1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library. Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk. Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.
2) Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.
There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.
If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.
You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
1) DVDs/Videos CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be watched only within the library.
3) DVDs/Videos are kept at the Circulation Desk by the front door, and must be checked out with a photo ID:
a) PSC student ID
b) Driver's license
c) Any other ID with a picture of you on it.
3) The library has several TV/VCR/DVD machines which can be used to watch them.
Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.
The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.
Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.
NOTE: Specific mythologies (Norse, Hindu, etc.) are between REF BL715 & REF BL2640
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend: REF BL303 .M45 2004 v.1 & v.2
Who's Who in Non-Classical Mythology (Anything EXCEPT Greek & Roman): REF BL303 .S85 2002 c.1
The Power of Myth (Joseph Campbell's interviews from the DVDs/videos): REF BL304 .C36 1991
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology: REF BL312 .L44 2005
Encyclopedia of Gods: Over 2,500 Deities of the World: REF BL473 .J67 1993
Goddesses in World Mythology: REF BL473.5 .A66 1993 c.1
The New Book of Goddesses and Heroines: REF BL473.5 .M66 1997
Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities: REF BL782 .C67 2000 c.1
Cassell Dictionary of Classical Mythology (Greek & Roman only): REF BL715 .M37 1998 c.1
Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology (Maya & Aztec): REF F1219.3 .R38 R42 2000 c.1
Handbook of Incan Mythology (Incan Empire): REF F3429 .S77 2004
NOTE: These are kept at the Circulation Desk under HUM 2310
DVDs
Joseph Campbell and The Power of Myth (all 6 programs/volumes of the video series)
Joseph Campbell: Mythos I
Joseph Campbell: Mythos II
Videos
Joseph Campbell and The Power of Myth (each program/volume is on a separate video):
Program 1: The Hero's Adventure Program 2: The Message of Myth Program 3: The First Storytellers Program 4: Sacrifice and Bliss Program 5: Love and the Goddess Program 6: Masks of Eternity
NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition
eBook Collection (EBSCO): Full-text of reference ebooks.
Combine "Myth," "Myths," or "Mythology," with another topic to narrow your search, such as "Celtic," "Goddess," and "Worship." From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous & Next buttons on the bottom will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index), or Search Within located at the top left-hand corner (to type in your own searches and generate a list of matching pages).
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
Encyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica, plus related magazine/journal articles & websites.
After typing in your search, the encyclopedia entries will appear in the middle of the screen; in addition, on the left-hand side, you may also access articles, ebooks, primary sources, and websites from EBSCO. Type in "mythology" as your search, combining it with a specific type (such as “Norse” or “Celtic”), or type in the name of a goddess or god. Click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the results screen. On the bottom of each page is a list of more Britannica articles about specific topics relating to the entry you’re currently in, followed by good websites.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online.
Choose Subject on the first search menu, then type in specific goddesses, gods, and mythologies.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
World History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources.
On the top right-hand corner, choose World, then type in your search.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
World Religions (Infobase Publishing): Watch videos plus read articles and primary sources about ancient and modern religions, including mythology and deities.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Citation button above the video, article, or primary source, then click on Chicago Manual of Style.
