LibGuides: Workforce Automation: Home

Searching Tips

Searching Tips

Remember to the read any guidelines for your assignment before searching and finding sources. Make sure any articles used match the criteria set by your professor.

Consider the following:

Does your source need to be current?
Do articles need to be from a peer-reviewed journal?
Do you have to have certain types of sources (e.g. ebooks or articles)?
Is there minimum or maximum number of sources you need to use?

All these questions can usually be answered by reading your assignment guidelines. If there are specifications (e.g. the articles need to be from peer-reviewed journals) it is a good idea to select those limits when searching.

Starting Search Words

work AND automation

"workforce automation"

"workplace automation"

("self checkout" OR "self-checkout") AND automation

automation AND unemployment

automation AND "future of work"

To find more results, try combining terms with OR, for example:

"workforce automation" OR "workplace automation"

To compare the nuances between search words, try searching just one word/phrase and then another. For example, search automation AND "future of work" Then, search automation AND unemployment. How are the results different?

Experiment with removing the quotes and/or hyphens, as well as different combinations of terms and phrases.

The Digital Transformation of Labor (open Access) by Anthony Larsson (Editor); Robin Teigland (Editor)
ISBN: 9780367330705
Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Through a series of studies, the overarching aim of this book is to investigate if and how the digitalization/digital transformation process causes (or may cause) the autonomy of various labor functions, and its impact in creating (or stymieing) various job opportunities on the labor market. This book also seeks to illuminate what actors/groups are mostly benefited by the digitalization/digital transformation and which actors/groups that are put at risk by it. This book takes its point of departure from a 2016 OECD report that contends that the impact digitalization has on the future of labor is ambiguous, as on the one hand it is suggested that technological change is labor-saving, but on the other hand, it is suggested that digital technologies have not created new jobs on a scale that it replaces old jobs. Another 2018 OECD report indicated that digitalization and automation as such does not pose a real risk of destroying any significant number of jobs for the foreseeable future, although tasks would by and large change significantly. This would affects welfare, as most of its revenue stems from taxation, and particularly so from the taxation on labor (directly or indirectly). For this reason, this book will set out to explore how the future technological and societal advancements impact labor conditions. The book seeks to provide an innovative, enriching and controversial take on how various aspects of the labor market can be (and are) affected the ongoing digitalization trend in a way that is not covered by extant literature. As such, this book intends to cater to a wider readership, from a general audience and students, to specialized professionals and academics wanting to gain a deeper understanding of the possible future developments of the labor market in light of an accelerating digitalization/digital transformation of society at large.
Our Working Future by Justin Healey (Ed.)
ISBN: 9781925339123
Publication Date: 2016
"Technology is already dramatically reshaping Australia's workforce across a range of industries. Recent studies estimate that up to half of Australian jobs face a high probability of being replaced by computers in the next 20 years. What are the jobs under threat and where are the jobs of the future to be found? This book explores the digital disruption of employment through computerisation and automation; technological and structural change in the labour market; ways Australia can adapt to industry transformation through innovation; and future skills and higher learning options for young people. Could a robot do your job? How can we innovate in order to meet the demands of our working future?" Description from ProQuest Ebook Central

Futureproof by Kevin Roose
ISBN: 9780593133347
Publication Date: 2021-03-09
"A concise, insightful and sophisticated guide to maintaining humane values in an age of new machines."--The New York Times Book Review "While we need to rewrite the rules of the twenty-first-century economy, Kevin's book is a great look at how people can do this on a personal level to always put humanity first."--Andrew Yang You are being automated. After decades of hype and sci-fi fantasies, artificial intelligence is leaping out of research labs and into the center of our lives. Automation doesn't just threaten our jobs. It shapes our entire human experience, with AI and algorithms influencing the TV shows we watch, the music we listen to, the beliefs we hold, and the relationships we form. And while the age-old debate over whether automation will destroy jobs rages on, an even more important question is being ignored: How can we be happy, successful humans in a world that is increasingly built by and for machines? In Futureproof: 9 Rules for Humans in the Age of Automation, New York Times technology columnist Kevin Roose lays out a hopeful, pragmatic vision for how we can thrive in the age of AI and automation. He shares the secrets of people and organizations that have survived previous waves of technological change, and explains what skills are necessary to stay ahead of today's intelligent machines, with lessons like * Be surprising, social, and scarce. * Resist machine drift. * Leave handprints. * Demote your devices. * Treat AI like a chimp army. Roose rejects the conventional wisdom that in order to succeed in the AI age, we have to become more like machines ourselves--hyper-efficient, data-driven workhorses. Instead, he says, we should focus on being more human, and doing the kinds of creative, inspiring, and meaningful things even the most advanced robots can't do.
The Work of the Future by Elisabeth Reynolds; Robert M. Solow (Foreword by); David H. Autor; David A. Mindell
ISBN: 9780262046367
Publication Date: 2022-01-25
Why the United States lags behind other industrialized countries in sharing the benefits of innovation with workers and how we can remedy the problem. The United States has too many low-quality, low-wage jobs. Every country has its share, but those in the United States are especially poorly paid and often without benefits. Meanwhile, overall productivity increases steadily and new technology has transformed large parts of the economy, enhancing the skills and paychecks of higher paid knowledge workers. What's wrong with this picture? Why have so many workers benefited so little from decades of growth? The Work of the Future shows that technology is neither the problem nor the solution. We can build better jobs if we create institutions that leverage technological innovation and also support workers though long cycles of technological transformation. Building on findings from the multiyear MIT Task Force on the Work of the Future, the book argues that we must foster institutional innovations that complement technological change. Skills programs that emphasize work-based and hybrid learning (in person and online), for example, empower workers to become and remain productive in a continuously evolving workplace. Industries fueled by new technology that augments workers can supply good jobs, and federal investment in R&D can help make these industries worker-friendly. We must act to ensure that the labor market of the future offers benefits, opportunity, and a measure of economic security to all.
A World Without Work by Daniel Susskind
ISBN: 9781250173515
Publication Date: 2020-01-14
SHORTLISTED FOR THE FINANCIAL TIMES & MCKINSEY 2020 BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR One of Fortune Best Books of the Year One of Inc. Best Business Books of the Year One of The Times (UK) Best Business Books of the Year A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice From an Oxford economist, a visionary account of how technology will transform the world of work, and what we should do about it From mechanical looms to the combustion engine to the first computers, new technologies have always provoked panic about workers being replaced by machines. For centuries, such fears have been misplaced, and many economists maintain that they remain so today. But as Daniel Susskind demonstrates, this time really is different. Breakthroughs in artificial intelligence mean that all kinds of jobs are increasingly at risk. Drawing on almost a decade of research in the field, Susskind argues that machines no longer need to think like us in order to outperform us, as was once widely believed. As a result, more and more tasks that used to be far beyond the capability of computers - from diagnosing illnesses to drafting legal contracts, from writing news reports to composing music - are coming within their reach. The threat of technological unemployment is now real. This is not necessarily a bad thing, Susskind emphasizes. Technological progress could bring about unprecedented prosperity, solving one of humanity's oldest problems: how to make sure that everyone has enough to live on. The challenges will be to distribute this prosperity fairly, to constrain the burgeoning power of Big Tech, and to provide meaning in a world where work is no longer the center of our lives. Perceptive, pragmatic, and ultimately hopeful, A World Without Work shows the way.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Workforce Automation: Home

Welcome

Searching Tips

Starting Search Words

eBooks/Books

Recommended Databases

Login Required

Ask a Librarian

Organization of Information