Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC1101 College Composition I, Prof. Baker: Finding Books

Library Catalog - Searching for Books in the Polk State Library

Searching the library catalog for only books can be tricky.

1. To access the library catalog, go the Polk State College homepage and select the link Library/TLCC at the top of the page.

2. Under Library, select the link for Books/Catalog.

3. Enter keywords (search terms) into the search box, then select the green magnifying glass.

Search terms "artificial intelligence" entered in Primo VE search box

4. Use filtering options to refine results

To limit to ONLY ebooks with full text, select "Available Online" AND "Books"

Electronic books may be accessed anywhere at anytime from almost any electronic device. The majority of our ebooks will also include searching features as well as citation generators. 

To limit to only print books at Polk State College, select "Held by Library" AND "Books"

Primo Book Filters


Successful book search:

You know your filters for physical print books were applied when you see "Held by library" AND "Books" listed under Active Filters. 

Primo Book Filters Applied including Publication Date Filter

Select the title of a specific book to view additional information or request a book to be held for you. When requesting a book to be transferred to another campus, remember this will take a few days. If you need a print book the same day, make sure it is already at the location where you will be picking it up.

Note: To place a hold or transfer request, you will need to sign into the library using your Student ID AND password you use for Passport (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Library books may be returned to any Polk State library location. 


Successful ebook search:

You know your filters for ebooks were applied when you see "Available online" AND "Books" listed under Active Filters. 

Primo search with filters for ebooks applied


Viewing ebooks

View ebook abstracts by selecting the book's title (link) and looking under "Details".

  • View full text of ebooks by selecting the blue link for the ebook collection including the chosen title (in the "View Online" section under "Full text availability".  
  • You will need to login to view the full text of the ebooks. Use your Student ID AND password you use for Passport (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Primo ebook detail page including view online / full text section

Note: Occasionally you may be required to verify your login information while viewing the ebooks.

If you are having difficulty locating the books you need - please don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help!

Checking out @ Polk State Libraries

NOTE: Books are once again available for checkout!

Select print books from the library's catalog and return them at one of our Lakeland or Winter Haven campus book drops.

Additional information on our NEW curbside pickup and books by mail option is available here: http://bit.ly/CurbsideBooks  

BOOK CHECKOUT:

Requires Student ID at Circulation Desk.  Check-out periods are 3 weeks long & can be renewed online in your library account.

Image of Library Circulation Desk and a cartoon student with a Polk State ID card.

How Do I Log In @ Polk State Libraries

LOGGING INTO YOUR LIBRARY ACCOUNT

*Students: Use your Passport information - Student ID number and Password (default: two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Your Library Account allows you to use access Polk State Libraries' databases, renew book loans, and request books from Florida's 28 state colleges and 12 state universities.

Note: Faculty and staff members use their Polk email address and password.

AskALibrarian

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.