Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for artificial intelligence research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
When Robots Kill: Artificial Intelligence Under Criminal Law by
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
The growing use of artificial intelligence (AI) software and robots in the commercial, industrial, military, medical, and personal spheres has triggered a broad conversation about human relationships with these entities. There is a deep and common concern in modern society about AI technology and the ability of existing social and legal arrangements to cope with it. What are the legal ramifications if an AI software program or robotic entity causes harm? Although AI and robotics are making their way into everyday modern life, there is little comprehensive analysis about assessing liability for robots, machines, or software that exercise varying degrees of autonomy.
Smart Machines : IBM's Watson and the Era of Cognitive Computing by
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
The victory of IBM's Watson on the television quiz show Jeopardy! revealed how scientists and engineers at IBM and elsewhere are pushing the boundaries of science and technology to create machines that sense, learn, reason, and interact with people in new ways to provide insight and advice. In Smart Machines, John E. Kelly III, director of IBM Research, and Steve Hamm, a writer at IBM and a former business and technology journalist, introduce the fascinating world of "cognitive systems" to general audiences and provide a window into the future of computing.
The Technological Singularity by
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
The idea that human history is approaching a "singularity" -- that ordinary humans will someday be overtaken by artificially intelligent machines or cognitively enhanced biological intelligence, or both -- has moved from the realm of science fiction to serious debate. Some singularity theorists predict that if the field of artificial intelligence (AI) continues to develop at its current dizzying rate, the singularity could come about in the middle of the present century. Murray Shanahan offers an introduction to the idea of the singularity and considers the ramifications of such a potentially seismic event.
Artificial Intelligence and the Technological Singularity by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (Q335.4.A783 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Will machines take over the world one day? Will they have human emotions? Will they be our friends or foes? Will they make our lives easier or will they wipe out the human labor force? Readers will come to their own conclusions after reading articles from leading experts forecasting how robots and machines will be integrated into our world, as well as their warnings about how it could all go horribly wrong. Aside from the obvious benefits, the development of artificial intelligence brings up a host of ethical considerations, which are being debated by the world's technology leaders before it's too late.
Life 3. 0 by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (Q334.7.T44 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-08-29
How will Artificial Intelligence affect crime, war, justice, jobs, society and our very sense of being human? How can we grow our prosperity through automation without leaving people lacking income or purpose? What career advice should we give today's kids? How can we make future AI systems more robust, so that they do what we want without crashing, malfunctioning or getting hacked? Should we fear an arms race in lethal autonomous weapons? Will machines eventually outsmart us at all tasks, replacing humans on the job market and perhaps altogether? This book empowers you to join what may be the most important conversation of our time. It doesn't shy away from the full range of viewpoints or from the most controversial issues--from superintelligence to meaning, consciousness and the ultimate physical limits on life in the cosmos.
Artificial Intelligence by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (Q335.K36 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-10-03
Over the coming decades, Artificial Intelligence will profoundly impact the way we live, work, wage war, play, seek a mate, educate our young, and care for our elderly. It is likely to greatly increase our aggregate wealth, but it will also upend our labor markets, reshuffle our social order,and strain our private and public institutions.The emergence of systems capable of independent reasoning and action raises serious ethical questions about just whose interests they are permitted to serve, and what limits our society should place on their creation and use. Can a machine be held accountable for its actions? Who should be held responsible when a self-driving car kills a pedestrian? Can your personal robot holdyour place in line, or be compelled to testify against you? If it turns out to be possible to upload your mind into a machine, is that still you? The answers may surprise you.
Our Robots, Ourselves: robotics and the myths of autonomy by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (TJ211.495 .M56 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
In Our Robots, Ourselves,David Mindell offers a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the cutting edge of robotics today, debunking commonly held myths and exploring the rapidly changing relationships between humans and machines. a Drawing on firsthand experience, extensive interviews, and the latest research from MIT and elsewhere, Mindell takes us to extreme environments-high atmosphere, deep ocean, and outer space-to reveal where the most advanced robotics already exist.
Artificial Superintelligence by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (Q335 .Y36 2016)
Publication Date: 2015-06-19
Artificial Superintelligence: A Futuristic Approach discusses key topics such as: AI-Completeness theory and how it can be used to see if an artificial intelligent agent has attained human level intelligence, Methods for safeguarding the invention of a superintelligent system that could theoretically be worth trillions of dollars, Self-improving AI systems: definition, types, and limits, The science of AI safety engineering, including machine ethics and robot rights Solutions for ensuring safe and secure confinement of superintelligent systems The future of superintelligence and why long-term prospects for humanity to remain as the dominant species on Earth are not great.
Artificial Intelligence: The Basics by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (Q335 .W365 2012)
Publication Date: 2011-10-13
Artificial Intelligence: The Basics is a concise and cutting-edge introduction to the fast moving world of AI. The author Kevin Warwick, a pioneer in the field, examines issues of what it means to be man or machine and looks at advances in robotics which have blurred the boundaries. Topics covered include: how intelligence can be defined whether machines can 'think' sensory input in machine systems the nature of consciousness the controversial culturing of human neurons.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.