Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 - Professor Siler: Newspaper Article Databases

Finding Large Collections of Newspapers Among the Databases

Most of our 100+ library databases include some newspaper articles. However, there are a few databases that specialize in newspaper collections. To easily view these options: 

Filter the A-Z database list by Subject by selecting the drop down next to "All Subjects"

Then select "News & Current Events" 

Subject filter with News and Current Events Highlighted       Polk State Databases sorted by subject with the newspaper and current events subject filter

 

Note: "Florida News Sources (Newsbank)" is a subset of America's News (also Newsbank).

Tip: When using any of the Newsbank databases, you will want to make good use of the many filtering options provided to narrow your search. This will help prevent you from getting numerous duplicate articles.

Newsbank

Access World News (Newsbank):

 

Florida Newspaper Database (Gale)

Main Search Screen for the Florida Newspaper Database (Gale)

Searching in the Florida Newspaper Database is nearly identical to searching in Gale's Academic OneFile database. View the Academic OneFile tab in the dropdown menu above for information on how to search, filer results, view articles, email articles to yourself (so you don't need to find them again later), and copy databases generated citations for articles.

Remember to verify the formatting is correct before submitting your assignment(s).

Newspaper Pic

Folded newspapers, stacked beside a coffee cup

Photo courtesy of Pixabay

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.