Artificial Intelligence: Home

AI is on the brink of dominating our lives, threating our privacy and human future--if we don't take action now.    In The Algorithm, Emmy‑award winning Wall Street Journal and Guardian contributor Hilke Schellmann delivers a shocking and illuminating exposé on one of the most pressing civil rights issues of our time: how AI has quietly, and mostly out of sight, taken over the world of work.    Schellmann takes readers on a journalistic detective story, meeting job applicants and employees who have been subjected to these technologies, playing AI-based video games that companies use for hiring, and investigating algorithms that scan our online activity to construct personality profiles-- including if we are prone to self -harm.  She convinces whistleblowers to share results of faulty AI -tools, and tests algorithms that analyze job candidates' facial expressions and tools that predict from our voices if we are anxious or depressed.  Schellmann finds employees whose every keystrokes were tracked and AI that analyzes group discussions or even predicts when someone may leave a company. Her reporting reveals in detail how much employers already know about us and how little we know about the technologies that are used on us.   The Algorithm tells an even bigger story with Schellmann discovering faulty algorithms and systemic discrimination of women and people of color, which may have already harmed thousands of job seekers and employees.  It advocates to go beyond these tools to more thoughtfully consider how we hire, promote, and treat human beings--with or without AI.  As Schellmann emphasizes, we need to decide how we build algorithmic tools in any industry and what protections we need to put in place in an AI-driven world.   Hilke Schellmann is an Emmy-award winning investigative reporter and journalism professor at NYU.  Her work covering artificial intelligence has been published in The New York Times, The Guardian, the MIT Technology Review, and The Wall Street Journal, where she led a team investigating how AI is changing our lives.  She has also reported for NPR's Planet Money podcast on fake online reviews and her investigation for VICE on HBO was a finalist for a Peabody Award.  Her PBS Frontline documentary Outlawed in Pakistan premiered at the Sundance Film Festival and was honored with an Emmy award.

Self-learning machines called AIs are popping up all around us. They're real, and really important. They're affecting our lives-as workers, consumers, investors, citizens, patients and students. AIs bring huge promise, but also existential risk. The biggest risk isn't killer robots-it's the renegade leaders, despots, and unrestrained hackers everywhere we should worry about. Charles Jennings' insightful new book, Artificial Intelligence: The Rise of the Lightspeed Learners presents sides of AI most people have never even considered before. That surprises are a main product of AIs. That AI cybersecurity is much more critical than traditional IT security. That, as Vladimir Putin put it, "the country that leads in AI will control the world." Jennings blends insights into Silicon Valley, Washington D.C., and Beijing with insider AI stories, irreverent humor and strong opinions. He explores the global AI ecosystem from Cambridge to Beijing; and provides a stark assessment of AI activity in China-where he lived for two years working with senior government officials. He claims that the U.S. and China are in an AI horserace that will be the most important technology contest ever, with the outcome still very much in doubt. Consisting of stories, musings, interviews, and more, it provides a timely and accessible explanation of AI and its key issues to the general reading public.

Over the past decade alone, artificial intelligence (AI) has become exponentially more sophisticated. Many applications of AI in our daily lives go practically unnoticed, from navigation applications to online shopping algorithms. However, new developments in the field have raised concerns about the role AI should have in society. AI-fueled chatbots and art generators have caused some to question whether artificial intelligence is capable of consciousness and, if so, what that would mean for humanity. Some also consider the intensive data collection that is required for AI to operate a potentially serious violation of privacy, while others argue that AI is an important tool in helping solve numerous societal issues. This volume examines the current debate over artificial intelligence from a wide range of perspectives.

An illustrated journey through the past, present, and future of artificial intelligence, from popular science author Cliff Pickover. "An enjoyable diversion to read cover to cover, follow along common strands, or dip into for random bits." --Booklist From medieval robots and Boolean algebra to facial recognition, artificial neural networks, and adversarial patches, this fascinating history takes readers on a vast tour through the world of artificial intelligence. Award-winning author Clifford A. Pickover (The Math Book, The Physics Book, Death & the Afterlife) explores the historic and current applications of AI in such diverse fields as computing, medicine, popular culture, mythology, and philosophy, and considers the enduring threat to humanity should AI grow out of control. Across 100 illustrated entries, Pickover provides an entertaining and informative look into when artificial intelligence began, how it developed, where it's going, and what it means for the future of human-machine interaction.

Artificial Intelligence, or AI, is no longer the stuff of science fiction. Already used widely in many different applications, it is here to stay and it is advancing quickly. Several experts, such as the late Stephen Hawking, have spoken out against AI, but others champion its potential to help the human race rather than end it. Does AI pose a threat to humanity? Do its benefits outweigh potential harms? Who should be tasked with regulating the advancement of AI so it remains within the control of humans?

