Databases

What's a database?

Library databases provide access to information such as magazines, newspapers, academic journals, encyclopedias, etc...They cover a wide range of topics such as arts, humanities, history, business, medicine, science, technology, etc.

Ask A Librarian

Logging in

How to login to the library:

Full database list available here: https://libguides.polk.edu/az.php

Or, below are some recommended places to start:

History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive full-text history reference database. This database features thousands of primary source documents, informational texts, images, and historical video.
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Experience an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people. Includes full-text journals, as well as thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Virtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Global Issues In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.

ENC 1101 - Professor Murphy: Databases

What's a database?

Ask A Librarian

Logging in

How to login to the library:

Databases