It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choose a topic, discussed in the CQ Researcher library database, of current national or global importance. Hint: You can use the "browse topics" option near the top of the database if you are unsure what you would like to research.
You may choose from any CQ Researcher article appearing between 2016 and now - except you may NOT choose: abortion, capital punishment, gun control, hazing, serial killers, cosmetic surgery, eating disorders, or teen pregnancy.
Use the CQ Researcher article to gather a strong foundation in the topic. Then, formulate a question to help you narrow the focus of your research.
Find a variety of other sources that discuss the various points associated with your issue AND at least 2 recent (2016 or later) statistics that establish the relevance of the topic.
Your sources must include:
1 CQ Researcher article (2016 or later)
2 sources from periodicals--magazines, journals, or newspapers, obtained from print, an online version of a source, or through PCC library’s electronic databases
1 source that originally came from a book - Opposing Viewpoints database is great for these AND the library's catalog has thousands of ebooks you can access from home
1 relevant website
Gif from Gifer, creator unknown
Current Issues Assignment PDFs
View or download PDF versions of the Research Assignment below. For due dates, check the calendar or assignment area in your Canvas course.
Begin by selecting an approved topic in the CQ Researcher database.
Sign in using your Passport credentials:
Your Student ID number&Password (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).
CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowProvides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Try searching in one of these next!
Academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale in Context: Global IssuesThis link opens in a new windowOffers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Catalog and Database Search
Search Polk State College's library resources here:
What "Assignments" to Turn in Related to this Project and Their Main Highlights:
1. Working Outine - Including your thesis
2. Research Proposal:
Part 1: (1 page) Topic explanation, research question, background information, statistics, relevance, your interest in topic, & your sources
Part 2: Updated working outline
3. Annotated Bibliography - Include at least 5 sources:
1 CQ Researcher Article
2 sources from magazines/journals/newspapers
1 source the originally came from a newspaper
1 relevant website.
4. Research Project
6-8 pages of text
Minimum of 5 references - 1 CQ Researcher article, 2 periodicals, 1 book (Opposing Viewpoints database will work for this), & 1 relevant website
Minimum of 2 in-text citations in each paragraph (other than the introduction and conclusion).
You must also make use of recent statistics at least twice within your paper.
5. TLCC Extra Credit!
Note: Consult the PDFs on the left and your modules and assignments pages in Canvas for full details on these assignments, as well as the grading rubrics :-)
Selecting a Topic
As you may already have discovered this is often the hardest step in the research paper writing process. It is also a very important step. If you choose a topic that is very broad - "Poverty" - you will be overwhelmed with information and you will have difficulty organizing your ideas and findings into a manageable, cohesive paper. If you choose a topic that is very narrow - "Gifted Children Living in Poverty Benefit From Having Pet Fish" - obviously, you will have trouble finding enough sources to support your paper. Take time to focus your topic.
If you can, try to choose a topic that truly interests you. Thankfully, controversial topics (like those in CQ Researcher) are often the most interesting topics!
Not finding enough sources?
You may need to use different search terms/databases
*Still have no idea what (general) topic to choose?