Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for workplace discrimination research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Subtle Acts of Exclusion by
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
The first practical handbook that helps individuals and organizations recognize and prevent microaggressions so that all employees can feel a sense of belonging. Our workplaces and society are growing more diverse, but are we supporting inclusive cultures? While overt racism, sexism, ableism, and other forms of discrimination are relatively easy to spot, we cannot neglect the subtler everyday actions that normalize exclusion. Many have heard the term microaggression, but not everyone fully understands what they are or how to recognize them and stop them from happening. Jana and Baran give simple and clear tools to identify and address such acts, offering scripts and action plans for everybody involved.
Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Let the CEO of Rework Work help you understand diversity, equity, and inclusion concepts to actively remove bias from the workplace. This real-world handbook offers step-by-step guidance on creating workplace cultures where employees feel they belong. UNBIAS teaches you to: Identify and address bias in the workplace, understand what you can do to be more inclusive, handle potentially uncomfortable conversations, discuss race in an authentic and meaningful way, use workplace-proven tools that make concepts of diversity and equity actionable, help your employee resource groups without giving them extra work, & place accountability on organizational policies that allow biased behavior.
Beat Gender Bias by
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Bias might be built in to how our brains work, but that doesn't make it acceptable. Recent advances in psychology and neuroscience have given us unprecedented insight into how biases interfere with good decision-making. When it comes to leadership, biases create a 'sticky floor', making it hard for women to rise to the top. The good news is that the change to gender balance can be accelerated if you know more about how bias works.In this book, Dr Karen Morley explains how biases, particularly the insidious unconscious ones, trip us up. She outlines an approach for minimising their impact in organisations with Bias Busters - specific actions you can take with the goal of making it easier to notice, talk about and overcome bias.
Gender, Race, and Ethnicity in the Workplace: Emerging Issues and Enduring Challenges by
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Presents new research on the many forms of employment discrimination based on multiracial identity, appearance, and transgender status. Includes contributions from professionals in the fields of social psychology, law, gender studies, and ethics, among others. Reveals effective ways for promoting inclusion of women and people of color in today's global workforce. Covers the workforce in the public sector, private sector, and military. Considers the role of social media in helping break through workplace barriers.
The Civil Rights Act and the Battle to End Workplace Discrimination by
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Access to this title coming soon! On the fiftieth anniversary of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, Raymond F. Gregory evaluates our progress towards the full implementation of one of the law's key provisions: Title VII, which prohibits discrimination in the workplace. Gregory looks at key litigation as the law has come to include discrimination based on more than just race, but on gender, age, ethnicity, and sexual orientation. From the segregationist policies of the past to lingering workplace oppression in the form of sexual harassment, age discrimination, and religious conflicts, the places we work have always been the scenes of some of our greatest civil rights battles.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Winter Haven Circulation BF575.P9 E34 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-26
"Poignant....important and illuminating."--The New York Times Book Review "Groundbreaking."--Bryan Stevenson, New York Times bestselling author of Just Mercy From one of the world's leading experts on unconscious racial bias come stories, science, and strategies to address one of the central controversies of our time How do we talk about bias? How do we address racial disparities and inequities? What role do our institutions play in creating, maintaining, and magnifying those inequities? What role do we play? With a perspective that is at once scientific, investigative, and informed by personal experience, Dr. Jennifer Eberhardt offers us the language and courage we need to face one of the biggest and most troubling issues of our time. She exposes racial bias at all levels of society--in our neighborhoods, schools, workplaces, and criminal justice system. Yet she also offers us tools to address it. Eberhardt shows us how we can be vulnerable to bias but not doomed to live under its grip. Racial bias is a problem that we all have a role to play in solving.
Did That Just Happen?! Beyond “Diversity”--Creating Sustainable and Inclusive Organizations by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation; HF5549.5.M5 P56 2021
Publication Date: 2021-06-15
We know that diverse teams are stronger, smarter, and more profitable, and many companies are attempting to hire more diverse teams, but most struggle to create a real culture of inclusivity in which people from all backgrounds feel comfortable. As clinical psychologists, as well as individuals with marginalized identities, Dr. Stephanie Pinder-Amaker and Dr. Lauren Wadsworth show the emotional and physical impact of marginalization and how that leads to a decrease in employee engagement and, often, increased job turnover. "Did That Just Happen?!" will be invaluable for employees who come from underrepresented communities and identities (identities discussed include race, age, disability, sexual orientation, citizenship status, and gender expression).
Front of the House, Back of the House by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HD8039.F72 W55 2021
Publication Date: 2020-12-29
Eli Revelle Yano Wilson shows us what keeps workers apart, exploring race, class, and gender inequalities in the food service industry. Drawing on research at three different high-end restaurants in Los Angeles, Wilson highlights why these inequalities persist in the twenty-first century, pointing to discriminatory hiring and supervisory practices that ultimately grant educated whites access to the most desirable positions. Additionally, he shows us how workers navigate these inequalities under the same roof, making sense of their jobs, their identities, and each other in a world that reinforces their separateness. Front of the House, Back of the House takes us behind the scenes of the food service industry, providing a window into the unequal lives of white and Latino restaurant workers.
The Future of Tech Is Female by
Call Number: olk/Lakeland Lakeland Circulation HD30.2 .B73 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
Why is it that only 5% of senior executives in the tech industry are female? Underrepresentation of women on boards of directors, in the C-suite, and as senior managers remains pervasive in this industry. As tech companies are plagued with high-profile claims of harassment and discrimination, and salary discrepancies for comparable work, one asks what prevents women from reaching management roles, and, more importantly, what can be done to fix it? Branson explores a variety of solutions such as mandatory quota laws for female employment, pledge programs, and limitations on the H1-B VISA program, and grapples with the challenges facing women in IT from a range of perspectives. An invaluable resource for anyone invested in gender equality in corporate governance.
A Shameful Business: the case for human rights in the American workplace by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (KF3455 .G76 2010)
Publication Date: 2010-01-07
In a book that confronts the moral choices that U.S. corporations make every day in the treatment of their workers, James A. Gross issues a clarion call for the transformation of the American workplace based on genuine respect for human rights. Gross questions the nation's underlying fabric of values as reflected in its laws and our assumptions about workers and the workplace. To make his case, Gross assesses various aspects of U.S. labor relations freedom of association, racial discrimination, management rights, workplace safety, and human resources through the lens of internationally accepted human rights principles as standards of judgment.
Under the bus : how working women are being run over by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HD6060.5.U5 F74 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Most Americans think that our country has done quite a lot to protect women and ensure gender equity in the workplace. After all, we have banned discrimination against women, required equal pay for equal work, and adopted family-leave legislation. But the fact is that we have a two-tiered system, where some working women have a full panoply of rights while others have few or none at all. We allow blatant discrimination by small employers. Domestic workers are cut out of our wage and overtime laws. Part-time workers, disproportionately women, are denied basic benefits. For these workers, the system that was supposed to act as a safety net has become a sieve--and they are still falling through. Caroline Fredrickson is a powerful advocate and D.C. insider who has witnessed the legislative compromises that leave out temps, farmworkers, employees of small businesses, immigrants, and other workers who fall outside an intentionally narrow definition of "employees."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.