Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Statistics on the Internet
You probably already have some statistics from your CQ researcher articles. Did you notice where CQ Researcher got them? Quite probably from a government source. The government is a wonderful source for statistics and you can access most government statistical resources easily via the Internet - because... they basically belong to you. They are produced with your tax dollars after all. Many are also available in print form and can be found in the PSC library as well as on the Internet.
The challenge is knowing where they are.
Some Internet sources for statistics provided by the US government include:
If you are not sure where to find the stats that you need, try using a statistics directory - a place where real live people put together websites by subject area. ex/ http://www.refdesk.com/factpop.html You can always do a general Internet search for "statistics" and whatever you topic is, but... you will have to carefully evaluate the sites. Anyone can author a web site, you know?
Here are a few additional sites you may want to check before googling for statistics:
Statistics in Polk State Databases
If there are so many government provided resources on the Internet for free, why bother with the databases? Well... basically you will be getting the same statistics that you would get from the Internet and print resources, but they are all in one convenient place.
It does take some time to get comfortable with some of the databases - take a minute to look at the tutorial or help pages before you begin. or... just ask the library staff for assistance.
*Demographics Now is a database that is chock full of statistics!
*Login required to access
Student ID (including the letter) AND Password for Passport
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2022 by
The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878. This 2022 edition continues the heritage begun so long ago by the U.S. government, with the U.S. Census Bureau being the last agency to produce the compendium at government expense. Now in our tenth annual edition, Rowman & Littlefield and ProQuest carry on the proud tradition and responsibility of creating the statistical portrait of America. As a comprehensive collection of statistics, it is a snapshot of America and its people. Our editors are committed to updating the long-standing, historical statistics as new data becomes available, as well as finding new topics to cover. This edition includes approximately 40 new tables on a variety of topics including:·Customs and Border Patrol Drug Seizures: 2018 to 2020·Consumer Spending Using Payment Card Transactions--Monthly Trends: February 2020 to February 2021·Medical Care Delay or Nonreceipt During the Past 12 Months Due to Cost: 2000 to 2018·Household Medical Debt--Incidence and Value by Selected Characteristics: 2017·Firms Utilizing Selected Digital Technology by Industry: 2018·Wetlands on Nonfederal Land and Water Areas by Land Cover Type for Top 10 States: 2017·Occupied Housing Units--Characteristics by Poverty Status: 2019·Occupied Housing Units--Characteristics by Census Division: 2019·Retail Sales and Leases of New and Used Vehicles: 2010 to 2019·Geographic Mobility Status of the Population by Selected Characteristics: 1950 to 2020·Electric Power Industry--Generation, Sales, Revenue, and Customers: 2005 to 2020·Average Class Size in Public and Private Schools by Selected School Characteristics: 2018 Additionally, the impact of COVID-19 is covered in several existing tables.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven WH & LK Reference REF HA202 .P7 2022
Publication Date: 2022-02-24
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2021 by
The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878. This 2021 edition continues the heritage begun so long ago by the U.S. government, with the U.S. Census Bureau being the last agency to produce the compendium at government expense. Now in our ninthh annual edition, Rowman & Littlefield and ProQuest carry on the proud tradition and responsibility of creating the statistical portrait of America. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. It is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country. As a comprehensive collection of statistics, it is a snapshot of America and its people. Our editors are committed to updating the long-standing, historical statistics as new data becomes available, as well as finding new topics to cover.
Call Number: Polk/LK & WH Reference REF HA202 .P76 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-15
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2020 by
The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Reference - REF HA202 .P7 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-13
The Statesman's Yearbook 2022 by
Now in its 158th edition, The Statesman's Yearbook continues to be the reference work of choice for accurate and reliable information on every country in the world. Covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Winter Haven Reference REF D863 .S73 2022
Publication Date: 2021-09-24
The Statesman's Yearbook 2021 by
Now in its 157th edition, The Statesman's Yearbook continues to be the reference work of choice for accurate and reliable information on every country in the world. Covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Winter Haven Reference REF JA51 .S7 2021
Publication Date: 2020-10-14
Business Statistics of the United States 2021 by
A comprehensive and practical collection of data from as early as 1913 that reflects the nation's economic performance. It provides several years of annual, quarterly, and monthly data in industrial and demographic detail including key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more. Business Statistics of the United States is the best place to find historical perspectives on the U.S. economy. Of equal importance to the data are the introductory highlights, extensive notes, and figures for each chapter that help users to understand the data, use them appropriately, and, if desired, seek additional information from the source agencies. The 2021 edition examines the dramatic effect that COVID-19 had on the U.S. and world economies. For the first time, it examines many issues related to the pandemic including the impact it has had on income and spending, the sharp increase in e-commerce, the decline in trade, and its effect on energy prices.
Publication Date: 2022-02-11
Patterns of Economic Change by State and Area 2021 by
Presents data on personal income, employment, and gross domestic product for the United States as a whole, and by region, state, and metropolitan statistical area (MSA). Data on personal income and employment extends back to 1960 for the states and regions and to 1970 for the MSAs. This book contributes historical time-series measurements of key aggregates that show how the economies of regions, states, and metropolitan areas have responded over time to cyclical currents and long-term trends. Statistics at the state level provide a framework for analyzing current economic conditions in each state and can serve as a basis for decision making. For example: -Federal government agencies use the statistics as a basis for allocating funds and determining matching grants to states. The statistics are also used in forecasting models to project energy and water use. -State governments use the statistics to project tax revenues and the need for public services. -Academic regional economists use the statistics for applied research. -Businesses, trade associations, and labor organizations use the statistics for market research.
Publication Date: 2021-11-20
Crime in the United States 2021 by
This book contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses—known to law enforcement—released annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program. This reference is the most comprehensive official compilation of crime statistics in the United States. Because the FBI no longer prints these findings, Bernan Press continues to provide this practical information in convenient book form.
Publication Date: 2021