugins and asset packs. Create controllable avatars, user interfaces, and more.
The Ethics of Virtual and Augmented Reality: Building Worlds by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Winter Haven Circulation QA76.9.V5 R35 2022
Publication Date: 2021-12-01
This book offers new ways of thinking about and assessing the impact of virtual reality on its users. It argues that we must go beyond traditional psychological concepts of VR presence to better understand the many varieties of virtual experiences. Virtually real experiences, the author claims, can make virtual relationships meaningful, productive, and conducive to welfare but they can also be used to systematically mislead and manipulate users about the nature of their experiences. The Ethics of Virtual and Augmented Reality will appeal to philosophers working in applied ethics, philosophy of technology, and aesthetics, as well as researchers and students interested in game studies and game design.
Reality Media by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation ; P96.T42 B585 2021
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
How augmented reality and virtual reality are taking their places in contemporary media culture alongside film and television. T This book positions augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) firmly in contemporary media culture. The authors view AR and VR not as the latest hyped technologies but as media--the latest in a series of what they term "reality media," taking their places alongside film and television. Reality media inserts a layer of media between us and our perception of the world; AR and VR do not replace reality but refashion a reality for us. Each reality medium mediates and remediates; each offers a new representation that we implicitly compare to our experience of the world in itself but also through other media. The authors show that as forms of reality media emerge, they not only chart a future path for media culture, but also redefine media past. With AR and VR in mind, then, we can recognize their precursors in eighteenth-century panoramas and the Broadway lights of the 1930s. A digital version of Reality Media, available through the book's website, invites readers to visit a series of virtual rooms featuring interactivity, 3-D models, videos, images, and texts that explore the themes of the book.
Experience on Demand by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (QA76.9.C65B345 2018)
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Virtual reality is able to effectively blur the line between reality and illusion, pushing the limits of our imagination and granting us access to any experience imaginable. With well-crafted simulations, these experiences, which are so immersive that the brain believes they're real, are already widely available with a VR headset and will only become more accessible and commonplace. But how does this new medium affect its users and does it have a future beyond fantasy and escapism?In Experience on Demand, Jeremy Bailenson draws on two decades spent researching the psychological effects of VR and other mass media to help readers understand this powerful tool. He offers expert guidelines for interacting with VR and describes the profound ways this technology can be put to use, not to distance ourselves from reality, but to enrich our lives.
Virtual Reality by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (QA76.9.C65 V57235 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Virtual reality might seem like the stuff of science fiction, but it has been in use in various forms since the 1950s. The technology is being developed for use in education, professional and military training, therapy, entertainment, and design. But is a simulated world a better world? Experts caution that virtual reality could be physically and emotionally debilitating. They predict that society could go into decline. Is this simply fear of progress, or is it something to take seriously? Readers will learn the hot-button issues associated with virtual reality and whether we should be excited or afraid of this incredible technology.
Learning Transported by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation LB1028.3 .D62 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
Learning Transported helps educators plan and establish goals so that their investment in immersive technology benefits the greatest number of students. The book includes: Definitions and examples of augmented, virtual and mixed reality. Comparison of devices and platforms, and tips for selecting the best one. Lesson plans mapped to standards and content areas. Ideas for using immersive technology tools in the classroom. Immersive technology has great potential to transform learning and create engaging experiences for students. This book helps educators consider the most important factors in bringing this approach into the classroom: that the instruction addresses student outcomes and standards, and that the mechanism for delivering this learning is safe, affordable and suitable for the situation.
Emerging Technologies for Health and Medicine by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation R859.7.C67 E44 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
This book provides an overview and review of the current and anticipated changes in medicine and healthcare due to new technologies and faster communication between users and devices. The groundbreaking book presents state-of-the-art chapters on many subjects including: A review of the implications of Virtual Reality (VR) and Augmented Reality (AR) healthcare applications A review of current augmenting dental care An overview of typical human-computer interaction (HCI) that can help inform the development of user interface designs and novel ways to evaluate human behavior to responses in VR and other new technologies A review of telemedicine technologies Building empathy in young children using augmented reality AI technologies for mobile health of stroke monitoring & rehabilitation robotics control Mobile doctor brain AI App An artificial intelligence mobile cloud computing tool Development of a robotic teaching aid for disabled children Training system design of lower limb rehabilitation robot based on virtual reality
Virtually Sacred: myth and meaning in world of warcraft and second life by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (BL65.V57 G47 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Millions of users have taken up residence in virtual worlds, and in those worlds they find opportunities to revisit and rewrite their religious lives. Robert M. Geraci argues that virtual worlds and video games have become a locus for the satisfaction of religious needs, providing many userswith devoted communities, opportunities for ethical reflection, a meaningful experience of history and human activity, and a sense of transcendence.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.