Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Argumentative / Persuasive Research Paper Topics: Home

 

Topic Ideas

The following websites can help you decide on a persuasive research paper topic: 

Tips

Your topic must be arguable.

  • For example, no one is going to argue that human trafficking is a good thing. 

Pick a topic that is interesting to you. 

  • You will be doing a lot of research into this topic.  It will go more smoothly if you are interested in the topic. 

Avoid topics that have been over done. 

  • Such as gun control, abortion, marijuana, etc. Also check with your professor for other topics that might not be allowed.

Do some preliminary or background research on your topic. 

  • This will allow you to familiarize yourself with the issues within the topic before you start writing. 

QuickSearch

Get started with a quick search of the library catalog and multiple databases.

Recommended Databases

Opposing Viewpoints has a 'Browse Issues' feature which will show you today's hottest topics.  Includes full-text viewpoint articles, statistics, and articles from academic journals, newspapers and other reference sources.

opposing viewpoints

CQ Researcher also has a 'Browse Topics' function.  You can also view the most popular subjects in the 'Hot Topics' column on the right side of the page. This database provides award-winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

CQ Researcher

Academic Search Complete is a general library database.  It does not focus specifically on controversial topics but it is a good place to start your research. 

academic search complete

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.

Ask-a-Librarian

Writing Tips

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.