You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.
If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.
You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition
eBook Collection (EBSCO): Full-text of reference ebooks.
Combine "Myth," "Myths," or "Mythology," with another topic to narrow your search, such as "Celtic," "Goddess," and "Worship." From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous & Next buttons on the bottom will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index), or Search Within located at the top left-hand corner (to type in your own searches and generate a list of matching pages).
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
Encyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica, plus related magazine/journal articles & websites.
After typing in your search, the encyclopedia entries will appear in the middle of the screen; in addition, on the left-hand side, you may also access articles, ebooks, primary sources, and websites from EBSCO. Type in "mythology" as your search, combining it with a specific type (such as “Norse” or “Celtic”), or type in the name of a goddess or god. Click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the results screen. On the bottom of each page is a list of more Britannica articles about specific topics relating to the entry you’re currently in, followed by good websites.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online.
Choose Subject on the first search menu, then type in specific goddesses, gods, and mythologies.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
World History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources.
On the top right-hand corner, choose World, then type in your search.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
World Religions (Infobase Publishing): Watch videos plus read articles and primary sources about ancient and modern religions, including mythology and deities.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Citation button above the video, article, or primary source, then click on Chicago Manual of Style.
