Becoming a Firefighter by
A revealing guide to a career as a firefighter written by acclaimed author Jeff Wilser and based on the real-life experiences of the heroes of the St. Louis fire department--required reading for anyone considering a path to this profession. Becoming a Firefighter takes you behind the scenes to find out what it's really like, and what it really takes, to become a firefighter. Author Jeff Wilser imbeds with one of the oldest departments in the country, the St. Louis Fire Department, to show how this high-stakes profession becomes a reality. Discover what it's like to fight a three-alarm blaze; attend fire academy; prepare for routine calls; and rigorously train for worst-case scenarios. Gain professional wisdom from the beloved fire chief as well as a decorated 25-year veteran field commander. Firefighting is a calling, and those who choose this path are devoted to their work--here is how this life-saving job is actually performed by the best in the field.
Disaster and Emergency Preparedness For Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Terrorism and Other Hazards by
Featuring the most current, valid, and reliable evidence-based content available, this three-time AJN winner once again presents an unparalleled resource for disaster and emergency preparedness. Disasters lay heavy burdens upon healthcare systems that stretch all levels of society. While natural and man-made disasters are not new, the global nature, rate, type, and totality of their impact has only increased. The fourth edition of this foundational text uniquely addresses the rapid changes in these crises and analyzes the latest attempts to provide timely, multidisciplinary healthcare. Nurses consistently comprise seventy or more percent of responders to local, national, regional, and global crises, and represent a potentially untapped resource to achieve surge capacity goals and optimize population health outcomes. Considering recent world events and increasing geopolitical tensions, Disaster Nursing and Emergency Preparedness, Fourth Edition now features expanded content on the ubiquitous threat of terrorism, potential detonation of thermonuclear weapons, emerging and reemerging infectious diseases, and increasing frequency and intensity of natural disasters from climate change. This text promotes competency-based expert nursing care during disasters and positive health outcomes for small and large populations consistent with the Federal Disaster Response Framework. Whenever possible, content is mapped to published core competencies for preparing health professions' students for response to terrorism, disaster events, and public health emergencies. The fourth edition retains the clearly organized format in each chapter that includes an overview, learning objectives, a summary, and case study with reflective questions. New to the Fourth Edition: Addresses the most recent landmark agreementsSendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduc
Firefighter Fitness: A Health and Wellness Guide by
This book highlights fire-fighting as one of the nation's most dangerous and hazardous jobs, with heart attacks, high physical stress levels, sprains, and strains all too common. Of all fire-fighters in the United States, 72 percent are volunteers. The leading cause of on-duty death among volunteers is heart attack. The leading cause of injuries for all fire-fighters is overexertion and strain. The prevalence of cardiovascular illness and deaths and work-inhibiting strains and sprains among fire-fighters illustrates the need for a comprehensive health and wellness program in every department. To address the issues specific to volunteers, the National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC) developed this guide to health and wellness for volunteer departments and members. In 2003, the NVFC launched the ground breaking Heart-Healthy Firefighter Program specifically to address heart disease in the fire and emergency services. This awareness and prevention campaign targets all fire-fighters and emergency personnel -- both volunteer and career. This is an edited, excerpted and augmented edition of a U.S. Fire Administration publication.
Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice by
Driven by changes to clinical practice, new evidence-based research, and shifts in global economics and politics, the field of paramedic science is rapidly evolving. This new edition of Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice offers students and recently qualified practitioners an accessible and comprehensive introduction to paramedic science and pre-hospital care, providing expert and up-to-date guidance on the essential theories and real-world practice of this dynamic area of emergency medicine. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, this user-friendly textbook provides broad and inclusive coverage of topics including professionalism, law and ethics, assessment skills, research methods, pharmacology and more. Contributions from experienced paramedics and clinicians, contemporary case studies, full-colour illustrations and powerful pedagogical tools help students gain a thorough understanding of the essential components of paramedic practice. Employs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to the study of paramedic practice, presenting theoretical and clinical topics in a straightforward and student-friendly manner New chapters on toxicology, medical terminology and low acuity care in paramedicine, with an increased focus on mental health Includes new end-of-chapter learning activities and quizzes, case studies and references, charts and diagrams Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice: A Systems Approach is an invaluable resource for undergraduate paramedic and emergency care students as well as qualified paramedics, clinicians and educators seeking an authoritative reference on current practice.
Mater the Firefighter Exam (18th ed.) by
From ProQuest Ebook Central: "Learn what it takes to become a firefighter. Peterson’s® Master the Firefighter Exam gives prospective firefighters the tools they need to prepare for and pass all portions of the firefighter exam—written, physical ability, oral interview, and psychological—to help them begin their life-saving career as a first responder. This comprehensive guide provides everything you need to pass local, state, and national written exams, including test-taking strategies, information on the firefighter screening process, expert oral interview and job search advice, and a review of the Candidate Physical Ability Test (CPAT). full-length practice tests which include questions from actual Fire Department exams—all with detailed answer explanations Strategies for tackling each section of the firefighter exam—reading comprehension, reasoning and judgment, spatial orientation, observation and memory, fire science, and mechanical reasoning Valuable tips on how to prepare for the physical aptitude (CPAT) portion of the screening process In-depth review of the firefighting profession, including employment prospects, job tasks performed by firefighters, and information on training, advancement, and related occupations Comprehensive list of the latest EMT, first-aid, and crisis management requirements Expert advice on acing the oral interview and information on psychological testing."
People Focused Police Leadership : Future Opportunities, Challenges and Directions by
From ProQuest Ebook Central "Welcome to this e-book of the International Journal of Emergency Services. We are delighted to be able to bring you a collection focused specifically on the police, and on exploring the future challenges for police leaders with an emphasis on the people aspects. Our aim is to highlight, discuss and further develop issues that are likely to be important in the future but are not currently being considered. This is done with the hope that it will enable police services across the world to prepare as much as they are able for our exciting and challenging future."
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.
If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.
You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
Head to the Database List or view one of the databases below.
This link opens in a new window