Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC1101 Gaspary: Using the Polk State Databases

Current Issues Research Guide

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. 

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian

Recommended Databases

What is a periodical article?

What is a periodical article?

A periodical is a newspaper, magazine, journal... or anything that comes out "periodically" - weekly, monthly, bi-annually.  The library has many periodicals - some in print on the shelves and others (many others) that are available online through the databases.  This is wonderful because you can access the periodicals in the databases anytime and anywhere.

What databases does PSC have?

The library subscribes to over 100 databases.  You have already used one of them, CQ Researcher.  There are many others from which to choose.  Some are good for finding periodical articles from a variety of topic areas, some are good for finding statistics, some are for videos, some for images, songs, books...  Some databases are good for finding information on any topic and others focus on a specific area of study like science, history, nursing, business.

Once you have decided on a CQ Researcher article, you can choose a general database to find articles or you can choose a subject area specific database.

How to access library databases

Here are a few simple steps that will enable you to access Polk State College Library's databases:

 

(1) Go to the Library/TLCC home page by clicking the Library/TLCC link at the top of the Polk State College home page.

(2)  On the Library/TLCC home page, click the Articles/Databases link.

(3) You will see an alphabetical list of Polk’s databases.  Scroll down the list and click the title link of the database you wish to use. 
database list

(4) Log in with your Passport information. (Faculty/Staff use your network login/Office 365 login). If you have trouble logging in, please contact Ask a Librarian


database login information

 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.