From Oxford's leading AI researcher comes a fun and accessible tour through the history and future of one of the most cutting edge and misunderstood field in science: Artificial Intelligence The somewhat ill-defined long-term aim of AI is to build machines that are conscious, self-aware, and sentient; machines capable of the kind of intelligent autonomous action that currently only people are capable of. As an AI researcher with 25 years of experience, professor Mike Wooldridge has learned to be obsessively cautious about such claims, while still promoting an intense optimism about the future of the field. There have been genuine scientific breakthroughs that have made AI systems possible in the past decade that the founders of the field would have hailed as miraculous. Driverless cars and automated translation tools are just two examples of AI technologies that have become a practical, everyday reality in the past few years, and which will have a huge impact on our world. While the dream of conscious machines remains, Professor Wooldridge believes, a distant prospect, the floodgates for AI have opened. Wooldridge's A Brief History of Artificial Intelligence is an exciting romp through the history of this groundbreaking field--a one-stop-shop for AI's past, present, and world-changing future.

Ever since the large language model-based AI chatbot ChatGPT launched in 2022, there has been a significant amount of buzz and concern around the possibility of this technology impacting writing as both a creative and professional pursuit. Proponents of the use of ChatGPT and similar AI argue that it can be useful in helping people improve their writing and be more productive, while opponents fear that it could make writing less creative, discourage people from learning to effectively communicate themselves, and even result in the loss of jobs that involve writing. This volume considers viewpoints on both sides of this debate to explore the role of ChatGPT and other AI today and in the years to come.

Winner of the 2022 CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles. This book surveys and examines the most famous philosophical arguments against building a machine with human-level intelligence. From claims and counter-claims about the ability to implement consciousness, rationality, and meaning, to arguments about cognitive architecture, the book presents a vivid history of the clash between the philosophy and AI. Tellingly, the AI Wars are mostly quiet now. Explaining this crucial fact opens new paths to understanding the current resurgence AI (especially, deep learning AI and robotics), what happens when philosophy meets science, and the role of philosophy in the culture in which it is embedded. Organising the arguments into four core topics - 'Is AI possible', 'Architectures of the Mind', 'Mental Semantics and Mental Symbols' and 'Rationality and Creativity' - this book shows the debate that played out between the philosophers on both sides of the question, and, as well, the debate between philosophers and AI scientists and engineers building AI systems. Up-to-date and forward-looking, the book is packed with fresh insights and supporting material, including: - Accessible introductions to each war, explaining the background behind the main arguments against AI- Each chapter details what happened in the AI wars, the legacy of the attacks, and what new controversies are on the horizon.- Extensive bibliography of key readings

"This book is the first book on the emerging trend of intelligent automation. Also known as hyperautomation, it is a cutting-edge combination of methods and technologies involving people, organizations, machine learning, natural language processing, computer vision, robotic process automation, and more. Accessible for all audiences, this book demonstrates that adopting intelligent automation has now become a condition for business survival. It delves into the technologies leveraged by hyperautomation, new trends relating to the field, and how society and work can be reinvented with intelligent automation." -- Publisher's description

Math for Deep Learning provides the essential math you need to understand deep learning discussions, explore more complex implementations, and better use the deep learning toolkits. With Math for Deep Learning, you'll learn the essential mathematics used by and as a background for deep learning. You'll work through Python examples to learn key deep learning related topics in probability, statistics, linear algebra, differential calculus, and matrix calculus as well as how to implement data flow in a neural network, backpropagation, and gradient descent. You'll also use Python to work through the mathematics that underlies those algorithms and even build a fully-functional neural network. In addition you'll find coverage of gradient descent including variations commonly used by the deep learning community- SGD, Adam, RMSprop, and Adagrad/Adadelta.

"The Routledge Social Science Handbook of AI is a landmark volume providing students and teachers with a comprehensive and accessible guide to the major topics and trends of research in the social sciences of artificial intelligence (AI), as well as surveying how the digital revolution - from supercomputers and social media to advanced automation and robotics - is transforming society, culture, politics and economy. The Handbook provides representative coverage of the full range of social science engagements with the AI revolution, from employment and jobs to education and new digital skills to automated technologies of military warfare and the future of ethics. The reference work is introduced by editor Anthony Elliott, who addresses the question of relationship of social sciences to artificial intelligence, and who surveys various convergences and divergences between contemporary social theory and the digital revolution. The Handbook is exceptionally wide-ranging in span, covering topics all the way from AI technologies in everyday life to single-purpose robots throughout home and work life, and from the mainstreaming of human-machine interfaces to the latest advances in AI, such as the ability to mimic (and improve on) many aspects of human brain function. A unique integration of social science on the one hand and new technologies of artificial intelligence on the other, this Handbook offers readers new ways of understanding the rise of AI and its associated global transformations. Written in a clear and direct style, the Handbook will appeal to a wide undergraduate audience."