LibGuides: Argumentative / Persuasive Research Paper Resources: Home

Topic ideas

The following websites can help you decide on a persuasive research paper topic:

ProCon.org ProCon.org provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy. Using the fair, FREE, and unbiased resources at ProCon.org, millions of people each year learn new facts, think critically about both sides of important issues, and strengthen their minds and opinions.
Prompts for Argumentative Writing from the NY Times Hundreds of writing prompts on every aspect of life.
Research Topics Research topic starter guides from Polk State College.
Current and Controversial Issues A list of current events and controversial issues from UM-Flint.

Tips on topic selection

Your topic must be arguable.

For example, no one is going to argue that human trafficking is a good thing.

Pick a topic that is interesting to you.

You will be doing a lot of research into this topic. It will go more smoothly if you are interested in the topic.

Avoid topics that have been over done.

Such as gun control, abortion, marijuana, etc. Also check with your professor for other topics that might not be allowed.

Do some preliminary or background research on your topic.

This will allow you to familiarize yourself with the issues within the topic before you start writing.

Recommended databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window

Opposing Viewpoints has a 'Browse Issues' feature which will show you today's hottest topics. Includes full-text viewpoint articles, statistics, and articles from academic journals, newspapers and other reference sources.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

CQ Researcher also has a 'Browse Topics' function. You can also view the most popular subjects in the 'Hot Topics' column on the right side of the page. This database provides award-winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Complete is a general library database. It does not focus specifically on controversial topics but it is a good place to start your research.

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Ask a Librarian

Writing tips

Introductions, Body Paragraphs, and Conclusions for an Argument Paper
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Writing Arguments
From The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Developing Strong Thesis Statements
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)