Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Allied Health Guide: Home

The PSC Library Health and Medicine Databases offer full-text articles to Allied Health students, faculty, and staff.

Database Access

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. 

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. 

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian

Allied Health Databases

PSC Databases by Subject offers a Health and Medicine category, which contains full-text articles, reference book information, and other resources useful to Allied Health students, faculty, and staff.

To access these databases:

1) Go to the PSC main site at http://www.polk.edu.

2) Click the "Library/TLCC" link on the top center part of the page.

3) In the center, click on "Articles/Databases."

4) Make sure the default library on top is set to Polk State College.

Your Borrower ID will be your Student ID number with no dashes.

Your PIN will be the last 4 numbers of your Student ID number.

 

5) On the top of the screen, above the Database list, click the gray "Subject" button.

6) Click on "Health and Medicine" halfway down the list.

 

7) Click on the database name. The most in-depth databases are:

   a) Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale): Full-text journal/magazine/newspaper articles for health, medicine, nursing, and psychology, along with reference book entries, medical encyclopedia entries, medical pamphlets, and videos. All articles may be printed or e-mailed.

   b) Medline with Full Text (EBSCO): Full-text journal articles for medicine, nursing, and the health care system. All articles may be printed, e-mailed, or saved to a thumb-drive/flash-drive.

8) Click on the blue "Connect to Database" button in the middle of the screen.

9) Before typing in your search, always click on the "Full Text" box first.

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.