Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for work and gender related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Playing to Strength: Leveraging Gender at Work by
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
This book offers a new approach for helping managers and organizations make better, more productive use of both men and women at work—an approach based on what they have in common, not on what some think divides them. * Appendices include a case study of gender in the corporate world, a sample gender inclusion plan, and experiential accounts of gender dynamics in the workplace
Gender, Race, and Ethnicity in the Workplace by
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Insights from professionals in the fields of organizational development and diversity provide practical tools to help employees and managers—regardless of race or gender—collaborate in reaching their workplace potential. * Presents new research on the many forms of employment discrimination based on multiracial identity, appearance, and transgender status * Includes contributions from professionals in the fields of social psychology, law, gender studies, and ethics, among others * Reveals effective ways for promoting inclusion of women and people of color in today's global workforce * Covers the workforce in the public sector, private sector, and military * Considers the role of social media in helping break through workplace barriers
Handbook of Gender, Work and Organization by
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This work of reference represents a remarkably complete, detailed and extensive review of the field of gender, work and organization in the second decade of the 21st century. The chapters are organized in five sections: Histories and Philosophies; Organizing Work and the Gendered Organization; Embodiment; Globalization; and Diversity. Efforts to produce greater gender equality in the workplace are covered in nearly every chapter, in terms of past successes and failures. Military organizations are presented as one of the difficult to change in regards to gender (with the result that women are marginalized in practice even when official policies and goals require their full inclusion). Particular attention is paid to sexuality in/and organizations, including sexual harassment, policies to alleviate bias, and the likelihood that future work will pay more attention to the body's presence and role in work and organizations.
Under the Bus by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HD6060.5.U5 F74 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Caroline Fredrickson is a powerful advocate and D.C. insider who has witnessed the legislative compromises that leave out temps, farmworkers, employees of small businesses, immigrants and other workers who fall outside an intentionally narrow definition of employees. The women in this fast-growing part of the workforce are denied minimum wage, maternity leave, health care, the right to unionize and protection from harassment and discrimination-all within the bounds of the law. If current trends continue, their fate will be the future of all American workers.
Sex Discrimination in the Workplace by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HD6060.65.U5 S49 2007)
Publication Date: 2007-06-11
Sex Discrimination in the Workplace is an interdisciplinary volume that examines the various approaches to the study of sex discrimination and explores solutions and interventions. With riveting first-hand accounts from plaintiffs, lawyers and expert witnesses who have mounted battles against discriminatory employers, it is an invaluable resource for anyone seeking to gain a better understanding of precisely what sex discrimination is and what can be done to combat it.
Male/Female Roles by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HQ1075 .G4663 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications. This title explores whether gender roles are important, how gender roles affect parenting and reproduction, how gender roles affect the workplace, and how gender roles are changing.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Global Issues in Context Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.