Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for weight loss surgery research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Extreme Weight Loss by
Publication Date: 2021-04-27
A study that explores patients' perspectives on a life-altering surgery Bariatric surgery rates around the world have increased exponentially over the past decade. In Extreme Weight Loss, anthropologists Sarah Trainer, Alexandra Brewis, and Amber Wutich provide us with an inside look at how patients experience this medical procedure, as well as its far-reaching and complex personal implications. Drawing on patient interviews, survey data, and more, Trainer, Brewis, and Wutich explore why people decide to undergo bariatric surgery, and how that decision transforms their lives. They show, in painstaking detail, how the journey to weight loss is can be at once painful and liberating, dispiriting and self-affirming. It considers how people challenge and manage unfair standards, illuminating what it means to be large-bodied in America's diet-obsessed culture.
Gastric Bypass by
Publication Date: 2020-03-12
This book presents and describes the various uses of gastric bypass in bariatric and metabolic surgery and outlines the different techniques currently available. Furthermore, the possible complications with the procedure and ways to avoid them are also discussed. The use of the gastric bypass for the treatment of diabetes is emphasized and the new indications for the operative treatment of diabetes are featured in detail. Endoscopic uses concerning the gastric bypass are also addressed, covering preoperative evaluation, complications treatment, weight regain treatment and endoscopic treatment of obesity. The most advanced techniques and new technologies available for performing gastric bypass surgeries are presented in the most didactic possible way, making use of value-added learning features throughout the text.
Weight Management and Obesity by
Publication Date: 2016-01-18
To lower the risk and/or assist with the management of chronic illnesses, overweight and obese patients are frequently advised to lose weight. Although there are many proposed "quick fixes" for weight loss, long-term weight management is a struggle for most patients. As such, nutrition and healthcare clinicians need to understand the etiology of weight gain and the science-based steps necessary for proper and adequate weight management interventions. This textbook comprehensively examines the treatment of overweight and obesity using an individualized approach. Interventions including diet and behavioral modification, pharmacotherapy, surgery, and physical activity are discussed in the context of an overall lifestyle approach to weight management. Characteristics of successful weight management programs are explored.
The Complete Bariatric Surgery Guide and Diet Program by
Call Number: COMING SOON!!!
Publication Date: 2022-06-28
Bariatric surgery is a procedure designed to help people decrease their food intake and change the way their body handles food - the result being significant weight loss. Provides up-to-date information on the many procedures that are currently available in North America, including vertical sleeve gastrectomy, duodenal switch and the Roux-en-Y gastric bypass. As important, it looks at the causes of obesity, obesity-related problems and standard treatments. All the potential risks and benefits associated with each type of bariatric surgery are examined, as well as measures of success, and preparation and recovery instructions. Because diet and lifestyle are integral to ensuring a successful bariatric surgical outcome, the second component of the book provides the resources for healthy eating, nutrition, supplements and making positive changes in lifestyle.
The Obesity Epidemic by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Lakeland Circulation RC628 .T66 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
While government, advertisers, gyms, and the weight loss industry keep pushing solutions that science shows do not work--from extreme exercise regimens and fad dieting to prohibitively expensive surgeries, pills, and misguided education campaigns--Toomath outlines what just might make a difference in terms of helping people truly control their weight. Drawing on the latest research and her twenty years of working with overweight patients, Dr. Toomath argues that even strongly determined people who are offered appealing incentives typically cannot lose weight permanently. Instead of demonizing people by treating weight as an issue of personal or even moral responsibility, Dr. Toomath makes it clear that nothing will change until we make it easy for people to eat healthily.
Surgery Sourcebook by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Winter Haven Circulation RD31.3 .S87 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-23
Basic consumer health information about common surgical techniques and procedures, including appendectomy, breast biopsy, carotid endarterectomy, cataract removal, cesarean section, coronary artery bypass, cosmetic surgery, dilation and curettage, gallbladder surgery, hemorrhoidectomy, hysterectomy, hernia repair, low back surgery, mastectomy, prostatectomy, tonsillectomy, and weight-loss (bariatric) surgery; along with facts about emergency surgery and critical care and tips on preparing for surgery, getting a second opinion, managing pain and surgical complications, and recovering from surgery, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for more information.
Stranger Here by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RM222.2 .L343 2013 )
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
Jen Larsen always thought that if she could only lose some weight, she would be unstoppable. She was convinced that once she found a way to not be fat any more, she would have the perfect existence she’d always dreamed of. When diet after diet failed, she decided to try bariatric surgery, and it worked better than she ever could have dreamed: she lost 180 pounds. As the weight fell away, though, Larsen realized that getting skinny was not the magical cure she thought it would be--and suddenly, she wasn’t sure who she was anymore. Stranger Here is the brutally honest, surprisingly hilarious story of one woman’s journey from one extreme of the weight spectrum to the other, and of the unexpected emotional chaos it created.
Weight in America by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation RA645.O23 W49 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-22
Weight In America provides users with up-to-date statistics and information from numerous authoritative resources all in one volume. Provides information from academic and governmental sources on every aspect of overweight, obesity, and eating disorders, including their prevalence in the United States, their consequences, public opinion about them, and methods of combating them.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.